Happy Late Easter ~ A Doodle-Egg Coloring Project For The Artistically Inclined ~ Original Art By Other Than Myself ~ Original Everything Else ~steemCreated with Sketch.


P1250784-1 138kb.jpg

A Very Happy, Dual-Fisted Michael Jacksonesque Martian Egg-Thing -- With Remarkable Army Haircut



Easter Was Here

Yesterday was Easter. And being Easter, the day brought back many happy memories from my youth. Going to church with the family, coming home for a big lunch with the Grandparents, and then searching all around the house for Easter eggs.

Much fun was had by all. Searching high and low and in the oddest places for real and candy eggs that my sneaky parents had hidden the night before. (My Dad was always easy. Look along the top edges of the 'World Book Encyclopedia' grouping, second shelf up, for the jelly bean eggs along the top edges of the books. And there they were. Rows and rows of colored, sugary delights, lined up along the tops of the pages of higher learning. Year after year.)

Hide And Seek Eggs, And The Egg-Dog's Wonder-Nose

I think our Mother was a bit more into this whole hiding thing. Some of the goods were pretty hard to find. Though most eggs were located within an hour or so, some were not found until weeks later. The real eggs we missed were pretty easy. They started smelling like a barnyard after a week or so under the couch.

The candy ones could be a bit more difficult to round up. The really well hidden ones. The ones the dog couldn't locate, not even with that special, Easter-Egg hunting nose of hers. These missing candy eggs were eventually found by following the ant trails to their well-hidden locations.

Such fun. Searching out all those hidden eggs, getting into small tiff's with my brother and sister over who found the most bounty, now placed with gentle care into our individual Easter baskets, each lined with that odd, green-plastic grass.

The hunt, the find, the consumption, the stomach ache. Very similar and in the same vein as Halloween six months earlier. Except Halloween is not considered to be a religious holiday, though probably a pretty important one by various Dentist and Dental Hygienist groups the world over.

All the too-much-sugar-difficulties aside, the second most-fun part of this day actually occurred a few days earlier. Coloring the REAL eggs my Mother hard-boiled for us, to be used as 'hiders', as well as for decorations around the house on Easter. And though I'm not a big fan of eating these smelly things, they are a whole lot of fun to color and create.

Eewwwg, That's Gross

There were even special 'kits' made for this sort of thing. These included paper shapes we cut out as templates for the surface of the eggs, which we then drew on with special Crayons, then dipped in food coloring with peculiar little wire loops. We three kids came up with some pretty fancy eggs over the years.

In time, our older brother's tastes in egg decorating changed. He seemed to aim more for a food coloring multi-mix that turned the eggs a pretty consistent shade of mud-clam brown. I don't think this was any sort of major protest on his part. I just think he wasn't all that into this sort of thing after awhile. Then again, he'd discovered sports and girls by this time, so that may have had something to do with his lack of interest in this whole egg-coloring business.

But somehow, those simple days are now long gone. And since it has been many years since this event occurred, I felt it necessary to do SOMETHING along this line...as a project...so I came up with this idea you see presented here.

Trading Doodles For Eggs

Recently, a friend gave me a pile of jotted notes about something or other, the subject of which is not important to this project at hand. But what IS important, is that on the back of these notes, resided a bunch of doodles, depicting various events arising from a mind wandering somewhere or another in space.

Maybe it was the shape of the doodles, or something else about them I can't quite place my finger of sentimentality upon at the moment. But whatever it was, these whimsical, ink-pen wanderings reminded me a bit of the Easter eggs of old we used to decorate. So, after gaining all necessary permissions, I photographed a few of them for display and use here. Since they look or remind me a bit of eggs, "Why Not"?!

These doodles are available for those of you out there to color in as you see fit. Just in case anyone else is missing this whole 'color your own egg' thing on Easter. Feel free to decorate them up with any implement of your choosing. Colored pencils, Crayolas, tempura paints, oils, pastel chalk, or if so inclined and technologically savvy, one of those expensive and hard-to-get egg-coloring computer app's.

Well, thanks for stopping in, and have a very nice Day After Easter, and let's get coloring.



P1250824-1 78kb.jpg



P1250787-1 180kb.jpg

Carrot-Headed Person With Serious Comb-Over, Stuck in Large Wind Storm



P1250824-1 78kb.jpg



P1250783-1 206kb.jpg

Mr. Grumpy. Standing Onstage in Tudor Ruff and Too-Small Bowler. Staring at Microphone with Uncertain Disdain



P1250824-1 78kb.jpg



P1250799-1 174kb.jpg

A Very Abstract Egg Representation. Drawing Inadvertently Left On the Floor Too Long and Somewhat Abused by Stinky The Cat



P1250824-1 78kb.jpg



P1250801-1 137kb.jpg

The Easter Pelican. Englewood Beach, Florida. April 16, 2017. Checking Out Newly-Lain Easter Egg...Marveling At How Well It Holds Up In The Sand Without A Shell



P1250824-1 78kb.jpg



P1250794-1 157kb.jpg

My Own Addition. Mr. P, Doing His Best Impersonation Of An Easter Egg



P1250824-1 78kb.jpg





Self-Actualized ~ MultiColor 99 3/3 Award for Number of Followers





Please Check Out My Other Posts, If You So Desire
~ALL ORIGINAL CONTENT~

Sort:  

Hello dd! What a marvelous Easter ramble that post was, and like always, I truly enjoyed it.

Your parents were such brave souls, hiding the eggs in the house! Wow!

Tonight's comment will be rather brief I am afraid, got called in to the local book repository to cover for a sick co-worker.

Also, I need to go find my Tudor ruff and too small bowler hat, for I need to master the look that is, "uncertain disdain." Going to add that bit to my confusion repertoire for tomorrow's shift! You are awesome!

So very glad you enjoyed it. Sorry you have to run off to fill in. Such is the life of the all-important 'brarian.
I suppose there might be other descriptors for the parents hiding the eggs in the house, but we won't go there. Maybe it was on account of the weather.

I'll keep this short, as you are now working. But glad to see you keeping up with the C.R., the ever important diversionary device. Thank you so much for the compliment. Really appreciate it. Have a good night at the repository.

I remember the little wire hoop egg-holder, and yeah the whole PAAS kit. Fertility rites with rabbits and eggs... memories of our Pagan childhoods! Oh we used to go to church too, but I had no clue what they were trying to say there on that day when bunnies and eggs were what was going on.

I'm impressed you remembered the PAAS name Had to go look that one up. Classic.
And it was all a bit confusing for us. Mixing all these ideas and religious ideas up in a jumble for we little ones to confuse over. As you said, we pretty much hankered for the eggs and sugar buzz. Simple things for simple folks.

Excellent post dear friend @ ddschteinn, you are very creative to escribri, I admire the ease in which you develop the themes, thank you very much for sharing your experiences of youth. Congratulations dear friend for this beautiful material

Thank you very much for the view and very nice comment. Glad you enjoy these little walks down memory lane. They are as fun to write as they were when young. Kind of take me back when creating. Thanks again, and have a nice night.

I enjoyed reading your story very much! I can imagine well how you celebrate Easter in your family. I like the ways your father and your mother hided the eggs....It's really fun to find them in different places!
Besides, I like all of your eggs drawing! They are very funny!
Thank you very much for sharing such nice things! I'm very happy to learn about that! ;D

I can't take credit for the drawings, as they really did come from a friend. But they were a real hoot to put out as a project. Something about them is quite funny. I have more, they save them for me now, so you will probably see more one day in the future. Thanks for looking in, and glad you enjoyed the post. Easter was always a fun time, even if the eggs got lost ( :

Yes, that's really great time for you and for me from here as well! I look forward to seeing some more pictures with funny stories from you with much interest! :))

Great post! I do like Mr Grumpy and his uncertain disdain! A fine addition of your own too.

I was quite fond of the hunt when I was a child too. Your post bought back a lot of memories. Especially that fake plastic grass for the baskets. I could practically feel it when reading,!!

Thanks bunches for the view and nice comment. Glad you enjoyed it and it brought back great green grass memories. Mr. P (Potatoehead) has quite a history at this end of the world. He has been the centerpiece for something like 12? small art exhibits of SteamPunk based Scientific Experimentations...that I hope to put posts out about some day in the future. So much to do, so little ticks of the clock. Cheerio(s)

I definitely carried on the tradition of coloring real eggs, also hiding both real and candy eggs...LOL to the real eggs that were found by smell, I definitely remember that!
I am putting up a milestone post tomorrow, be sure to have a look, you may see something familiar ;)

Will be on the lookout for your milestone post. Now I'll be too excited to sleep ( :
Glad you enjoyed this post, it does bring back a few memories, of the eggs all over the house. Great you have carried on the tradition. Do you make the real eggs with the 'kit' I discussed. Our buddy @therealpaul even remembered the name..the PAAS kit. Mind like a steel trap. Actually, have you read his latest on the English Language. I about fell out of my chair. I think he is one the the funniest, under-appreciated writers on Steemit. Then again, you probably know that already. Anyway, have a good night, and talk more tomorrow.

Yes, the paas kit! He definitely does, lol! I have read the latest, while I wish I could read every post for every person I enjoy on here, there's not enough time in a day I'm afraid, but I do read all of his posts. He has been my constant companion since I began and the reason I developed an early love for this place!
He is very fond of you I might add ;)

It is hard to keep up, particularly if you have many people you like to read, comment, and then also put out posts on your own. As you are well aware, writing can take more than a bit of time. I discovered 'Reborn' quite late into the series...what are you up to, 55 chapters? I'm trying to find the time to catch up, but you are too fast for me ( :
With posting, commenting, living and eating and all the rest, it is hard to get it all done. Whinge whinge whinge here. But we keep on plugging away. So great you and @therealpaul are good buddies, and that he is appreciative of me, as I am of him. Very fun to interact with. A real quick wit. Well, off to find your new post, and see what is up. Have a good night.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59876.72
ETH 3191.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43