Andante Cantabile from Mozart K330 (aka re-learning the Piano)

in #dtube5 years ago (edited)



I'm starting to try and relearn the piano after quite a long time of not really playing it. It's nice to be able to play music without it being considered part of your work, with no professional consequences for posting it online!

Luckily, in our house we have a nice selection of instruments to choose from: harpsichord, fortepiano, clavichord and a "normal" piano! For this first attempt, I'm playing on the fortepiano, which is an instrument that was between the modern piano and the harpsichord in keyboard evolution. This particular one is a Graf (I think, I'm only a violinist...) copy which is similar to the instruments that Mozart would have had access to when he was performing and composing.

The fortepiano is my wife's instrument, but I'm allowed to use it... however, the kids are definitely NOT allowed! It is a 5 octave instrument which knee pedals and a much lighter touch and action than the modern piano. It is tuned at A=430 (the standard "Classical" pitch for Early Music performances)... I'm not sure what temperament it is in, my wife handles that... and it hasn't been tuned for a couple of months, but it is still holding up okay... not perfectly but okay!

The sonata is the Andante Cantabile (second movement) from the Sonata in C (K330) by Mozart. I have always loved this sonata, it was one of the last things that I had learnt when I still used to play piano... and so it is a nice re-introduction to the button pressing machine for me!


Upgoats by ryivhnn
Account banner by jimramones



The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio. Community Logo by ivan.atman


steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Your post has been supported and upvoted from the Classical Music community on Steemit as it appears to be of interest to our community. We also support jazz and folk music posts!

If you enjoy our support of the #classical-music community, please consider a small upvote to help grow the support account!

You can find details about us below.


The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio or follow our curation trail (classical-radio) at SteemAuto!

Delegation links: 10SP, 25SP, 50SP, 75SP, 100SP, 150SP, 200SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP

That piano is really well tuned! Enjoyed the music. Great job!

Thanks... There are some pretty funny chords that mean it needs to be tuned a bit better... Plus, it would give the piano a fuller sound!

Oh my goodness a beautiful musical family!!! You have so many cool instruments! I took piano lessons for 10 years, loved it so much, miss my piano! I hope some day I get the opportunity to play a harpsichord...it makes such beautiful music :) So your wife is musical as well? You should post a piece with the two of you playing together!!!!! Please!!!! :)

It's pretty nice to be able to walk in and sit down at something... The harpsichord is really cool to play on, but quite temperamental with the changing seasons...

Bengy!!! esto suena muy hermoso hombre :o en serio, que genial, hasta con un poco de sentimiento angelical <3

Thank you! It's been nice to get back to playing a bit of piano/harpsichord.... it's nice to play a different instrument which isn't my main professional one, just for fun!

realmente es hermoso, quizás no es el instrumento principal, pero lo dominas muy bien, saludos bengy, bendiciones <3

What a beautiful piece! Pianoforte' sound always makes me feel something magical, I wish I had the chance to try one. You're a very lucky musician! :)

Thanks, it is a great composition... I just hope I find time to learn the rest of it... And perhaps to fix up the little bits in this movement.

A fortepiano is a really nice instrument to have around, but they can be quite finicky with tuning... Not like the modern ones!

Thank you bengy! You've just received an upvote of 40% by artturtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your posts



Please come visit me to see my daily report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting.

Congratulations @bengy! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 84000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 85000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem community has lost an epic member! Farewell @woflhart!
SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @enchantedspirit.

You got a 32.08% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @bengy! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 25 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64657.99
ETH 3153.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59