Primitive Skills: Rabbit Stick & Should We Be on Naked & Afraid?

in #dtube6 years ago (edited)


Hey Steemians! Greetings from a sunny day on the homestead where we’re out and about doing laundry, working on projects and I made a Rabbit Stick today.

123B9C6A-3917-4091-8857-AE2D9161317C.jpeg

“Rabbit Sticks as defined by Dave Wescott are “…a simple tool used extensively by western natives and, in a modified version, all over the world. The [rabbit] stick was a tool designed, shaped and used for a specific purpose and lead the world as one of man’s earliest and longest lasting tools. The rabbit stick was used by the ancient hunter and was passed to the next generation along with the skill, knowledge and insights needed to make it work.” The rabbit stick is basically a throwing stick used for the taking of small game. It also has been known to go by other names such as throwing club, killer stick, baton, the African knobkeri and as I shall discuss later, the well known boomerang of the Australian Aborigine.” source


Rabbit Stick

A Rabbit Stick, aka a throwing stick, does just as it sounds: is thrown in the air at high speeds toward an intended target. Primitive Humans all over the world used them (which is very cool that this simple yet efficient technology was “discovered” by so many varying people groups.)

45C4D1E2-15A0-4665-A4A8-FB400D9CF207.jpeg

Today I went for a walk, found the perfect stick, practiced throwing it and then once I liked it well enough, I carved the bark off.

We got a message from the casting for Naked & Afraid and I need to strengthen my primitive skills! With only a knife, fire starter or water purification devise, I’ll need to make sure I can catch small (or large!?) game! It’s just an idea now, but I think it would be exciting to go on the show.

733B0B49-C426-48D0-BFA9-9ACB089D1AFD.jpeg

Next up I want to make a primitive woven fish trap. Since I last wrote you, I wove my first willow basket and those skills will come in handy!

I’m feeling a great inner drive to practice and learn these skills. Very empowering and connective!


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Seriously. Just when I think you can't get more sexy, you wear Carrhart overalls and say boomerang.

Do it!! I've seen both of you fairly naked, afraid will be different, but you are both fucking fearless.

Posted using Partiko Android

PS I dare not try a throwing stick, as it's likely like my frisbee throwing skills. Last time I threw one I hit Mum in the face.

Posted using Partiko Android

PPS She was behind me.

Posted using Partiko Android

💙💙💙 thanks for the vote of confidence 🥰 Luci our dog is cowering now when I touch it because she did manage to get in the cross fire! What a cool technology. Did you throw a boomerang? That is a whole nuther level of awesome! A returning stick... holy geez!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Ooh, that's awesome! I wanna see the basket :)

I wonder if I saw some river cane down by the creek the other day when I was looking for a bamboo stand. Looked from the street like green shoots coming up about 4 feet tall and maybe half an inch or less wide. It was hard to tell, as I was up on the road.

N&A is an intense show!

Might have been cane! Got a pic? I’ll try to make a post of the baskets soon :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

I sure hope you make it on the show. This post is super inspiring. I'll wouldn't want to be in the receiving end of your throwing stick!

Posted using Partiko Android

How exciting for you! I think this is totally up your alley! How fun to be inspired to learn some more primitive skills :)

Love this! I can't wait to hear how the interview goes on Thursday. Crazy stuff. I hope you get to watch the videos before the interview. You'll have to practice with the boomerang, especially with small rodents. So happy we got to talk today, love you oxox

Interview tomorrow, I’ll be sure to update you! Love you xoxoxo

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations, your post has been selected to be included in my weekly Sustainability Curation Digest for the Minnow Support Project.



Looks like a lot of fun. I've always been fascinated with simple basket fish traps. Easier than hitting small game with your rabbit stick :)

Yes me too!!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hi @mountainjewel!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.855 which ranks you at #1267 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 356 contributions, your post is ranked at #28.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Thank you so much for participating the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

I just went to the website to read about naked and afraid (I am so out of the loop) and it sounds incredibly intense. What a wild way to challenge yourself and experience something deeply enriching. Best of luck getting on the show and in honing those valuable primitive skills.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63964.02
ETH 2592.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75