ZIG® Watercolor Marker Review - TLDR version

in #drawing8 years ago

Who else loves getting to play with a new set of markers? I know I do!

A while back, I purchased this set of 80 watercolor brush pen-style markers from Amazon. I was looking for a set that would perform to my standards without breaking the bank. (What I really want is all 358 Copic® sketch markers. I have a lot more Steeming to do before I realize that vision, however.)

boxmarkers

Back to current reality. I've used these ZIG® brush markers here and there in my smaller sketchbook, but have yet to complete a full project using them.

In the not so distant past, I posted a quick review of the marker pens I use for most of my work. (You can see it here.)

After spending some time getting to know this set, I decided a reference swatch sheet was in order before I move on to a full-blown piece.

Thus, a post was conceived.

To create this reference sheet I have drawn three lines for each color, as described:

The top line was made after dipping the brush in water for a short time to dilute the color intensity. (I was trying to achieve a light-to-dark effect in one stroke, however, some colors were more cooperative than others in that endeavor.)

The second line is a thin stroke, applied using very little pressure.

The third line is a saturation of color, made by applying multiple strokes in quick succession, not allowing any dry time. Some colors only needed four such strokes, while the lighter colors required six or seven layers to achieve saturation.

(Apologies for the photo quality)

full page no bkgd

closeup1

closeup2

Some notes about the markers themselves:

  • Brush is a true brush, made from very fine synthetic bristles
  • Water based means water-compatible; use just like a traditional brush – with no rinsing
  • Comfortable barrel with clearly labeled color and product information on each
  • Lid does not “click” closed (a fact that tripped me up initially; I kept mistakenly thinking I was leaving the lids too loose)
ProsConsComments
Easy to blend colors by touching tip-to-tipDifficult to blend colors by other methodsIt's convenient to blend by touching tips for small areas of work, but if blending a colors for a large area there is no easy way to make a quantity of mixed color since the ink stays in the barrel
Colors are rich and vivid on paperColors are rich and vivid on fingertips and handsBe aware, any residue or moisture on hands causes color transfer and easy smudging
Brush tip experience similar to traditional small brushBrush is not suited for washes or filling in large areasThe brush is great for small to medium sized artwork, but IMO, a terrible option as sole medium for a big studio piece

So what's the verdict??

Overall, I am very satisfied with my purchase of this product. I've used different ZIG® markers in the past, but never this specific product. These markers seem to be suited better for projects that involve lettering or simple sketching and drawing. Although they produce beautiful hues, if care is not taken, a smearing/blending effect occurs when colors meet on paper, even after drying. Now that I have a handy reference sheet, I feel I have a starting point for my first great work of art using these markers.

Because of the price tag, fine quality of the brush tip and richness of color, I would not classify these markers as “basic student level”, but rather as “ascending amateur level”.

I like them for what they are and I can't snub them for what they never claimed to be.


Thanks for reading. Here's a little bonus content if you are interested ;)

I haven't used the macro lens with my camera phone for months. I was curious what quality I could capture with it. Mediocre, at best, in my opinion, but still cool to see the grain of the paper so up close and personal.

macro1

macro2

Don't forget to have a great day!

Sort:  

Those pens look so fun! I love stuff like that. I like to see reviews like this on Steemit. I occasionally post some myself.

I love trying all kinds of new materials and tools, fun agreed.
I'll keep my eyes peeled for your next art review! Thank you for looking :)

Wow, this is a really great post! Very good information! I have a 48 count set of the Koi Watercolor Brush Pens that I just bought recently. I really like them but I'm new to watercolor and it's a little bit frustrating for me learning the ins and outs of it. Love your swatch sheet and the time and effort you put into this review!

Cool! Thank you for sharing - let me know if you discover or develop any really good tricks because I understand your frustrations with watercolor (trust me). That frustration can be so demotivating, even in tiny doses :p

I definitely will! I'm working on a piece today that I will try to post late using the watercolor brush pens. I figure if I keep trying I will get it figured out, lol!!
Happy New Year!

Excelente review! you're not the only who love play with a new set of markets hehehe I hope to see what beautiful drawing you'll do with them! :)

Thank you for looking - I've been thinking a lot about what I want my next project to be. I'm glad I can share with my fellow artists!

Great to find you @enternamehere on steemit interested in watercolors and markers.. Me too have been using watercolors, but with real brushes. Would like to try your new set :)
Here is a post, I was doing a quick watercolor sketch
https://steemit.com/art/@splus/self-portrait-in-watercolors
I'll add more soon

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58559.96
ETH 3156.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44