spreading the firesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Hi, I'm Jeremias :-)

33 years old from Austria.
I still use my first gaming nickname spreadfire from Counter-Strike 1.0 times. I was very proud to come up with it as it had many different and deep meanings ;-)
That was about 17 years ago, when I first really got into competitive multiplayer games and LAN parties.

LAN Party 2001.JPG
I'm in the middle. One of our first private LAN parties in a friend's basement. You can tell it's in Austria by the skis in the background ;-)

I'll keep the rest short and leave it for autobiographical stories I plan to post from time to time.

Winning or losing, I loved competing with my brothers since I was little.
That translated over to all aspects of life, including eSports (a term that didn't even exist back then).

The games I was most successful in were Counter-Strike: Source and Defense of the Ancients (DotA). I won some LAN party tournaments, played ESL Pro Series and ranked high in every league I participated in.

When looking at it on a global scale, only a few players could live off of gaming and even fewer earned more than on an average day job. eSports earnings history
There was no big industry behind my hobby. The little sponsorship money did not justify the hours put into it, let alone giving up a career, education or day job for it.
But I would have had to give up all that to improve my skills enough to be able to compete with the world's best.

So at one point in my life I decided not to pursue higher goals in eSports anymore and turned down a notch, just playing with friends for fun.
That lead to a happier and healthier life in general. I had more time for friends, social interactions (outside the gaming community, in real life) and started doing more (real) sports again.
Looking back, I ask myself sometimes, what could have been. Just out of curiosity, never regretting the paths I took, which lead me to the point where I am today. Ending that thought by realizing that there are more important things in life than money and fame.

I currently play Hearthstone and Heroes of the Storm casually, but still profit from my eSports experience and can rank high with relatively little time investment.

Thanks for reading so far :-)
This was a short overview about my gaming background. More stories are about to come in the future.


Content to expect:


dlive.io/@spreadfire1

I'm not really active there, but if you wanna check out my old content:
twitch.tv/spreadfire1
youtube.com/spreadfire

Get more followers with SteemEngine


My top articles:

Photography / Story

thumbnail dandelion quality.jpg Enjoying and appreciating the little things / Slowing Down

Tutorial

thumbnail OBS Screenshot Finished.png How to: Use your Android mobile device as streaming camera with OBS

Sort:  

Welcome to join Enjoy Steemit

This comment has received a 0.05 % upvote from @speedvoter thanks to: @limbba.

love cs !

me too! the older I get, the slower my reaction time gets though ;)

I use to play game..i mean I kinda still do...but I use to go hard back in the days...tbut the gamers now are off the hook

@fingersik thanks for the resteem and upvotes, very generous of you! :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57369.97
ETH 2943.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63