DnW Poetry Contest # 1 – The Beginning of 2018 is…..Frozen!

in #dnwpoetrycontest7 years ago

This poem I am submitting to the DnW Poetry Contest #1, “ The Beginning of 2018 is... Frozen” was originally a song for another contest, Calling All MCs and Singers of Earth!!!!" ... Round 14. X-mas edition!!, but I did not get it posted before the deadline.

I saw this poetry contest and decided maybe it was meant for this instead. Because after all, a song is a poem in motion. I did have to shorten the lyrics to fit the 4 quatrains requirements of contest.


Imgur

Here is my original drawing for the poem, “The Beginning of 2018 is…Frozen!”


I’m by the coast,
but I can’t see the ocean.
Supposed to be some sun,
but here I’m truly frozen.

Do a little hip-hop;
watching the degrees drop.
Yeah, I’m from the south but,
I can’t wear no flipflops.

Freezing off my little booty
Go and grab my favorite hoodie
Won’t see me driving round,
Cause folks on the roads are super loony.

Shelves be empty in all the stores
Cause they’re calling for some flurries
Got a generator for when the lights go out
So, I ain’t got no worries.


More writing by @simgirl
Day 56 : 5 Minute Freewrite- The Pelicans
25 December 2050- Entry for Future Chronicles
The Elf That Would Not Help- The Power of Positivity
Constrained Writing Contest #11 The Alternative Route

Simgirlbanner Made by @son-of-satire

wit-list-trans

hr2

pal-sig-anim-trans

hr2

TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

Imgur

Imgur

Sort:  

Hi, thank you for joining and good luck! :)

Thanks for hosting!!

I def be freezing off my little (debatable) booty!
This post has been deemed resteem & upvote worthy by your friendly @eastcoaststeem ran by @chelsea88 (not a bot)

ha ha. Life on the East Coast!!!

wow!!! very nice!! thanks for joining!

Thanks for reading!

That's a great little poem... I absolutely love it and I can't imagine what it's like to be cold when you're used to being warm LOL we are freezing our butts off here in PA!!

I grew up in PA. You never get used to it. I returned not long after I moved away and forgot my gloves. I thought my hands were going to fall off. There's not much we can do but try and stay warm. It only happens every 4 or 5 years, so it is not too bad. But a big deal when it does! Thanks for reading!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59615.63
ETH 2524.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44