SOMETHING I NEVER KNEW ABOUT DOLPHINS... UNTIL NOW

in #dolphins8 years ago

It really seems odd, but I guess it makes sense!


Often, I am blown away with what various creatures in the world do. Personally, none of it looks like the end result of millions of years worth of random mutations to me, despite the claims of some.

Dolphins are some of those marvelous creatures that humans have been able to interact with in so many incredible ways. They are very intelligent and therefore can be trained to successfully accomplish and do many things. Even in the wild, these playful, sleek, powerful air-breathers seem to enjoy interacting not only with other dolphins but with all sorts of other animals, and humans too.

Though I have always been interested in these incredible marine creatures, and though I have learned much about them over the years, it seems that somehow I missed an interesting fact about their birthing process.

Dolphins give birth backwards.

For many other animals, being born headfirst is the best way for the baby to be born, but not for dolphins! For humans, a breach birth, where the feet start coming out first, is not the best position for the baby to be in. We were designed to be born headfirst. Not only is it easy for the delivery process, but the baby can breathe right away then too, so the chance of survival can be higher as well!

However, though we classify dolphins as mammals, being born headfirst is not the best position for their deliveries. From the shape of dolphins we could assume that this would work well and even be preferable, but dolphins breathe air and live in water. If the baby dolphin was born head-first, it would have to hold its breath until it was completely delivered before being able to make it to the surface to get its first breath. This could be life threatening.

I was exposed to this information while watching a movie with my children. Upon further research it seems that the fins of dolphins stay soft and folded until after they are born. I can't imagine what birthing a firm dorsal fin backwards (or forwards) would feel like for a mama dolphin. When the baby dolphin is born, the mama will help it to the surface for that first breath too!


photo source

Here is a great photo from a dolphin birth, where you can see the baby exit the mother in reverse. The photo source link above has some more great info about the birth of dolphins, but it is worth mentioning that a lot of what we know about dolphin births comes from captive dolphins, and not wild ones. Obviously, wild dolphins giving birth would be a lot harder to observe and research.

Another thing I learned today about dolphins is that the mama will nurse her baby for about two years, while they swim. Interesting to think about, as I never really considered that much. Did any you know any of these things before, because I sure didn't?

CLOSING THOUGHTS

The evolutionary model claims that dolphins came from land mammals, which supposedly can be traced back to sea creatures. This means that these creatures would have had to leave the sea to eventually grow fur, breathe through nostrils connected to the esophagus, and give birth head-first only to later return to the sea, lose all fur, breathe through a blow-hole not connected to the throat, and give birth tail-first. There sure are some reasons for people to consider being skeptical about the evolutionary story.

Even having the fins remain folded and soft until after birth would sure be a huge stroke of "luck", if you believe in that sort of thing.

In closing, @papa-pepper loves the wild creatures out there and loves to interact with them, observe them, and learn more about them!

How about you?

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-movie-i-was-watching-when-i-learned


All gifs from: http://giphy.com/search/dolphin


FOLLOW


Awesome Handcrafted @papa-pepper logo kindly donated by @vlad - Thank you!!


OPERATION TRANSLATION logo provided by @oecp85.

(click link above for more info on Operation Translation)

Sort:  

I love dolphins. My daughter enjoys my dolphin impression....sometimes I wonder what I'm saying ;)

Have you posted a video of your dolphin impersonation?

I have one too, you know?

Ha ha! No way. It's pretty lame. It consists of me clicking rapidly out the side of my mouth and squeaking occasionally. Only my daughter's complete lack of judgement and her hilarious attempts to copy me allow me to do it at all.

If you post a video of your impression, I'll gladly offer a critique though ;)

Lol - you are so kind to offer critique, with no video of your own for comparison!

Anyone can judge against the real thing! Besides, I've just done it again and filmed myself....I was shocked, shocked I say, at how terrible it was. I'm still laughing at myself. No it's best if I keep that away from the rest of the world.

They are trying to promote hashtag funny...

I'm just saying...

I hear you....worthy cause. I'm just not ready. Yet...

My youngest daughter LOVES dolphins, she's teaching me about them!

Wow!


I was born upside down and naked too @papa-pepper

We sure have come a long way huh ?

LOL - Oh @mrfoot - you are funny!

papa-pepper - master of his craft, it is always interesting to read. :)

"Master of my craft" - LOL!?!?!

Thanks @dolov!



[Join us on #steemSTEM]

Wow, such a well crafted post about our sociable sea friends the Dolphins. Really well chosen images for telling the story, and discussing a topic that I bet many people have never thought about at all before, how a dolphin is born. Very well done, thank you for an entertaining and informative post, looking forward to your future STEM related content!

As a bonus, and in addition to resteeming for exposure. We are awarding you a small 5 Steem Power deposit as a thank you for creating quality STEM related postings on Steemit. We hope you will continue to educate us all!

I just saw that deposit and was going to go looking for you. Thanks!

I do something similar to reward posts and comments that I think are solid and beneficial, and reward them out of my own pocket with some STEEM or SD!

That's a very nice initiative too! Good luck with this :)

The Old Dog - @kus-knee - just started something like that too, based off of what he seen me doing!

The snow ball is growing ^^

Great to see folks like us giving back in those ways!

Keep doing what you do @steemstem!

Interesting... Gotta get in the water with them, one day!

A friend of mine proposed by having a dolphin bring his girlfriend the ring!

You do good work! Thanks and Keep It Up!

Your mention of the evolutionary model remineded me that a long time ago I decided that the only part of Darwin's theories that made any sense to me was "Survival of the fittest," and that did not involve the changing of species.

God, after all, made each animal to procreate after its kind, and though there can be sports, there is no evolution of species.

One can see "survival of the fittest" everyday if one were to look, but no one can show a species-changing instance of "evolution."

I just discovered that you sent me a boatload of steem. I assume it was in response to my comment since I don't know of any other interaction we have had.

THANK YOU VERY MUCH!

NOW I HAVE DISCOVERED THAT IT WAS FROM MY POETRY EFFORT, WHICH I HAD FORGOTTEN, SO THIS MESSAGE SHOULD BE THERE. This just goes to show you how flighty I am, but I STLL THANK YOU VERY MUCH.

Have you seen the entries using your poetry as song lyrics?

CHECK THE REPLIES HERE:
https://steemit.com/contest/@papa-pepper/papa-pepper-s-wild-and-strange-contest-round-5-a-song-competition

I think you'll be surprised!

Wow! Thank you for providing us with this education. I had no idea that Dolphins have evolved this way. Now, I'll have to check out how other large sea mammals give birth.

Actually, my point was the opposite - I don't think there is any way that all of that could "happen to happen" by random mutations and chance, random processes.

There is part of me that has felt for a long time, that some sea creatures like dolphins and whales were re-homed to this planet from another universe, potentially. Their intelligence and ability to communicate is beyond that of the arrogant opposable thumb human species, in many cases.

They certainly have a different intelligence.

Did you see that gif of the dolphin playing with a ring of air underwater?

It was so incredible to see that it knew how to make a toy out of air!

Intelligence beyond our comprehension.

Thank you for posting @papa-pepper this well composed article with lovely pictures of one of the most beloved sea creatures...the dolphin.

Yes...we should question evolution.

To believe the lie you must reject the truth that God created all things.

Happy Christ-mas to you and @mama-pepper and the little ones.

Hi @papa-pepper
Great informative article, I also did not know all these facts about dolphins, by the way I believe all things were created by God.

I never knew that either, and that's a good belief to have!

This post has been ranked within the top 10 most undervalued posts in the second half of Dec 18. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $33.40 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 18 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Thanks, I'm top ten all day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57740.57
ETH 3127.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33