Dropbox closing down public folder service on march 15th 2017

in #dropbox8 years ago (edited)

With Dropbox closing down the 'public' folder, by making it private, all the links are lost too. This will mean a lot of the images I've used in my posts will become invisible. And I guess Dropbox will change their linking system for this former 'public' folder in a way that the images can not be shared in posts anymore.

It was a nice feature, the public folder, using it from my local computer. There are file servers out there that do a fine job, but don't have that simple way of using. Although eSteem of course has an image upload service. Maybe the Desktop version of eSteem will be just in time to fix this.

Still, I don't feel like putting all those images elsewhere, updating all the posts, cannot even remember which posts they are in. Guess I'll end my account at Dropbox somewhere next year. And unfortunately this means all images will be lost for Steem at some point, starting at the 16th of march 2017. So, if you find those images missing from some of my posts in the new year to come, that's why.

Bye bye Dropbox, hello all other services!

What image server services do you use?

  • Mobypicture Besides images also video and audio
  • PostImage Sharing images in an easy way
  • ??? Let me know in the comments below




image cc-by-sa @oaldamster hosted at MobyPicture

  • 50/50 payout post
Sort:  

https://www.dropbox.com/help/16

Dropbox Pro and Business users: Beginning September 1, 2017, you can no longer render HTML content and the Public folder and its sharing functionality will be disabled.

Thanks for sharing this info!

I use my own Amazon S3 account with Cloudfront. You're always in control of your own images that way. You pay for it, but it's affordable, and it's free for the first year up to about 5gb of storage and 5gb bandwidth per month.

Even my Steemit profile pic is on S3 and delivered through Cloudfront.

Thank you @joanaltres for your suggestion.
Guess that is the best way to be sure of staying in control of your own images.

And thank you very much for the reSteem!

Hi, Joan,

It's a distinct pleasure to occasionally stumble across another fellow Christian anarchist... Greetings! 😄😇😄😇

I'm following you now, and invite you to check out my blog at your leisure... just click below for my Table of Contents:

@creatr

Greetings to you also! Thank you. You have your posts very well organized. That's great! :)

When you post new Christian content, you might drop the link at the chat channel below:
https://steemit.chat/channel/christian-links

Thank you very much for letting me know... Due to finding your link, I've signed up for the channel and dropped this link to this Christmas article that I published today:
"'Ampa, Tell Me A Story" - 🐑A Shepherd's Christmas Tale🐑

It's events like this which make me wary of depending too much on companies providing net services. Storj is looking good right now. If it gets the needed momentum it's something which will be difficult to stop or for anybody to alter it's functionality.

Thanks @dgiors, I share your thoughts on this, often the 'free' service gets us lured in and then after a while...

Will have a better look into Storj, thanks for sharing.

Be heartened that your pictures shouldn't disappear as they are cached by Steemit. Look at the URL for your picture above.

img1.steemit.com/0x0/ is prepended to the source.

Yes, but isn't only the small preview image meta stored for future use?

Anyway, already implementing other solutions.

It looks like it caches all pictures. In fact I encountered an issue one time when I updated a picture on my server using the same URL and the image wouldn't change in the Steemit post after reloads and clearing the browser cache. Eventually I renamed the picture, changed the URL and it was able to update.

Great you're using other solutions. It's probably not worth going through the trouble of updating all your links in previous posts.

Have been using photos.google, worked pretty well for me :)

Thank you for the tip, will check that one out also! :-)

Out of curiosity how do you link them into your posts? I haven't found a good way to extract the direct URL of my Google photos.

After uploading your picture into google you need to select the preferred photo. Then all you need to do is, copy the image adres url using right click on the image. Well... that's the way i do it, but i'm no expert in computers anyways :)

When I try to do that I wind up with a very long URL which doesn't resolve the picture when pasted. It could be my viewing permissions. I'm pretty sure my Google photos are private. That should explain my problems getting it to work.

Yes that might be the problem, make sure you paste the link in the add image box in your editor. Good luck!

Hello, friend @oaldamster, 😄😇😄😇

I have been directly linking to photos on http://unsplash.com (permitted by their terms of service), and also using https://imgsafe.org and Google drive.

One other suggestion for your readers - it is really fairly inexpensive to lease a little web space (actually, a lot of web space) from some ISPs... for just a few dollars a month, you can put up your own website and host a lot of images in a sub-directory... Just google "website hosting" and you'll find endless suppliers... ;)

Hello @creatr mate :-)

Thank you for you advice, will check out your suggestions!

@oaldamster I used to use a lot but now am exclusive to imgur and here. The files we shared to other people there would still be seen or not anymore?

The public folder will become private, the current links will not work anymore after 15th of march 2017. The files in there need to be shared again in the same way as is done with the other private folders.

At least that is what I got from the email.

@oaldamster really - curses!
sighs - had you not written this I won't get to get stuff that needs taking care of - hopefully I find time to do that thank you for postin!

You still have to 15th of March 2017 conserning the public folder. The rest will stay the way it is. I have a lot of things in my Public folder... Mostly attached to SteemIt. Ah well, new year, new start...

I use postimg.org and it seems to do the job.

Indeed Anca, that one works well. Started using their windows app, even works fine in Linux here. :-)

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Dec 16. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $5.29 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 16 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 54691.22
ETH 2323.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.12