Spirit In The Sky by Ed Privat

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)


SONG REQUEST

I hope you guys are about to have a delightful week end and Easter, with your families and loved ones!

This is a song request from @dandays, it's a song called "Spirit In The Sky" by Norman Greenbaum, congratulation on winning 0.5SBD !!!

Go check his artwork , he is amazing drawer!!
KEEP AN EYE OUT FOR ME
FORK IN THE ROAD
IMAGE REQUEST BY @EDPRIVAT

It was a great song to work on , I went for an acoustic/Soul arrangement, as sound of the guitar with the Fuzz Box is so legendary, that I couldn't even try to compete with a simple distortion.

LISTEN TO SPIRIT IN THE SKY BY ED PRIVAT ON DSOUND

The tempo is 130 bpm, and the main of the work as usual was on the backing vocals.
Instruments: Acoustic Guitar and Vocals, effects
Virtual Instruments: Pick Bass, New York Hop Drums, 70's Electric Piano
LISTEN TO SPIRIT IN THE SKY BY ED PRIVAT ON DSOUND

I actually borrowed the bridge from a version "Spirit In The Sky" by Dorothy Morrison, she is a gospel singer that got famous with the song "Oh Happy Day" by the Edwin Hawkins singers.

I changed the last verse to " I have been a sinner and I sinned", instead of "Never been a sinner I never sinned"

I leave you with the full lyrics!

Cheers!

@edprivat

LISTEN TO SPIRIT IN THE SKY BY ED PRIVAT ON DSOUND

Spirit In The Sky

When I die and they lay me to rest
Gonna go to the place that's the best
When I lay me down to die
Goin' up to the spirit in the sky
Goin' up to the spirit in the sky
That's where I'm gonna go when I die
When I die and they lay me to rest
Gonna go to the place that's the best

LISTEN TO SPIRIT IN THE SKY BY ED PRIVAT ON DSOUND

Prepare yourself you know it's a must
Gotta have a friend in Jesus
So you know that when you die
He's gonna recommend you
To the spirit in the sky
Gonna recommend you
To the spirit in the sky
That's where you're gonna go when you die
When you die and they lay you to rest
You're gonna go to the place that's the best

LISTEN TO SPIRIT IN THE SKY BY ED PRIVAT ON DSOUND

Never been a sinner I never sinned
I got a friend in Jesus
So you know that when I die
He's gonna set me up with
The spirit in the sky
Oh set me up with the spirit in the sky
That's where I'm gonna go when I die
When I die and they lay me to rest
I'm gonna go to the place that's the best
Go to the place that's the best

Don't forget to ask me for as song request, i always accept a challenge and get rewarded 0.5SBD if your song is chosen. It needs to be a song that has a meaning to you , and that is a bit popular to make it easier for me :) Hopefully soon I can make you win more SBD as @edprivat channel grows!



► Listen on DSound

► Listen from source (IPFS)

Sort:  

Dang @edprivat, I’m not sure where to start. Thanks for all your help and support, you’ve helped me more than you know. A bajillion thanks! Dude! You smacked it outta the park with this one: “going.. going.. Gone!” What a great rendition of one of my all-time favorite songs and the timing... Friday before Easter weekend, how perfect is that? Ed Privat did that song, thanks for the idea, Norman.

Hahaha I am so happy that you like it, it was hard to decide if I should keep it close to the original or go in a different direction. I decided to do something halfway, somehow keeping the spirit of the original with a new sort of sound, especially the drums and bass are actually Hip Hop!
Anyway thanks for making me a better musician and singer, that's the whole point of the song requests, people have a story with a song, and me trying to recapture it !

That was an awesome rendition...I loved the reggae feel, and yes...very timely and pertinent.

Thanks for the compliment!

Sweet as always , you got this perfect !.Have a great weekend too :)

You are my new favorite musical artist here on Steemit. Your rendition of this song is not only perfect timing but brilliantly performed. I’m sure it takes you a lot of time and effort to do these songs and we very much appreciate your time spent. Thank you for continuing to bring smiles to our day and happiness to our hearts. You are brilliant me friend! ✌️

Thanks so much for all the support I get from you guys, Indeed I am gonna finally rest tonight with the family it was important to finish this one before the beginning of the week end, well especially because the song is about the spirit ! I am psyched to bring smiles to you guys , that's the reward!

Family time is what it’s all about. Enjoy each other and happy Easter!

Thanks! you too dear!

THAT BASS! :D vocal of course dope as always

Thanks my brother!

lovely song, your voice sounds nice and the acapelas at 2:00 and in the endingn are just so awesome!

Thanks bro I do song requests, that was from @dandays and @puravidaville, they have awesome taste.
If you have anything you wanna hear me rearrange/record lemme know!

yeah I think that would be awesome! Should I just say here the song, or what is the proper way to do it? :)
Thank You!

Yes ! Go for it !

Love your vocals, Ed. You never stop surprising me. :)

Lol awesome !

That hit's me just right! 😋 Resteemed!

Oh wow i missed your comment! How are you thanks for the resteem :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95