We are going to Clean Rubbish From Our Riverside.

in #education6 years ago (edited)

Dear Steemians,

I live on the bank of river Surma which is 3 minutes away from my home by walk. As I have grown up here, I used to go swimming in the river when I was child and teenager. For around 8 years, I don't swim in the river and take bath at home. Still, thousands of people take bath and wash their clothes in the river. When I was above 10, I also washed my clothes there and loved to play with friends. I remember the day when I crossed the river in childhood and it was so hard "Do or die" as no one was there for help in the middle of the river. Many people died in the river when it was full of water.

20180118_164921.jpg
Picture: 18 January, 2018

I remember I used to run in the riverside without any shoes. But now it will be horrible because of rubbish. In the above picture, you can see some child labourer was collecting rubbish. They are collecting plastics and if something is valuable to them for sale. One them found a cap, he was happy to wear it immediately and I was just on the road with my friends.

20180118_164925.jpg

His friend was running to collect something he found special.

20180313_145403.jpg
Picture: 13 March, 2018

While I was taking the picture, I was discussing with my local friends. They agreed to raise fund for cleaning. What will we do? We will hire day labourers or rubbish cleaner who will clean the riverside for us. We will burn them taking them in a single place.

Youtube Video of the river Side

I am also working to develop a project called "Dirty Sylhet" . The "Dirty Sylhet" began its journey in October 2017. We wanted to create evidence of uncollected rubbish around our city by taking pictures and related information. The main purpose of the evidence collection is to post on Dirty Sylhet facebook page and share it with local leaders, community volunteers and engage more people. We have seen many campaigns in our city with name "clean or green city" but still it was not working. The only city river Surma is about to die. So, I wanted to use the name "Dirty Sylhet" which was a negative campaign to bring something positive. This allowed us to show evidence people why we are saying our city dirty though it still a controversial issue which made our cause more engaged with general people. We are not successful to achieve our target. Still household and industrial waste are going to fill the river. The main cause of failure is to lack of awareness among family members and factory owners. Also, the miles are producing air pollution in our area which we could not stop. We are communicating with local councillors for effective steps and cooperate with us.

20170907_194246.jpg

It was a meeting of our Dirty Sylhet campaign last year. You can watch our another live program video .

Read More about our projects and me

Raising People out of Poverty, A @schoolforsdg4 Fundraiser. by @life-relearnt

Monthly Food Gifts For 10 Underprivileged Families. by @Azizbd

ADSACTLY Supports To Underprivileged Kids in Bangladesh

by @Azizbd

Good Bye Junayed: Junayed returned to his working life.

by @Azizbd

Charitable deeds, let's crowd-fund for kids in Bangladesh, fruits and snacks every week, nr. 32

by @lindahas

A-Z Overall Monthly Report : Revenue and Expenses by @SchoolForSDG4 Part-6

by @SchoolForSDG4

A-Z Overall Monthly Report : Revenue and Expenses by @SchoolForSDG4 Part-5

by @SchoolForSDG4

How Steemit Blockchain Helping Underprivileged Children to Access Education in Bangladesh Part-3

by @Azizbd

N.B: By upvoting this post you are supporting me @Azizbd personally, not my charity @SchoolForSDG4

Please contact me @Azizbd for any information https://steemit.chat/direct/azizbd .

Join @Adsactly Community


Adsactly is a Autonomous Decentralized Society Acting Cooperatively to Leverage You.

|| Twitter || Discord || Steemit ||


Sort:  

What a great project. I can't believe all that rubbish on the riverbank! 😮 That's awful. And doubly good, you will be giving people work, too.
Where I live is considered the edge of the desert, and what few rivers run through the city start nearby in the mountains, so they haven't picked up much trash yet by the time they get here. Here the dirtiest place is next to the highways, because people throw trash from their cars. And you're not allowed to walk next to highways for safety, so nobody picks it up unless the city hires workers and they block off some to be safe.

Bangladesh is called a land of rivers. We are lots of rivers but most of them are polluted by people. I have read your helpful comment before for @SchoolForSDG4 in @lindahas's fundraising post. And we discussed and joined for manna coin. Thanks for that.

We we also have the dirtiest places is next to the highways as govt. through there for recycle or destroy or just store several years. But we don't have rubbish collectors from households in our local area and have no dustbin too. So people go through them in the river. It makes the river suffer. I have a wish and willingness to make a change but I have no magic stick. We are trying to create awareness among people so they take customize service of rubbish collectors. Also, It is true that, As a person I can't give time for all my projects equally and my best time goes for @SchoolForSDG4 and @WomenEmpowerment .

that's great job. upvoted

Wow so much information to digest, understand and re-read.
Thanks for sharing and educating!
If you have a minute to check out one of my posts: https://stееmit.com/@awesomesweet/2ykfop-2 I will be forever your fan!
Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58009.23
ETH 3063.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34