Drawing: A Ladies face in profile - Conté & Chalk on Treated PapersteemCreated with Sketch.

in #drawing7 years ago

So, firstly WOW! Thank you for the support and votes in the previous post Drawing: Women's Face in Profile - Pastel Chalk on Treated Paper.
I almost didn't post it but i'm glad i did. THANK YOU to the Whales that got behind it and voted it up, not sure who you are but that's a very big deal for me and i really appreciate it! #whalepower #teamaustralia #minnowsupport!


face2_detail_groundcontrol.jpg


Here's part 2 to my experiments with 're-sizing' paper with Shellac. (see: the fist post on treated paper for info on shellac)

With this face i tried another technique focusing on rendering with white and moving the medium around using a paper stump (or a "Tortillion" if you want to get fancy and use the French term!).

The black pencil plays a big part in this, i used a Conté à Paris Pierre Noire 2B - they are very smooth and inky leads, very dark blacks - not the cheapest pencils available but unmatched in quality.

The white pencil was a Stabilo CarbOthello Titanium White (100) - this is the opposite of the Conté - it's very chalky and dusty which blends beautifully with the black.

With this drawing i was wondering what would happen if i mixed them together. I found a really nice way to render subtle tones - i only wish i had a more complete image to show you but i'll certainly work on one in the future.

I'm still experimenting and working on finding the right mix of medium & paper for developing a technique that works with my style of drawing but i really like what i've discovered so far with mixing different pencils and trying new things. You never know what will work until you start to think outside the box.

I hope you like it too! Thanks for taking a look.

face2_groundcontrol.jpg

pens.jpg

thankyou.jpg

Sort:  

Are you kidding me! Is this drawing or picture? Am loving this work
thanks for sharing

Thanks for your comments! Appreciated.

welcome...expecting more from you...
Do also check my new posts of today ( male brain versus famle brains)and also older one related to family versus office...very good read which i know you will love...comment is appreciated. Thanks

Wow!!! I am an Artist myself, and you got skill. Beautifully well done. Tones and shading masterful... A perfect blind of light and darkness to give a sense of mystery... Awesome!!!I gave you a follow and up-vote. Well done...

Lovely reply to a deserving artist. Your analysis of her work portrays you as a master in your art profession. Would love to sesee your work too...Keep steeming

Thank you! It really comes down to getting the shellac mixture right - unfortunately i didn't pay any attention to the mixture when i made it originally so i have to keep experimenting to try and get the right amount of shellac flakes vs mineral spirits. Too much and it's like glass, too uneven and you can get spots where the pencil just slides over without leaving a mark.

Not only are you a great artist, you also Know what your talking about. The knowledge in your head is priceless. the artwork gives me inspiration.

maybe one of these days i will dig up some of my long lost toned paper and charcoals from storage and see what happens if i attempt your style.

Magical things will happen!

your magic wand might not produce the same magic in my hands

I reckon you have a great style with what your doing anyway.
You could do a little book - check out www.blurb.com - you don't have to spend a cent to make a book. You could add some select watercolour dabs - or you could just leave it as is!
I envy your work.

i am currently trying to sharpen my watercolor skills. my next significant art purchase will probably be a roll of watercolor paper. at which point i will start carrying around that paper to draw on instead of sketchbooks. watercolor dabs will be common

that website seems cool, i'll have to look into it a little closer.

no need to envy my work when yours is better

Wow great drawing !! nice detailing !!
My self an artist and I am your follower i like all your arts !!
keep sharing waiting for more art from you..!!

please follow me and check my drawings in this links

https://steemit.com/art/@prashanthak/my-pencil-drawing-colourful-butterfly-original
https://steemit.com/art/@prashanthak/pencil-drawing-wine-and-water-glass-original
https://steemit.com/art/@prashanthak/my-pencil-drawing-eye-with-tears-of-happiness

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jul 06. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $18.22 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jul 06 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Interesting analysis 🤔, number 73 on the list.
Thanks for noticing my post!

Your work is so beautiful. I quite like the mix of the soft, blended face with the rough, sketchy edges. Images that are realistic yet sketchy make my heart happy. lol
I'm feeling inspired to pick up my charcoals again, which haven't seen any love in a REALLY long time... perhaps I'll get a spare moment to do that soon.

@offbeatbroad
Am eager to enjoy your work and upvote them. Your analysis is awesome
Let's keep supporting talented Steemians
Thanks

Thank you for the kind words. Yeah i love forcing the eye to a specific spot by keeping some areas messy or loose. It can be tempting to try and do a complete drawing in full detail but sometimes you lose the spirit of the piece doing that.
You should totally get on the charcoals again!
My next drawing i'm about to start will be in charcoal so i'll try to take some progress shots and any tips if i can think of some.
Thanks for taking interest!

Oh yes, I'd love to see some progress shots... get a glimpse into the artist's mind, and maybe help me dust off some cobwebs. lol

Wow, she almost looks like Neko Case. Wonderful stuff.

I don't know who it is, it was a photo from the 1800's - i just liked the profile, wondered what she was looking at - so i used it for this experiment.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by groundcontrol from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

This post has received a 3.36 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @groundcontrol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.032
BTC 63760.92
ETH 2737.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60