Follow Me As I Continue My Anatomy ExplorationsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life8 years ago

Hi there and welcome back!

I've been spending almost all of my spare time drawing the past couple of days. I am determined to continue improving my portraiture skills. Please enjoy my latest sketches below :)


Instead of practicing with only one facial feature, I figured it might do me some good to try my hand at the entire face as a whole unit. A strong foundation is essential to the success of anything worth doing (not only drawing); therefore, I became "re- familiarized" with the proportions of the face and head. (By the way, I "talk to myself" when I draw in the form of notes or little scribbles. It's one way I encourage myself to keep drawing even if I hate the results)

19dec_head-props


As I began to get the hang of The Face and it's close buddy, The Head, I transitioned from front-on to three-quarter view and side profile. Admittedly, not my best work, but that's okay because I'm still in the "rough draft" phase of things right now.

19dec_head-face-props


I worked on a few more goofy-looking profiles on the next page before calling it a day. On Tuesday, I warmed up by trying some more front-on portraits, and this time I tried some shading too. However, I have to say, I think the values are too dark. As my little nota personal states, my choice of marker was inadequate for the size of the composition. Lived, learned ;)

In a way I'm glad I "messed up" because it gave me an idea for another post. How serendipitous!

19dec_profiles


Thank you so much for stopping by!

Feel free to leave constructive criticism - I'm always interested to hear what others have to say about my work. Take care :)

Sort:  

Thank you or the compliment!

It's so interesting to see an artist's process. It nice that you share it. It helps me, as 'not an artist', appreciate how much all of you work at it. And how you are committed to the process of doing art.

I love seeing other artists' work too because it gives me self-insight in its own way. I thank you kindly for your support - please have a terrific Wednesday!

Have a Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays to you!

I wish you the same - thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58613.96
ETH 3153.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43