[Heroes of the Storm] Smurfin' USA #9

in #dlive6 years ago

Thumbnail

Smurfin' USA Episode #8

Due to the current free hero rotation, I have enough heroes on level 5 to be able to play RANKED!
I got placed in platinum 2 league... :-/
I started yesterday's stream with a solid 4-0 in hero league placement matches. After that my teammates just got worse and worse and it turned into a clown fiesta. 6 wins, 4 losses. Could have been 10-0. Whatever, back to quickmatch until next season or so ;-)
Like I always say:

Bronze = Master. There are bad players in every ELO. If you wanna play really competitively, you have to find a solid team to train and play with.
@spreadfire1

If YOU are playing Heroes of the Storm on the US Server and you would like to get carried - let me know in the chat and we can play together.

Previous Episodes: #1, #2, #3, #4, #5, #6, #7, #8

I'm from Austria, so I usually play on European servers.

In online gaming, a smurf is an experienced player who uses a new account to deceive other players into thinking he's a noob (newbie). The purpose is usually to play against less skilled opponents who will under-estimate the 'smurf'. The expected result is that the smurf will pwn (dominate) his opponents and humiliate them further as they have been now beaten by an apparent noob.
Urban Dictionary: smurf

Quickmatch and Brawl for now

My US account level is quite low, I don't own enough heroes to play ranked mode yet. So I'll level up some heroes to level 5 and do quests to earn enough gold that eventually I'll be able to afford them.

My Experience

What I experienced so far was a Blizzard matchmaking system desperately trying to make sense of what was going on and balancing out the matches to the best of its abilities.

I got matched with some similarly new accounts in both my and the opponents' team. The skill gap was quite high, as there were some really new players on both sides, and some more experienced players with fresh accounts, like me.

Region

Preferred Game Server setting was Best Match. Strangely enough, that resulted in me playing on the Western United States server with a ping of around but below 200 milliseconds, that means borderline playable.
After I switched to Central United States instead of Best Match, I had between 120 and 160 ms ping. Better, but not perfect. Of course the higher ping is a disadvantage, but one that I expected and I have to deal with.

Highlights / Best Of

I'll create Highlight Videos of some of my clipworthy scenes - high skill plays or just funny stuff - in the near future.
So stick around, hit that follow button and look forward to it. :-)

Parlez-vous français?

I got paired with @naruitchi for the DUnite Buddy Challenge #2.
If you're looking for a French-speaking streamer and community, check out his stream. He mostly plays WoW, HotS and Hearthstone.

Thanks again to @dunite for your great dunite.tools!


Related articles:

11.03.2018Tutorial
thumbnail OBS Screenshot Finished.pngHow to: Use your Android mobile device as streaming camera with OBS
13.03.2018#introduceyourself article
thumb LAN Party 2001.pngspreading the fire
28.04.2018Tutorial
thumb restream flowchart.pngHow To: Live-Stream To Multiple Platforms Simultaneously. OBS to nginx to DLive, Restream, Twitch, YouTube
10.05.2018Heroes of the Storm DLive Video
fenix penta kill thumb.pngHighlight Clip: Epic Fenix Penta Kill! Fenix Level 5 Plays

Help me out using these referral links

  • busy.org - the largest and most feature-rich alternative to Steemit
  • Get more followers with SteemEngine

My videos and live streams

dlive-spreadfire1-btn.pngtwitch-spreadfire1-btn.pngyoutube-spreadfire-btn.png

Follow me to stay up to date!


My latest top articles:

04.05.2018Philosophy / Overview
thumbnail small.pngFor Content Lovers: Quote Collection & Overview of my best articles
31.05.2018Philosophy / Story
stag beetle in hallway on its back closeup macro thumbnail.pngI left her to die
06.06.2018Hearthstone & Heroes DLive Stream
tuesday rank 3 buddy thumb small.pngRoad to Legend and DUnite Buddy Challenge
13.06.2018Hearthstone DLive Stream
spreadfire1 LEGEND once more june 13th 2018 thumb small.pngRoad to Legend. Rank 2 going Up or Down?

My live stream is at DLive

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28