Almost Complete - Sketch from 2013steemCreated with Sketch.

in #drawing7 years ago

This one is almost finished. I think.

I present to you a simple abstract ink sketch. I started it in 2013 then forgot about it for about four years.

After finding the book recently, I decided to give completion a shot.

In my opinion, this thing is very chaotic! But there's a soothing or playful feel to the colors, so the composition is in relative harmony.

How do you like it?

coolsketch6


Lets take a glimpse at its evolution:

2013coolsketch
As it was the day I found it. Looks like the start of something cool, but needs more-more-more.


coolsketch3
I finished the penciling and completed the outline with Micron marker pens of differing size. Then I started putting down the lightest colors using the ZIG® Kuretake watercolor markers I've mentioned in previous posts.


coolsketch4
Using a mechanical pencil, I marked where I wanted to keep the brightest highlights so I would remember not to color them in yet.

I also added some more intense hues and played with the under-colors. (This is my first full-page drawing using the watercolor markers.)


coolsketch5
By this point I had determined what colors I wanted in which areas. I started layering on more hues in an effort to achieve greater depth and interest.

The paper in this sketchbook doesn't allow for actual color blending, but layers work pretty well.


coolsketch6
This is the current state. It seems mostly complete, save for the remaining non-highlight white paper still showing and a little more detail here and there.


I've enjoyed working on this little side project. Thanks for stopping by to have a look!


Here are some links to other things I've been drawing:


Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jan 17. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $3.17 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 17 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Really amazing work!

Thank you kindly! :D

Chaotic, perhaps. But in a good way. It's very interesting, I like it. I'm glad you found that book and finished it off.

And I am glad you shared your opinion :D

There's a lot of history behind this particular sketchbook of mine (not all so happy) and it makes me feel really satisfied to add some positive energy into something that was really negative at one time.

Thanks again, take care @naquoya :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01