Kayaking on Percy Priest Lake

in #dtube7 years ago (edited)


Kayaking on Percy Priest Lake

Today was a wonderful day. :) @corinnestokes had a photoshoot, so it was just the kids and me. I wasn't sure if I could manage the kayak and all three of them (ages 8, 6, and 4), but it worked out beautifully, and we had a wonderful time. I wanted to throw this memory up on the blockchain as a journal so I could refer to it many years from now. It's up on DTube and YouTube.

I hope you're having a great weekend with your family and loved ones!


Previous #journal entries:

  1. That one time I tried to mine STEEM
  2. My Curation Hall of Fame!
  3. Blockchain Journal #3 - Luke Stokes - 2016-08-02
  4. How Do You Handle Pain?
  5. Will We Be Significant?
  6. Have You Ever Had Your Car Break Down on a Road Trip?
  7. Blockchain Journal: Powering Up to 65k. #191 on Steemwhales.

Luke Stokes is a father, husband, business owner, programmer, and voluntaryist who wants to help create a world we all want to live in. Visit UnderstandingBlockchainFreedom.com

I'm a Witness! Please vote for @lukestokes.mhth

► Watch on DTube
► Watch Source (IPFS)

Sort:  

Looks like a great day out on the water!

top place - i would love to visit -thanks, David

No better place to save your precious memories ! I am so jealous of anyone that has access to a lake and can go kayaking. I have a river next to my home but it's heavily polluted. If I would fall in I would probably come up from the water looking like a mutant.

Oh man, that's terrible to hear. Where is it? Is it direct run off from a factory or something? That's so sad to me to think human beings today will think so short-term to pollute a water way like that.

It is very sad indeed. The river I am talking about is the Great Canal of China that runs from where I live in Hangzhou all the way to Beijing. I am sure there is a lot of direct run off from factories, atleast judging by the look of the water.
What is good though is that the Chinese government is now putting huge effort to curb the massive pollution. The problem with pollution is that it can happen fast but it can take forever to clean up.. I think places like in this post are starting to be considered very exotic because it is becoming more and more rare with such natural nature

I saw this video... And you kids are so cute and saying hello in that video.. and picking up the small tocks by her. And mosquito island or rock island ... Haha.. and yeah u took care of them .. don't pick the glass. Haha.. well it's cool...

Thanks for watching and for your "friendship" which I do appreciate. :)

That's a really neat kayak, I haven't seen one like that before. It looks like the kids were having fun on the beach.
The bigger island was pretty interesting, it makes you wonder who put the rocks along the path there.

There are a lot of people visiting and boating in the area. I even saw a website that talked about some people kayaking out to camp overnight on the islands. That's a bit much for me as I haven't done any "dig a whole" camping yet, but maybe some day I'll graduate to it. :)

The inflatable kayak is fantastic! I mentioned in the video being concerned about drying it out or mold, but when I got it home, I just unrolled it again and took a couple towels to it with no problem. It really is convenient for transportation and storage. I highly recommend it.

I'm going to have to look into those kayaks, that would be a lot easier to transport than the regular ones.

It is great to see everyone having so much fun with the water.
There is nothing better than spending some time kayaking and it definitely is beautiful outside.
Too bad there was some sharp glass lying about and I hope nothing bad happened to anyone.
Well I'm glad you had a great time exploring the island @lukestokes

we did well and love this amaxin y

Kayaking is Eco friendly activity mr. @lukestokes. good activity with family

I've never thought about it like that, but I guess you're right! (Minus the gas to get to the lake, of course)

@lukestokes - Cool weekend trip! Kayaking must be fun but with kids must have been quite an experience. Loved the video. Your daughter really enjoyed herself collecting all sorts of rocks. Perhaps a little Geologist in the making ? :)
I liked the nicknames McBoatface and Mosquito island!! Those are the sort of things kids really relate to.
Glad to see you had a terrific weekend and stored the memory on DTube . My weekend was a bit rough because my aunt passed away and my father, in his current health condition tired himself out mentally and physically during the funeral. Anyway - I am back on Steemit after a gap. Blogging and seeing nice blogs is a good and calming experience for me.

Wish you a great week ahead.

Regards,
vm2904

I'm sorry to hear of your loss and your father's health being even further stressed. I'm glad Steemit brings you calm. :) Thanks as always for your warm comments.

Thanks @lukestokes. Your support and kind words always make my day better

You have lovely kids

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63050.55
ETH 2622.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71