Update on the #discussion tag

in #discussion7 years ago

In Hey Steemains - Let's start a #discussion! I proposed that we try to grow the #discussion tag by creating posts that spark engaging conversation, and encouraging users to participate in the discussions. So far, it has been a huge success!

  • There are currently over 120 active #discussion posts!
  • At least 30 of the posts are making more than $5!
  • Tons of comments are making more than $1 in payout!

There have been many great discussion posts, but this one from @whatsup was my favorite! Users were asked to share memories about their first car. It was great driving down memory lane, and learning more about my fellow Steemians :)

Here are a few of the great #discussion posts that are currently open. I highly encourage you all to check out the posts and participate in the discussions! Don't forget to upvote comments that you read which are adding value to the discussion.

As I said in the original post: This is a grassroots effort. We will start small, and will hopefully draw in more people. I am impressed with how fast the movement is growing. Let's keep it going!

For those creating #discussion posts, here is a snip-it that you can add to the bottom of your posts. Feel free to tweak it however you want.

## This is a #discussion post!
A #discussion post is intended to spark an engaging conversation with the community. Everyone is encouraged to participate in the discussion below with thoughtful comments! Remember to upvote the comments that are adding value to the discussion. You can read more about the #discussion tag here: <a href="/discussion/@timcliff/hey-steemains-let-s-start-a-discussion">Hey Steemains - Let's start a #discussion!</a> 

If you copy and paste the snip-it above, it will look like this:

This is a #discussion post!

A #discussion post is intended to spark an engaging conversation with the community. Everyone is encouraged to participate in the discussion below with thoughtful comments! Remember to upvote the comments that are adding value to the discussion. You can read more about the #discussion tag here: Hey Steemains - Let's start a #discussion!


Thanks to everybody who has been participating! This is going great =)

Let's continue with the lively discussions!

Sort:  

Everything which get started begin small...but soon will be very big man! I love this #discussion tag and will be doing a post on it soon!
Cheers

Hello @timcliff, just slightly off topic here. When I first viewed this page a few minutes ago, it had 145 views. Prior to starting this entry I reloaded the page 5 times, and the view went to 150. Oh and please note I always open in a new window. When I finish this post I will reload the page 10 time raising its views to 160 for illustration purposes. it seem that during the last minor upgrade some calculation went awry. Re-loaded pages neve used to add to the view count, at least not when i would look at mine they never did, now they do. I do not know if this is a significant, (I doubt it), but it is still an error that may need to be looked into. I tried leaving a message on the steemdev chat site also.

Thanks for the report. I forwarded it to the dev team.

Thank you very much for bringing it up

Hi @timcliff, The most engaging posts at Steemit are those whose author incentivize their readers mostly through upvotes. I can quote couple of examples here. What's your take on it? #discussion

I try to reward quality comments to my posts with upvotes. I think it is a great way to incentivize participation :)

That's true. What could be some other ways to incentivize readers to get more engagement.

About a month ago timcliff shared his post's revenues with contributing readers.

This comment has received a 27.27 % upvote from @upgoater thanks to: @stimialiti.

Great idea. Is there any requirements in the questions and length of the content? Etc? Thanks

No. I posted some guidelines in the original post, but there aren't really any requirements.

Thank you! Would definitely follow up. Best

Good idea! Have to think of a good subject :)

You don't have to in order to participate. There are tons of great discussion posts already created that you can join :)

Cheers :)! Lets make the comment-sections one big party xD

It is a wonderful idea. I hope it gets to the height you intend for it but many I've noticed don't engage in discussions here. They prefer it on discord or steemchat. Well, it's a worth it. To join a discussion, here I go.

I loved this idea even before you featured my post! Thanks for continuing to push the idea. Thanks for the mention also. I will be checking out the other posts mentioned.

If I am confuse to something like new coins or other ICO i think this is the right place for me to ask some question.

It seems like a good topic to create a #discussion about.

Yes sir... absolutely true!

Yup, this thing is going in the right direction, I guess the discussion tag would come in top ten very soon.
Just posted my second post on discussion an hour ago!
Keep discussing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66263.69
ETH 3419.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63