You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: CrowbarMama Fitness Challenge - Not Your Typical Fitness Challenge

Good for you! Exercise is amazing. Speaking from (very extensive) experience, I'd say the most super-important thing to be careful about is not to get carried away and do too much at the beginning. You have to start slow - and I mean so slow that you almost don't feel like you're doing anything at all - and build it up. I've made the mistake many times of pushing myself too hard - getting lost in the exercise and chasing that energy high - and then having to spend a couple of days in bed to recover (not that you have that luxury of staying in bed :D). You're probably already pretty strong from all the homestead (and toddler) work you do, but still, be gentle. Aiming too high and exhausting yourself really knocks your progress back and messes with your motivation so you end up hating the thought of exercise.

So with that warning out of the way, when it comes to finding exercises to do, what I've done in the past is just google (or Youtube, maybe even D-tube?) "best dumbbell exercises for arms/legs/core" or whatever, choose the ones I like the look of and set myself to do a set of 5 or 10 or whatever each session. Maybe your goals could revolve around gradually building up the number you do? And having different days for arms, legs and core workouts is also a good idea, so you don't exhaust your whole body at once.

If you manage to do push-ups or pull-ups, I really take my hat off to you. We women have a serious disadvantage when it comes to upper body strength and I've never got to the stage of liking push-ups. :D

Sort:  

@Victoria-Kelly!! So happy to see you on here again! That is wonderful advice. I've learned the hard way, but sometimes on the homestead it can't be helped. We put in a new fence last week and something as seemingly simple as using the drill repeatedly left me with such soreness I could barely open a jar of jam the next day! Lol!

Love the idea of looking for relevent exercises! I got the kettle bell and medicine ball a while ago, but they've been collecting a lot of dust lately. 🤣

And I know I'll be starting with the modified push-ups. Pull-ups are my goal, at least one! Thanks so much for stopping by! Can't wait to read more of your content!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64060.29
ETH 3471.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52