Look What I Found! An Incomplete Sketchbook from 2013steemCreated with Sketch.

in #drawing8 years ago

While looking through some old boxes, I discovered one of my old sketchbooks.

This particular book of mine has a somewhat involved backstory that I'd rather omit at present (which is why I deleted the really personal stuff from some of the pages). Suffice it to say, I put some cool ideas down but I also left many (too many!) blank pages. Save for the colored pencil pages, I used only cheap supplies: Crayola washable markers and Micron marker pens.


These are some of the pages that caught my eye from back then. (Not too shabby, younger self!)

31mar13
This is a nice frame/border I started. I love the color combinations used here :D


fruitpage
On this page, I first drew the light blue horizontal lines to mimic a sheet of notebook paper (and the matching red verticals), then I made the rest of the border on top and added the fruits. Very cutesy ;p but I can't hate it for that.


unfinishedbusiness
Here you see more of my unfinished business. I really like the controlled chaos here and I feel a strong inclination to finish this sucker. If you stay tuned, you may well see it upon completion - almost four years in the making!


The images below are of my renewed interest in this old book.

As I've mentioned, I'm on a colored pencil binge right now. Gone are the Crayolas and here are the Prismacolors. (It came to my attention after comparing my older stuff with the new - I write a crap ton more notes to myself now. Nothing wrong with improvement of documentation!)

3jan17
Mid-way through

3jan17-2
Completed chart


My goal right now is to really become familiar with blending the colors together to make more true to life hues.

I only have 23 pencils currently, so there are some challenges. However, I will be getting my hands on some additional pencils in the very near future and I'll take it from there. The image below is from another sketchbook I have, but it's related so I want to include it here.

prismachart
With this chart, I am trying out the technique of burnishing with each of the 23 pencils in my current arsenal.


The bottom line is I'm just having some fun getting lost in my own art-world, created by my hand and I'm glad I could share this with you :)
I welcome constructive criticism and feedback because it helps me improve, which is my ultimate goal.

Thanks for stopping by - don't forget to have a great day!

Sort:  

Wow, nice handwriting. All I got is chicken scratch.
I love doodling too.

What was your last doodle?? :)
I spent a lot of time practicing my penmanship, just for fun, as a kid. Thank you!

haven't doodled in a while. just some poorly drawn examples on the chalkboard for my students. lol

Maybe 2017 will be a better doodle year for you ;p
What do you teach? Or whom?

I have no criticism to offer, sorry. Very nice work!

LOL - Thank you thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58951.49
ETH 2505.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48