Dreams Journal 2/18/19 - Flash Dreams & We Can't Sleep here!

in #dreams5 years ago (edited)

Hey Steemians! I've discovered a new type of dream and I call them flash dreams. They happen as you're trying to go to sleep. It's not much of a dream but more of a quick picture with little to no context. Sometimes there's movement but it's about as long as a gif image. I think this is cool...have you had these happen to you? It's not much of a discovery that they happen, but I've figured out how to get them every time after doing some testing.

This is all a part of a new process I've been trying as I'm going to sleep. In the future I'll try to write them down because I couldn't remember them all after 2 days but if I can get a few of them to start my dream posts with that's good too. It would be difficult to remember both a flash dream and a regular dream in the same night every time but it is easy to write down the flash dreams and have them for when I can remember a dream.

dreams9-800x480.png

Flash Dreams

I call them flash dreams because just as fast as you get'em, they're gone. The process goes as follows:

When I lay down I get in my normal comfortable position and instead of tossing and turning until I fall asleep I clear my mind by focusing on what I see when I close my eyes. Everyone should see something similar when they close their eyes so you can do this too.

Eyes closed, I focus on what is actually in the darkness of the back of my eyelids. It could be what looks like far away stars zooming by to a blob of purple warping into different shapes. I've always seen this, especially the stars, but it's the warping blob that we want to focus on. As it gets smaller it's replaced by a bigger one like a never ending zoom-gif but the purple blob is deforming and changing shapes. Sometimes the shape looks like an eye and sometimes it takes on perfect geometrical shapes that start to illuminate and explode into a thousand mini dots like a lightshow but it's very quick and sudden.

Once I can see this and have taken focus, I look for colors and colors alone. Just look around and start naming colors. I see purple, sometimes white or a flash of yellow. The possibilities are endless. A big red streak that turns into every different color imaginable in a flash and just as fast as I saw it, it was gone. During this whole process I am thinking to myself.

"Okay, there's the purple. What shape is it going to take? Hmm weird...alright, what other colors...orange...yellow..blue. A flashing streak"

... and then it happens. It only takes a few minutes as you relax your body and all you're thinking about is what colors you can see while ignoring everything else. Before you know it you will see a picture pop up clear as day and if you're still awake you'll realize what just happened and want to remember. You'll take note and keep going since your eyes are closed and before you know it you've had a few flash dreams. I had about 6 or 8 of them but I never wrote them down so I can't remember them all now. I did remember 4, so here they are!

Four Fingers

Just a picture of four fingers. The thumb was not in the picture. The background was blue. It was a human hand. Maybe my own spanning across the image at an angle from corner to corner.

Upsidedown Silhouette of a Horse Head

upsidedown horse head.JPG
The silhouette was black but the outline was a neon purple. It was definitely an upside down horse head with a black background. It was moving slightly closer to me so it got bigger. It lasted about 3 or 4 seconds.

The Fish Spear Gif

A person throwing a punch like you would a baseball. The fist released and turned into a fish head, mouth open wide with big teeth that covered the whole image and then a harpoon came shooting out of its mouth. As it did that, the fish stayed behind and my "dream camera" stayed with the tip as I got pushed back with it and the fish head got smaller. The harpoon left a spiral-like trail of rope with another rope that went down the center of the spiral that expanded as I got pushed back. It was surreal experiencing the depth.

Army Girl

A woman sitting atop a military tank as it rolled up on a building. Her hand stretched out pointing at the building with her mouth open wide as she screamed out "CHAAAARRGGEE!!"

Now on to the dream.

We Can't Sleep Here

It was longer than this but this was all I could remember. We got dropped off and this was where my kid was going to sleep for the night. For whatever reason, I wasn't going to be sleeping there. Just her. It was like an abandoned warehouse with no insulation and broken windows. It was cold so we went to the basement to see how cold it was there. Surely it was, and it was wet too. You could hear water dripping.

I wasn't about to let my daughter sleep there alone, but for whatever reason I felt like I had to leave her there. This was heart breaking, so I stayed with her as long as I could. The whole time I was contemplating on just staying or not leaving her. "There's no way I'm leaving her" I kept telling myself. I've slept in a cold room before. Hanging out in it while awake is one thing, but trying to sleep in it is an absolute nightmare. There's just no way to get comfortable, especially since we didn't have any blankets.

"Why am I even here, thinking about doing this?" I kept asking myself. She was starting to complain about it being too cold but that it was okay. This made me feel even worse and I just felt like crying. "We can't sleep here" I told her. "That's it, I don't care what your mom said, we're not staying here!" At that point, I grabbed her hand and started leaving the building. As I pulled out my phone to call anyone for a ride, my phone rang and woke me up.

Thoughts

These flash dreams will be a perfect addition to my dreams posts! I was not thinking about anything except focusing on the colors I could see with my eyes closed and these images would randomly pop up out of nowhere. I could call the still pictures flash dreams and the dreams with movement mini-dreams (or gif-dreams?) only they don't repeat. These happened over the course of the last two nights.

There's absolutely no way for me to interpret these. The military one could be related to me playing Battlefield V and it has female characters in it but it's still pretty random. I mean the upside down horsehead proves how random it is.

Hard to understand what the meaning of my dream is, but it may be that I fear not being able to properly provide for my kid. She's growing up so fast and I'd say I'm doing a good job so far but there's a lot of things I wish I could do to give her a better life but I'm always too busy working. As much as I'm glad that she's in school now so I can have a day job, I miss taking care of her during the day. This is her first year in school, so before that I basically couldn't have a day job.

Thanks for reading! Steem On!

@bitfiend

I want to share my dreams exclusively with the Steemit community!

Dream Log

February

| 2/5/19 |

January

| 1/3/19 | 1/17/19 | 1/18/19 |

2018 / 2017

Dreams for 2018 and beyond

How to Remember Your Dreams

It is good practice to have a dream journal next to your bed if you want to remember them. That's right. Good ol' fashion pen and paper. [Okay, a laptop or your favorite hand-held device can work too] This way, the second you get up, you take 5 minutes to write down as much as you can remember before you start to forget. Spend some time re-reading, even throughout the day, and you might even start to remember small bits and pieces for you to add. If you keep this practice consistent, you will soon begin to start remembering your dreams with more detail, effectively able to write down what you dreamed.

Just remember, all it takes is 10 minutes to forget your dream. You must perform this exercise during your first 10 minutes of waking up.

When I joined Steemit I made the decision to always Power-Up my earnings. For now, payouts are set to 50/50 but you bet I will convert & Power Up! Besides internal transfers, I have never cashed out and don't plan on it! Power-Up only!


power-up.jpg

Please Consider @comedyopenmic for witness!

Proudly a part of the #comedyopenmic / #comedyopenmicespanol community! Make people laugh with your original jokes! Curate, Participate, Donate, Delegate!
Click The Banner Below To Vote @ComedyOpenMic For Witness And Disrupt The Steem Blockchain With Laughter!
Support COM Banner

Thank you to @matytan for the great banner

Sort:  

Hello @bitfiend, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

My God, I'm not the only one who sees that gif-like stuff when my eyes are closed. It's such a frustrating feeling when it retreats whenever I try to focus on it.

I tend to see little things floating around like amoeba and tiny strands swimming across my "view". I wish I could take a snapshot to analyze it, but it just gifs back to the start with constant movement.

Finally, I'm not alone!

Nice writeup. Resteemed to try to get some more open eyes on it.

Yeah I focus on anything including the floating amoeba stuff or a colored eye floater that moves away from your center view the more you try to look at it. I've always wanted to take a snapshot myself but all I can do is analyze it as it happens. Sometimes the movement becomes sporadic and makes me dizzy so I have to adjust my position or open my eyes to stop it and try again.

I'm glad I'm not the only one seeing this stuff! The gif-images are cool and sometimes they have sound to them (like the army girl one).

I've read that the purple blob is your chakra or something and indicates what kind of soul you have. Purple means my soul is older than my body but if I focus I can see all the ROYGBIV colors. I can't remember that that means but I remember it being more rare to see all colors than just one.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 22 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 8 SBD worth and should receive 316 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64254.80
ETH 3145.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88