The Story Behind the Image

in #drawing7 years ago (edited)

Yesterday, I posted about Elizabethan poet, John Donne. Every blog post needs an image. Here is the story behind the image on that post.
I considered some of the images of John Donne, but decided it was too boring just to grab something off the 'net; anyone can do that! Instead, I used one of the online images to draw my own portrait of him.
20171026_191303.jpg

I did a Google image search and found lots of images of oil paintings. Among the many that have Donne depicted with an annoying pointy beard and a poncy lace collar, I found this picture:
John-Donne-Biography.jpg
Source
In this painting, he looks less like an historical figure and more like a real person.
(It irked me that the image had no credit. I searched for it, but couldn't find it easily, so left the searching for later. After I'd done the drawing I eventually found this image in the Victoria and Albert Museum collection
2007BN5329_jpg_l.jpg
Source
As you can see, the version I drew from had been reversed! Let that be a lesson, kids: authenticate your subject before you put all that work into it!)

Anyway, this is the picture I liked, so I started with these materials: an A5 visual journal, a mechanical pencil (because it always has a sharp point) and a putty eraser (because it never damages the paper).

20171024_222845.jpg
The first thing I do is a bit of an outline, to get everything in proportion (as far as I can - this is the bit that gives me the most trouble).

Once the outline is drawn, I switch to a normal pencil. Depending on how dark I want the base tone, I could use anything from an H to a 2B to scribble all over it.

20171024_224932.jpg

This provides a base tone that isn't harsh white. There's no problem lifting some of the shading off with the putty eraser if it's too much in places, or if I want to bring out highlights.

With a 2B pencil, for the first bit of detail I add in, I always find myself gravitating to the eyes.
20171024_231810.jpg
This is my favourite bit - one minute it's inanimate paper with a few lines on, the next it is peering back at you. With those few marks, the portrait comes to life, watching and judging!

Then... great, I have a visitor.

1ycddr.jpg

Of course, once I get one visitor, the other isn't far behind.
1yce1v.jpg

After drawing in the detail, I switch to a darker pencil, usually a 6B or 8B to bring out the darker parts of the drawing. At this stage, with the details and a good amount of shading, my camera started picking up the drawing as another face.
Screenshot_20171025-000317.png
That made me happy.

From there, it's just shading until I stop. At this stage, I'm always paranoid that I'm going to mess it up. Eventually, I tell myself to stop fiddling, it's done.

And that's the story behind the image.

  • All photographs are my own original work, except where the source is linked underneath the image.
Sort:  

I do like seeing other people's processes, and laughing at the random intrusions XD

goatsig

I was thinking of you when I did this :) I loved your video of you drawing the goat. I'm not sure if I left a comment; I have a feeling I didn't, or maybe I did but it was eaten, either way I was 'gunna' do it later, but I don't think I got there. Still, it was at the back of my mind.

What I loved about your video was the way you were able to decide mid-process to change the angle of a leg, or that the body was too long. The reason I liked those bits so much is because I'm a rank amateur and I have this vision in my head of naturally talented sketchers (who probably also have years, or even decades of experience) who just know where to put every line. I feel so ashamed when I have to erase an eye and redraw it in a different position: who do I think I am, thinking I am up to snuff to show my work around to others when I can't even draw without such heavy reliance on an eraser?

So, like you, I love watching other people work. It reminds me that we all have a process, and people don't just wave a magic wand and get it perfect from the start every time.

I feel so ashamed when I have to erase an eye and redraw it in a different position: who do I think I am, thinking I am up to snuff to show my work around to others when I can't even draw without such heavy reliance on an eraser?

I feel exactly the same way! Except substitute "eraser" for "ctrl+z" XD

And I'm glad you can get over that and show it off anyway, I like your drawings.

It reminds me that we all have a process, and people don't just wave a magic wand and get it perfect from the start every time.

Exactly why I like watching other people's processes too :D

goatsig

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 80.0% @steemdrive upgoat, thanks to @beachhermit
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @beachhermit to be original material and upvoted(2%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.
Qurator is proudly supported by @reggaemuffin, vote for him as a witness here.

@eileenbeach has voted on behalf of @minnowpond.
If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

            To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by BeachHermit from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This post has received a 0.75 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @beachhermit. Send at least 0.50 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our daily curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59329.11
ETH 2528.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47