Adrian Rowe - Splinter [ORIGINAL TRACK] [TECHNO]

in #dsound5 years ago


Well, I said I would have something new this weekend.

Tonight I'm debuting a new demo on here. Blistering techno built in Ableton. Here is a little bit of what went into the track.

  • This started on an airplane ride last month following a pretty quality Youtube video based on how Randomer builds drums. Basically, they are brutallized in Kontakt and layered for a pretty nasty stomp that I'm into at the moment.

  • The bass is entirely a patch that I built in Reaktor made from cobbling different Blocks together. Most of the movement in it is from some automation of the speed and filter as well as some weird LFO modulating.

  • I wanted to make something pretty blistering. So there really aren't any melodic pieces in it.

  • Percussion is a combination of the Machinedrum, this really niffty Reaktor ensemble, and a choice 909 hi hat. Hard to beat the energy that 909 brings to the table.

Let me know what you think. Feedback appreciated.



► Listen on DSound

► Listen from source (IPFS)

Sort:  

I love the middle part, but beginning is too long lasting and even due to repetitive sounds get annoying, but once you came over that time the music is richer in sounds and more interesting. The music is OK, but it is not something I would like to listen again. I hope you are not offended but it is good to have critics, I hope you agree with that :)

It’s no bother. Criticism helps people grow. I think there is an urge from a DJ perspective to have a longer and less dense openings because it’s a necessity for effective mixing while DJing and that might not be to every audiences liking. I’ve been doing this for to long to not take it personal if someone doesn’t care for what I do. Either way, thanks for listening and for the feedback.

Posted using Partiko iOS

you really deserved for this support from the curators. Since I started blogging on Steemit around half year ago, I have seen a lot of your effort in #techno so here you go !
and speaking about your new track, I love this moment around 4:10.
Keep working man and lets keep #techno great as always !

Much respect to you and thanks for your kind words. @curie votes are kind of magical. It's easy to think that maybe what you do isn't reaching anyone, so it is extremely nice to get the exposure and attention for what I work on. Thanks for noticing. It's weird, I've been getting kind of critical of my mixdown of this track over the last couple of days and I'm looking forward to a chance to tweak it and make it feel a bit balanced.

Huge congrats on your Curie support! Well deserved!

Thank you for checking it out! Much appreciated.

what amazing trip you gave me... I enjoy it a lot. great work with the Percussion. congrats for your curie vote

Thanks for listening. This was pretty minimalistic for me in terms of the amount of sounds I used, so I’m glad they made an impact. Beginning to learn that less can be more.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks! Much appreciated.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hi iamevilradio,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Holy smokes! Thank you so much for the support! It means a lot to me!

Posted using Partiko iOS

this is just sick bro. Only real techno track I've come across in this blockchain s far. Congrats. Keep them coming.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks a ton and thanks for the resteem. Means a lot coming from you since you are probably the most accomplished selector on here. Now I just have to figure out how to get other people on Steem to notice.

Or maybe just find a proper place to release these.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Actually, after getting some space from it today I’m going to go back to the drawing board and try and carve out more space from that kick and low end. Definitely sounds more muddled down there than I wanted upon listening to it in the car today. That’s the danger with home mastering though.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I could not hear on proper monitors. Feel free to send me an EP to didrec.com/demos ;)

Posted using Partiko Android

Holy moly man, this song made me remember of the hard-step/hardstyle movement several years ago, maybe some Crystal Method influence here and there? Anyway, that drop and rhythm are sick AF, congratulation my man you have an amazing talent!


This post was nominated by a @curie curator to be featured in an upcoming Author Showcase that will be posted in about 12 to 24 hours on the @curie blog.

NOTE: If you would like us to NOT feature your post in the Author Showcase please reply, or DM me on Discord as soon as possible. Any photos or quoted text from your post that we feature will be properly attributed to you as the author.

  • If you would like to provide a brief statement about your posting, your life or anything else to be included in the article, you can do so in a reply here or look me up on Discord chat (@elfranz#3985). A personal perspective from the author add great value and makes it so much fun!

You can check out our previous Author Showcase to get an idea of what we are doing with these posts.

Thanks for your time and for creating great content.
Franz (@curie curator)

Thanks for the kind comments. It's interesting that you pull those influences out of this to me. Like, sometimes maybe people have a pulse on what influenced me better than I do when they hear it. I haven't listened to hardstyle with any frequency in over 15 years, but I definitely have been giving it more influence in what I like as I've moved away from the more pretty and melodic sounds that are popular in techno lately. Crystal Method's Vegas was the first electronic music album I ever bought and part of what they do is just kind of baked into my influences.

I'm not able to get on Discord so I can't DM you, but I really appreciate the comments. This is one of those tracks that just happened really quick. It was kind of just an experiment in designing and layering kick sounds and making those mesh with a heavy bassline that is constantly moving in the track. I wish I could say there was some bigger message here, but I just like to imagine when I'm making a track how I could give a dancefloor really interesting moments. Maybe it's a groove to get lost in or maybe its something distorted and overwhelming. This track was a combination of those things.

Thanks once again!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57038.56
ETH 2908.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65