CrowbarMama Fitness Challenge - Not Your Typical Fitness Challenge

in #dtubefitness6 years ago (edited)


Hey guys! So today I want to talk about my new fitness challenge. Now, this isn’t going to be your typical challenge because, well, being @Crowbarmama, I like to change things up, right? So here are my thoughts.

  1. I’m a homeschooling, homesteading mama of 4, including a toddler. I’ve got to be flexible in regards to time and what type of activities I do.
  2. I don’t care what the scale says, or what my measurements are. I care that I feel good and my clothes fit.

So, here’s what I do have on hand:

  • a pull-up bar, with assistance straps
  • A trampoline for rebounding
  • An entire weight of freeweight dumbells, the short ones- I don’t even know what they’re called, but not the long bar adjustable ones, ok?
  • A small kettlebell
  • An 8lb medicine ball
  • A 30 lb toddler

Here’s what I won’t do:

  • Share my measurements or weight
  • Share any photos of myself in revealing clothing – It’s just not my thing

So, how do I share my progress?

  • Goals! I want SMART goals. (Specific, Measureable, Attainable, Relevant and Timely)
    ** # of push-ups
    ** # of pull-ups
    ** perhaps how long I can stay on the trampoline at a decent pace? Haven’t pinned this one down yet.

So, what do you think? Any more suggestions as to what other SMART goals could be? I would love to have you join me if you’re interested in the Crowbar Fitness Challenge. It’s not about a bikini or a dress size. I just want to feel stronger again and I think together we can do this!

I chose @Crowbarmama as a handle because I believe in doing the best you can with what you have on hand. The crowbar is a multi-purpose tool. You’ll notice my photography is a bit rough, my grammar is not the most polished, but as a homeschooling, homesteading mama of 4, if I waited to take my photos until the light was perfect or re-edited my posts a 5th time ( I shoot for 3 drafts), I would never get a post out!

Don’t sweat the small stuff, just Crowbar it!

If you like what you're reading, please upvote and subscribe! Also, I love feedback! Constructive criticism is one of the best ways to grow. I want to know what you think!


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

When I was training for the police, I kept really good track of numbers, and the weight came off as my numbers got better. I never weighed myself, because it didn't matter what I looked like. For the police fitness test we had to do:

29 pushups in a minute
32 situps in a minute (this one is HARD)
1.5 miles in under 14 minutes
And a dead lift of half of our body weight
We also had to climb a 6 foot wall

Anyway, I have been out of commission for some time, but I am going to start training again to hit these numbers again! The federal standards say that being able to do these things deems you in "good physical shape" so maybe that's a starting goal? Or something like it?

That's awesome! I love that! Thanks for the input! I knew you were a kick-butt chick! Those are some impressive stats!

Yes - I like your approach of getting stronger and healthier. That's what it's all about for me as well. I've been periodically including a press up challenge in mine.

Sound like you could also include number of 30lb toddler presses?

Oooh- I think he would love that! If he could keep still, lol! I have really enjoyed some of your tapping posts. Back in California we had someone at our local co-op who would hold classes, teaching the method. I definitely need to create more time for that in my life. I've noticed you've been doing fitness videos. I've been so busy trying to maintain a daily post and commenting that I haven't been watching as many videos as I'd like, but yours are definitely on my list! So glad you stopped by!

Good for you! Exercise is amazing. Speaking from (very extensive) experience, I'd say the most super-important thing to be careful about is not to get carried away and do too much at the beginning. You have to start slow - and I mean so slow that you almost don't feel like you're doing anything at all - and build it up. I've made the mistake many times of pushing myself too hard - getting lost in the exercise and chasing that energy high - and then having to spend a couple of days in bed to recover (not that you have that luxury of staying in bed :D). You're probably already pretty strong from all the homestead (and toddler) work you do, but still, be gentle. Aiming too high and exhausting yourself really knocks your progress back and messes with your motivation so you end up hating the thought of exercise.

So with that warning out of the way, when it comes to finding exercises to do, what I've done in the past is just google (or Youtube, maybe even D-tube?) "best dumbbell exercises for arms/legs/core" or whatever, choose the ones I like the look of and set myself to do a set of 5 or 10 or whatever each session. Maybe your goals could revolve around gradually building up the number you do? And having different days for arms, legs and core workouts is also a good idea, so you don't exhaust your whole body at once.

If you manage to do push-ups or pull-ups, I really take my hat off to you. We women have a serious disadvantage when it comes to upper body strength and I've never got to the stage of liking push-ups. :D

@Victoria-Kelly!! So happy to see you on here again! That is wonderful advice. I've learned the hard way, but sometimes on the homestead it can't be helped. We put in a new fence last week and something as seemingly simple as using the drill repeatedly left me with such soreness I could barely open a jar of jam the next day! Lol!

Love the idea of looking for relevent exercises! I got the kettle bell and medicine ball a while ago, but they've been collecting a lot of dust lately. 🤣

And I know I'll be starting with the modified push-ups. Pull-ups are my goal, at least one! Thanks so much for stopping by! Can't wait to read more of your content!!

_Project #1

(en) The same as BNB (Binance token), only better. Don't miss your chance!
https://goo.gl/LvuqDm

(de) Das gleiche wie BNB (Token Binance), nur besser. Verpassen Sie nicht Ihre Chance!
https://goo.gl/LvuqDm

(pl) Tak samo jak BNB (token Binance), tylko lepiej. Nie przegap swojej szansy!
https://goo.gl/LvuqDm

(fr) Même BNB (jeton Binance), mais en mieux. Ne manquez pas votre chance!
https://goo.gl/LvuqDm

(es) Como BNB (token Binance), sólo que mejor. No pierdas la oportunidad!
https://goo.gl/LvuqDm

(pt) O mesmo que o do BNB (token Binance), só que melhor. Não perca a sua chance!
https://goo.gl/LvuqDm

(ru) Такой же как BNB (токен Binance), только лучше. Не упусти свой шанс!
https://goo.gl/LvuqDm

Great idea and I like that you're not sharing weight or trying to lose inches, but trying to get fit. My back has been killing me since I stopped working out. I used to go 3-4 times a week and do Body Pump. There are a lot of great fitness videos online. One of my favorite is HASFit on Youtube. Heart and Soul. They're great. Anyway, I need some motivation...perhaps this is it.

Yeah! Let's do this @apanamamama! I notice my lower back and hips start to ache when I don't get enough walking or movement in. During the winter months I borrowed the kids mini-trampoline a few times! Thanks for the lead. I'll look into HAS.

I just cleaned both kids' rooms today for a few hours. Lots of bending over and fun stuff like that. Last time I did it, my back was so sore for a few days. I gotta get this taken care of so I don't feel like I'm 80 years old any more.

I really like your attitude to this fitness challenge ! First thing is to feel good and healthy :)

Congratulations @crowbarmama! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 66131.28
ETH 3598.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46