I Tried Intermittent Fasting... Here's my Experience (Full Blog + Dtube Video Inside)

in #dtube6 years ago (edited)

21616D10-7EB8-46E0-A305-349EC6CF8C5B.jpeg

Intermittent Fasting has continued to gain popularity over the last few years as more studies have shown it's health benefits. I decided to give it a try this week to see what would happen. This blog/vlog is meant to give you some information on what intermittent fasting is, and to share my initial experience.

What is Intermittent Fasting?

There is not a black and white answer to this question because there are so many different forms of intermittent fasting (IF). All styles of IF are based around the idea of giving your body a break from processing food - whether that be through calorie reduction or shortened eating windows.

Probably the two most popular forms of IF are time restrictions and calorie restrictions. Time restrictions limit what windows of time you can eat throughout the day and calorie restrictions limit how much food you take in on certain days of the week.

Disclaimer: Intermittent Fasting may not be a healthy choice for everyone. I am not a medical professional and am simply sharing my personal experience and some of the research I have found. Please consult with a medical professional if you are unsure if Intermittent Fasting would be a good idea for you.

E76ABD23-20C0-4F91-B5B9-3208CFD2790F.jpeg

Windows of Eating

A time restriction means that you have a certain window of time in which you can eat - some go as loose as 8 hours, while other plans suggest only eating within a 4 or 5 hour window. If someone has a 5 hour window, they may decide to eat from 3-8pm. They do not say what you can eat or how much, just that you can only eat during a small window.

The problem I had with this style, is that you are supposed to do this every day. What about weekend brunch? What about going out to lunch with a co-worker? What about that late night bowl of ice cream? Ok... that's probably not a good idea anyway.

Anyway, the idea of restricting myself like that on a daily basis just felt too confining. I hate having rules over my head... it almost makes me feel claustrophobic and I will almost certainly rebel against the rules, just because they are there. This is why it's good to know your personality type before entering into something like this!

The 5:2 Plan

The other major form of IF is calorie restriction - also known as the 5:2 diet. I hate the word diet... but that is what it is called in mainstream media, and so I wanted to use the proper terminology for this post. You can see from the heading that I prefer to call it the 5:2 plan, because it feels more like a lifestyle change rather than a fad diet. This plan basically means that you can eat whatever you want five days of the week, but you restrict yourself to only 500 calories two days a week.

I should point out that "Eat whatever you want" is not a free pass to have a heaping pile of fast food the next day and 20 cookies to chase it down. You will NOT see health benefits from taking this approach. This plan works best if you eat sensibly most of the time, take a break from eating sometimes, and indulge every once in a while.

3904FCFB-A1A7-49F0-ACEE-C451A427634B.jpeg

These 500 calorie days should not be on consecutive days. You need to give your body a re-charge before fasting again. I have decided to try Monday and Thursday for my fasting days. I usually don't have much going on after work these days (ie... fewer temptations) and they spaced apart by a few days so I am getting the maximum benefits.

It was also important to me that this not feel restrictive to my lifestyle. That is why I have chosen two weekdays, and kept the weekends (including Friday) free and clear! On Friday nights i'm more likely to spend time cooking a good meal because I don't have to get up for work the next morning and I love going out for brunch on the weekends as well.

The Science Behind Intermittent Fasting

Before giving this a try, I did a lot of research to make sure it would be a healthy choice for me. Please read my disclaimer at the top of the post if you have not already. I am not a medical professional - I am simply sharing the research I have found and my personal experience.

This article is not intended to dig into all the many research articles that have been done on the topic, but more to share about my experience. I will include a few resources below that you you can read and look into yourself to decide what you think. As always, do what is right for your body. My experience may be totally different than yours and so it is important to be informed and listen to your body.

Here is a peer-reviewed article by the Journal of Canadian Medicine that I thought did a great job of showing the science on both sides and offering a viewpoint that is based on caution instead of hype.

Heathline published an article that is a bit more "consumable" than a peer reviewed article that some of you my find helpful. They provide some higher level information on the benefits of intermittent fasting and provide a source reference for the study that the information was taken on. Here is the article - 10 Evidence Based Benefits of Intermittent Fasting.

I would also recommend watching the BBC Documentary - Eat, Fast and Live Longer. This documentary follows a man on his journey of fasting. He interviews many leading health professionals and gets regular blood-work/tests done throughout the journey to monitor his health.

Why Am I Trying This?

To be honest, this isn't my first rodeo with Intermittent Fasting. I actually tried the 5:2 Plan a few years ago and was floored by the results. I didn't end up lasting very long with it though because i'm not good with rules and it started to feel too restrictive. I'm at a place right now though, where my body has been feeling regularly bloated, and certain foods such as gluten and (too much) dairy have not been sitting well in my stomach.

I have been so discouraged to see these changes as it has affected my energy and the way I look and feel in my body. Even when I started exercising regularly again, I was continuing to gain weight - without changing my food. Now before anyone jumps on me ... no I do not have body image issues, I am just sick of feeling bloated and gross after eating and know that something needs to change.

Also, the health benefits of longevity I discovered in my research was really appealing to me. Generally speaking, i'm pretty healthy and everything comes back "normal" on my blood-work - but that doesn't mean I have to wait until I have health issues to take preventative measures.

What Did I Eat?

This is always what people want to know right away! What can you possible eat for only 500 calories? Well, if you blow all 500 of them on a piece of chocolate cake and a glass of milk... you probably won't fare well the rest of the day. By eating a lot of fruits and vegetables and some lean protein - it really wasn't too difficult to stay energized throughout the day. Sure, I felt hungry at times - but I never felt desperate to eat.

Here was one of my fasting days this week:

Breakfast

Honestly, I just had a cup of coffee with a tiny splash of cream and a few nuts. This maybe equated to 45 calories. I often skip breakfast in my regular routine though because I just don't get hungry in the morning. I know most people need breakfast though - and so there are plenty of breakfast options under 100 calories that you could choose from. My favorite is probably a one egg scramble with spinach and peppers.

Lunch

I made a berry, lemon and kale smoothie. This equated to about 90 calories. Be careful about the fruit you use, because some have a much higher calorie content than others. For example, I would usually put a banana in my smoothie to help make it creamier - but those suckers are about 75 calories a pop! Alternatively, most berries pack a strong nutritional punch without the high calorie load. Not to mention they taste delicious...

Dinner

This was the fun part! I made a super tasty cauliflower rice bowl with garlic prawns and cilantro. I cooked down some onions, garlic, and jalapeño with chicken stock and then threw in the cauliflower rice and simmered until it was cooked all the way through. I added some salt and pepper and seasonings to help enhance the flavor. In a separate saucepan, I cooked the prawns in a combination of fresh lemon juice, chicken stock and minced garlic. I topped the cauliflower bowl with prawns and tons of fresh cilantro. This whole meal only cost me about 175 calories and packed a good protein punch thanks to the prawns.

18F23561-0804-44E3-86E9-0EF980AEBB7E.jpeg

Snacks

I ate quite a few snacks throughout the day! My first snack was just a handful of carrots. These crunchy and sweet vegetables sure helped me fill up a bit without using many calories.

I also sipped on some bone broth. This is a great way to add some extra protein to your day. I had a whole cup of broth for only 50 calories and it gave me 9 grams of protein. I should mention that I didn't think it tasted very good at first so I added some salt, pepper and hot sauce to flavor it.

After dinner, I still had a few calories left and so I made ham and pickle pinwheels. They were SO good! I simply laid out a slice of ham, spread some mustard on it, put a pickle in the middle, rolled and sliced it.

93CF98BD-3D8D-4EE2-ADEC-A0430CCF72CC.jpeg

Beverages

I ended up drinking a lot of beverages throughout the day. When I started feeling hungry, I would either munch on a snack or drink a tasty beverage. My go-to was Good Earth's Sweet and Spicy tea. This tea has such a rich flavor, that it felt satiating even though I wasn't consuming any calories.

I also had a LaCroix when I was cooking. I generally love to pour a glass of wine while i'm cooking in the kitchen - but I obviously wasn't going to waste any of my precious calories on alcohol! Sipping on a cold and bubbly LaCroix was the perfect thing.

How Did my Body React to the Fast?

Ummm... really well. You guys, I haven’t felt this good in ages. Here are the main areas that I noticed a difference.

Increased Energy

I literally could not believe how much energy I had. I felt so vibrant and light all day, even though I had less coffee than usual! I didn't want to chance having too much coffee on an empty stomach, so I kept it to one cup on my fasting days.

Felt More Creative

Perhaps not surprisingly, with more energy came more creativity. I felt inspired to play more music, write and work on some projects I've been putting off.

7C4E0ABF-9277-419F-8BC1-7C37C4302974.jpeg

Yes... I Did Feel Hungry at Times

I would be lying if I said that 500 calories worth of food kept me 100% happy all day! The interesting thing though, was that I didn't really mind the hunger pangs. Because my body felt so good and my energy levels were high - it just kind of felt like part of the process.

I Felt Like I Lost 10 Pounds in 1 Day

Did I really? No of course not, that would be crazy. What DID happen though is that I seemed to shed some of the water weight and bloat I have been carrying around forever. I think this is part of why my energy levels were so high... I literally felt lighter.

The funny thing is, after my first day of fasting my friend actually said "Did you lose weight overnight... you look different". So I guess it wasn't all in my head, losing some of the bloat was a noticeable change.
I should note though - if I had gone crazy and eaten 10 cheeseburgers the day after my fast... I don't think I would have seen any real benefits. I've been able to eat pretty healthy the rest of the week - which is part of why i'm still feeling really good right now.

It Felt Like a Re-set

I really thought I would binge and eat like crazy the days after my fast... but I didn't. I often struggle with cutting sugar because I LOVE desserts...but I already noticed I was craving them less. Letting your body feel hungry and being okay with it, makes it easier to say no to other cravings on non-fasting days.

My Tips for Success

There are few things I realized the hard way that would have made my fasting days easier. I plan to implement them moving forward, but thought i'd share them here.

Plan Ahead

The last thing you want to do is go into a fasting day without any idea of what you will eat. Only eating 500 calories in a day takes some careful planning and strategy. You don't want to blow all of your calories on breakfast because you were desperate and grabbed something without thinking about the calories first. Really research what you are going to eat to have a well-balanced meal plan heading into the day. There are TONS of recipes and sample 500 calorie day ideas online.

Avoid the Grocery Store

This kind of goes in hand with the last point. Even if you have a great idea for a 500 calorie meal and you want to swing by the store on your way home - i'd recommend sticking with what you have planned and trying your new recipe on a different day. Maybe you guys have more self-control than I do, but I just think walking past all of that yummy food and saying no to free samples would be way too hard. I mean what if they are sampling chips and guacamole?? I wasn't about to put myself in that situation.

06A0113E-8030-41D0-B59C-C1CA95B37C3D.jpeg

Fast on Days that you Don't have Plans

You can't always predict last minute plans coming up - but try to fast when you don't have a social engagement that day. Let's face it, most social activities revolve around food. If you are invited out for a drink after work and everyone is getting appetizers ... it's going to be hard not to join in. Or if you are having a game night with friends, chances are there will be snacks out.

Be Gentle with Yourself

One thing I always do is give myself an "out" if I feel miserable. If you have already eaten your 500 calories and it is just way too damn hard... maybe it's just not your day and you can try it another time. For me, the temptation more lies in last minuet social plans. I am a social creature and the idea of turning down a a fun social outing simply because i'm "fasting" doesn't really work for me. If it's something I really want to go to and it involves food - i'll cancel my fast that day. Even if I started the day fasting - I'll look at the rest of my week and see if I can fast a different day instead.

This comes back to the whole "know your personality" conversation. Many of you probably do better with strict rules, but I do better when I have the flexibility to bend the rules.

B5274086-B1E8-4B4E-AE47-1578AFA03225.jpeg

Conclusion

Wow... I really didn't think I had this much to say about my first week of Intermittent Fasting! I hope that you guys found some of this information helpful or at least thought provoking. I want to re-emphasize that I am trying this out solely on how my body feels and reacts to the fast. So far, I have only had a positive response, but will stay in tune with my body each week.

I also want to note that I'm not saying this is for everyone. I am simply providing my experience in hopes that maybe others will find it helpful or inspiring.

Would there be any interest in a weekly post detailing how the week felt, what I ate on my fasting days and how my body is reacting? If there seems to be enough interest, I may continue posting on the subject.

So I'm curious... have any of you ever tried some form of intermittent fasting? How did it go? If not, do you know anyone that has tried it? What was their experience.

I'd love to get others perspectives and experiences on the subject.

Thanks so much for reading and/or watching my vlog. Much love! <3


Photos kindly provided by Google



A Few of My Recent Posts


I Won FIRST PLACE in My Recent Dance Competition! (Full Dtube Video Inside)
Dtube Exclusive - The Scientist by Coldplay (Ukulele Cover)
⭐️ Steemit Stars Contest / Dtube Exclusive - Titanium by David Guetta ft. Sia

▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

I enjoy reading about your experience.

I have done the IF diet (the modified ADF type) already for 1 year-long and its the most fitted diet to my needs and preferences.

It has never been so easy for me to stay on diet for such a long period and be successful.

ADF diet also known as "The Every Other Day Diet" is a diet regime in which one day is without food restriction (Ad libitum eating) and in the diet's day you eat about a quarter of the daily calories needs.

simple, easy and successful

It’s so great to hear that you have seen success with ADF and have actually been able to stick with it for an entire year! I think that is my biggest fear with all of this, that I won’t be able to stick with it. That’s part of why am posting about it, to help keep myself accountable!

I read a little bit about ADF in my research, but I thought every other day seemed too hard. Good on you to make that happen for yourself!

What is the biggest benefit or change you have seen since starting to fast?

The biggest change is that I could loose the excess fat in my body and also keep on this achievement at the long run.
I was always an active person, i run everyday and I do also weight training.
I normally eat healthy but I am also a "Candy junkie".
I eat lots of chocolate and cookies and to be on a strict diet was always very hard for me.
Using the ADF diet made it simple to me and with the time I made some modification so the diet will fit my needs.
I still eats a lots of cookies (every other day) and able to keep myself lean :-)

Man, eating lots of cookies every other day and still saying lean sounds pretty awesome! :-)

It’s so cool to hear how much this form of fasting has impacted your life. Thanks so much for sharing your experience! It has been really encouraging to see other people leave comments here saying they’ve had very positive results from fasting.

let's be honest balance is everything, if we do everything to excess we lose out somewhere else. finding balance in life is one of the very best things we can learn as we try and do the 'adulting' thing ;)

Hahah the adulting struggle is REAL sometimes. You are really on point to talk about balance here. So far I have had only positive reactions to the fasting, but if it was making me miserable, then is it really worth it? Nope. “No pain no gain” is not my kind of slogan. I’m definitely trying to take the approach of listening to my body and only doing this for as long as it makes sense.

Thanks for the thoughtful comment! Here’s to “adulting” better. 😜

totally REAL ;) you are very welcome. nothing miserable is fun for long, wrong kinda punishment! :)

I did a 22 day water fast one day was hard first few day but after a while I was ok I tried to go longer but i just could not not only did I lose wight but I felt good for months after doing this, Intermittent Fasting is a great way to doing as well and maybe better way. I think it would be good to do a week long water fast and then go to Intermittent Fasting. Just my thoughts

Wow 22 day water fast!! 😲 I can’t even imagine going for that long. I think the idea of doing a weeklong fast for a total reset and then sustaining the benefits through intermittent fasting is a great idea. With the stress of work and every day life though, I’m not sure that I’m ready for a weeklong fast. I feel like I would need to take an entire week off of work and be able to just take it easy.

Thanks for sharing your fasting experience! It has been so interesting to hear everyone’s stories.

Long post but full of interesting information about the 5:2 diet. I use fasting as a tool every time my body starts to feel a little off. When I start to feel sluggish, I take the next day to fast. I allow myself 2 green juices and water. It really makes a BIG difference. This is also a VERY good way to keep from coming down with a cold. As soon as you start to feel the first symptoms, stop eating. It works every time. Good luck to you!

That’s so cool to hear your experiences with fasting! I had never thought of using it as a tool to protect against feeling sick.

It might be tough to get through the day with only 2 green juices, but I bet it’s totally worth it to get get that “re-set” feeling. I can’t believe how good my body feels after only 1 week!

Really nice post, thanks for all the information. Although I'm not really super into health per se (I know that sounds bad lol), I do have a very sensitive stomach and I've considered dietary changes to try and make myself feel better.

This actually seems like something I might be able to try out. I'm working on quitting smoking right now, maybe after 😂.

Thanks again!

Haha I totally get where you are coming from!! I used to not care about any of this stuff (and blissfully ate all the pasta and chocolate cake I wanted), but started to make changes when my stomach started hurting. The constant bloat is what really killed me though... ugh.

Well good luck to you and let me know if you ever try fasting! I’d be curious to hear how it worked for you.

Yep it's rough lol I hear you!

And I definitely will!

@coruscate, it is so cool that you posted about this! Just earlier today, I was chatting with my friend @torico about how I do IF as a lifestyle. It is such a great anti-aging and anticancer strategy, too!

Wow, that’s so awesome!! Do you you do the 5:2 plan, or a different form? I don’t know anyone personally that has been doing this long-term, so I’d love to hear about your experience.

Have you had any negative affects from IF? What’s the biggest benefit you’ve seen from it?

Ps... I hope you don’t feel interrogated. I’m just excited to chat with someone who is doing it! :-)

I love that you're asking, my friend.

I was on 5:2 but I have been doing this since 2012 so it is just more like 7 days a week and sometimes a full 24-48 hours maybe once or twice a month.

I do 16 on/8 off on most days, at least. I drink a ton of pH 10 water and tea, mostly, in addition to essential oils, herbs, and strategic supplementation.

It helped me heal from the awful stuff hormonally driven cancer did to me...and pretty expediently. I have a lot of energy and people never believe how I keep myself from aging. (I will be 41 this coming Saturday.)

I think the hardest thing about it is other people wanting to eat with me at times I couldn't possibly be bothered with eating.

I'm more aware of mySELF, my actual needs versus wants, and I find I'm hyperaware of life and my opportunities due to the sharper mental focus.

Thanks for the thoughtful and detailed response. Wants versus needs is an interesting topic. I know that I am still stuck in the cycle of associating certain foods and drinks to activities, which can make something like fasting difficult. It’s so cool to hear that you have been able to separate that and get to a healthier place. Not to mention that this is been a tool for your healing from the affects of cancer. That is just amazing.

Also interesting that you mention pH 10 water. That is something I’ve been looking into lately as well. Do you eat mostly alkaline foods as well, or do you focus more on just keep in the water alkaline?

I love talking about this subject with you! I have been evangelical about how IF has assisted me in many ways and even though people around me have seen the incredible turnaround and watched me literally reverse my aging (I'm clocked for 25-28 everywhere, even my doctors forget my age), few have been willing to attempt it. The ones who've done so, have all had major breakthroughs that are respective to their own unique healing.

I have a Living Water machine and I use it for everything. I drink more water than anyone I know and so do my quadrupeds. My kitty turns 14 1/2 on my birthday and my pup turned 10 last month. No one can believe their "ages" based on how they are energetically and that's because we eat and drink together. (I make them crock pots with special things that I circulate in addition to the other food I buy for them.)

As for the foods themselves, we do everything as high integrity as possible. I love to buy at farmers markets and locally when I am able to find sources that are both non-GMO and organic. I don't eat as often or much as other people seem to feel they need to, but when I do I notice that as long as I chew the food enough, I can make it more alkaline by simply doing that. When I was healing from cancer, I would try to count to 72 chews per bite. It's amazing what you can do to create alkalinity even with things people may consider acidic.

That’s pretty amazing to hear about the anti-aging affects both you and kitty/pup are experiencing.

I have never heard of chewing your food longer to remove some of the acidity. I’ll have to look into that more. At any rate, I’m sure I would eat less if I spent that much time chewing! 😜

Thanks again for sharing your thoughts and insights!! It’s been awesome to chat with you about this stuff.

Ps... today was a fasting day and it was already easier than last week. Feeling stoked!

The energy boost is something outstanding, for sure. I'm happy that your flow is coming together this week with it. After awhile of IF, I just didn't feel like I even wanted to touch food all the time. It seriously ages the body and slows you down.

The antiaging is very crazy. I have very young skin from how I have been re-assembling myself strategically and I know that because of the way I can heal for long periods of time while not being bogged down with constantly digesting food, it's incredible what I can do. My quadrupeds are very youthful as well. No one believes me when I tell them how old we are.

As for the chewing, yes, it is a lot to chew like that. I was primarily doing it to help myself not have so many drains on my energy while healing and having had to have taken the strongest chemo meds they make for my 2nd bout (having dealt with it naturopathically the 1st).

I had learned about people who had limited access to food and who needed to make it as efficient as possible. One of the accounts I'd read about was someone who was only able to eat sweet potatoes for many years. His willingness to chew it to a liquid prior to swallowing is something they say kept him in health.

Fasting is really very good for our health we Muslim religious people keep fast to satisfied our only god Allah subhanAllah ta'ala and we also get huge health benefits in return , it has also some other benefits too if we can realize.

Thanks for the thought comment @shohana1! It’s great to hear that you have found both physical and spiritual benefits from fasting.

yup its really great thanks for the appreciation and understanding ! I also appreciate fasting for all.

I probably couldn't do that. I can't stop eating for long.

I hear ya! If my stomach hasn’t been bothering me so much, I probably wouldn’t be willing to try it either.

you give good ideas of fooding but what should do foody people like me i can't wait only 3hours for next food(lol)

I hear ya sister! Intermittent fasting may not be a good choice for everyone... but for me, it was worth the sacrifice to try it out. The nice thing with the 5:2 plan, is that you technically could eat every three hours, you just can’t eat very much food. I think traditional water or juice fast might be harder, because you are going so long without any solid food.

I’ve thought about a form of fasting but chickened out and opted for healthier food selection. Would love to hear how it works out for you.

Thanks for stopping by and checking out my post @proxytech. I’m feeling good about it so far, but we’ll see what happens as time goes on - so thanks for letting me know ther would be some interest in a future post!

For a long time I’ve been just trying To eat healthier and have seen some change... but still havn’t felt 100%. I think that’s part of why I made the leap to try it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61519.90
ETH 2995.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.45