Constrained Writing Contest #11 The Alternative Route

in #constrainedwriting7 years ago (edited)

This is my entry for the Constrained Writing Contest #11, hosted by @svashta.

This week’s constraints are:
Tell a fictional story from (at least) two different perspectives
The entire story must be at least 300 words long
Upvote and resteem this post, and post a link to your entry in the comments.
Include tag #constrainedwriting among your other tags.


Imgur

Google


The Alternative Route

I wasn’t where I should have been, in fact, I was about a mile away. The old Buick sat rusted, and exhausted; refusing to go another inch. I swore at it; as if it were the car’s fault the engine ran out of oil.

Who had time to change the oil? Not me. I was a man on a mission; slightly delayed, but still quite impressive.

With all the pride I had left, I took my nine from under the seat, and tucked it securely into my belt, and then began to walk down the deserted highway.

Before long I started to swelter. The mid-day sun beat down upon me; the only sounds were that of the squealing birds circling ahead; waiting for my demise.

“Not today birds. I can see the horizon. The city lies before me. I will survive.”

They ignored me, but that was fine. I didn’t have time for their nonsense. If I was to get to the city plaza before three o’clock, I would have to ignore the voices of the nay-sayers and muster on.

She would be waiting for me there. I had planned on demonstrating my clean, well-groomed, manly physique, but I’m afraid by the time I get there, I will not be as illustrious as I had hoped.

Not that I needed to impress her. She was planning on double-crossing me anyway. I just know it. She talked so sweet on the phone. “You are not going to want to resist this offer.” She had said.

But I had no choice. If she had the information proving that Jackson embezzled my father’s fortune, I could take that information to the police. My father would get his money back, and I could go back to the luxurious life I had become accustomed. It was worth getting my hands dirty, even if it meant killing her enemy in cold blood.

She sat there on a bench by the concrete statue, legs crossed, and her gaze off to the distance. She looked like a model who was posing for a magazine cover. But I knew better. She was dangerous. Just meeting her here I was risking my life.

“Quincy, I have been waiting for you. I don’t have much time. You need to put these papers back where they belong. If you can’t do it right, I’ll find someone who can.”

Quincy was jolted from his thoughts.

He suddenly realized where he was. He looked around to find the pile of folders that Nancy had placed in front of him. A sad disappointment washed over him.

Quincy sighed. At least he was still able to dream. They couldn’t take that away from him.


Imgur


More post from @simgirl
Weekend Freewrite #6
Weekend Freewrite #6 Single Prompt Option
Constrained Writing Contest #9 The Watch
Day 56 : 5 Minute Freewrite- The Pelicans
25 December 2050- Entry for Future Chronicles
The Elf That Would Not Help- The Power of Positivity

Simgirlbanner Made by @son-of-satire

wit-list-trans

hr2

pal-sig-anim-trans

hr2

TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

Imgur

Imgur
SP banner thanks to @dksart

Sort:  

Thanks to @chiefmappster, this post was resteemed and highlighted in today's edition of The Daily Sneak.

Thank you for your efforts to create quality content!

I think those papers are tainted with poison, she is trying to kill him ;p

It's always a trap!!! :D Thanks for reading!

Very nice job here. ❤ it!
This post has been deemed resteem & upvote worthy by your friendly @eastcoaststeem ran by @chelsea88 (not a bot)

Thank you!!

Cool story. Upvoted and following.

Well what can I say? I'm a sucker for your stories. :p
I'll just stop there before compliments spiral out of control. :P

Thank you very much for your entry!

Loved it by the way ;D

Thank you!!! Always fun to do the constrained writing!

Woooooooooooooo

GREAT GREAT story! YOU win! :D

Thank You!!!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Simgirl from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations @simgirl! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @simgirl! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67044.89
ETH 3251.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64