Reduce Your Self Upvotes and Receive more Upvotes

in #discussion7 years ago

The self upvote is so controversial.

Some people are saying that is ok to upvote yourself and reward your self because you invested your money or time here and you are free to do with it what you want.

Othere people are against upvoting yourself because they think that is bad for the website and that if you upvote yourself so you content is not that good.

But let's talk about facts, I love facts and I am investigating on that.

Look at me I wasnt upvoting a lot in 200 days on steemit, I upvoted my self 43% and the other almost 60% I upvoted people and I was earning cents from my posts :


steemreports.com

So I tried to upvote my self much less and I still earn cents, look at this chart of upvoting my self in 15 days, I reduce it to 25% :


steemreports.com

But nothing is changing, I still earn cents from my posts and the only post that I have about $14, I bought upvote there but it's an other story.

Do you agree with my that if we don't upvote ourself we will earn more ?

I see that I am earning even less, so why we are all here on steemit ? Just for fun ?

The funny thing that most people that are against the self upvote don't earn a lot. But people that earn a lot support it. ☺

Join the chat Connecting Steemians let's grow together !


You can also use my group to grow on steemit : ↕ Resteem to steemit


There is also this amazing website where you can find more followers and get more upvotes : steemfollower.com


Keep following @clixmoney for more thoughts !

Sort:  

When posting, the default setting in Steemit is with a self-upvote. If steemit built it that way, there is likely a reason to do it.

I don't mess with that default. I tried removing it, and there was little difference.

Now, on Steemit, we are all like people working for tips only. Some people get more than others because they work the crowd better. People also like light and fluffy 'feel good' stuff more than intelligent, thoughtful stuff. Steemit is social media, not a think tank. That is the nature of the beast. People who downvote others (and someone actually posted that downvoters should be rewarded for downvoting!) just because they earn more, or used a self upvote are just jealous joes.

Please note: I upvote comments by others, but not my own. I don't see any reason to upvote my own comments. Some people don't even bother to upvote your comments when replying, even when they like them, which is just as stingy in its own way.

Very well said. I agree with your comment 100%, especially about this being a social media platform and how certain people know how to "work the masses.

But most of us are here to earn, most of us are investors and if we spend money or time we need return.

If we don't get that return from whales, we don't need that little money, it will not even pay our bills. Even will not get our investment back, I know people that invested thousands of dollars but still earn cents, they being told that if they invest they will earn a lot but it's not the case. I know people that even invested all their money !

You see, here is a new problem - one that has already come up in other posts: people invest, and then people get down-voted by others for stupid reasons, and end up earning nothing. Sometimes they get down-voted by whales who want minnows to remain minnows, and end up having their reputations drop to zero, or even minus zero.

Who will invest in the platform when they can't earn it back, when they are constantly threatened by down-voters who are envious of their payout, or want to keep them tiny? No one will. I won't. I refuse to. It's too big a risk. You are better off playing the lottery. Your chances of getting something back, and not have it taken away from you, are much better there.

you see so the long term here is very ricky !

I have not invested a single penny personally. All my earnings come from sbd and rewards.

can you tell me about your strategy, I am commenting, I am posting everyday, is there soemthing I am missing to make at least a few steem dollars from my posts ?

I am fortunate that I don't work outside the home, so I am able to dedicate many hours to steemit. I start working on it around 6am every day (except Sunday) ad work until 4pm. I treat it as a regular full time job.

I assist @qurator and do seven newsletters a week, which opens me up to hundreds of posts and members I'd never see otherwise. I constantly comment. I think I average 2 dozen a day. I never just say the "good post" crud. I give thought filled, open-ended comments.

I am someone who will comment and reply back and forth for days. I love to interact with people.

I am HEAVILY involved in about 8 different Discord groups- and this has helped immensely also.

I think most of my headway has been achieved by my comments. I get more recognition from my comments than most of my posts; but I do still post at least once per day; sometimes as many as four. It just depends on my other steemit and discord tasks.

When I am commenting, I will scroll through ALL the previous comments, sometimes comment on someone's reply. I will find new people to follow through these too. I am opening up a whole new steemit world for myself.

I did a couple of posts recently about my steemit daily schedule and how I treat steemit as a business; not just a writing and blogging platform.

That's about it in a nutshell

very good tips thanks, please tell me about this @qurator we have just to send him 2 steem dollar and he will always upvote us or what ?

YES you get one UPvote pet 24 hours plus the over 300 active members who may visit your post.
We do two weekly contests; one for photos and one for food. Every day I do the daily newsletter that features 5 members, which also brings people to your post.
The payment is a one-time fee and you get tons of support.

how those 300 cant visit my page ? he do resteem everyday for our posts ?

I like the idea of measuring it. Maybe if a few of us stop upvoting ourselves today for 14 days. Take a measure today of the curation and author income and then again in 7 and 14 days to see if there is an impact on earnings.

The other question you need to ask yourself do you check if someone has upvoted themselves before you up vote them (or do other people do this. This may impact earnings, which is an big reason we are all here :)

yes I check that, but there is people that upvote with 10% or even 1% from their voting power that worth a cent while my upvoting is 3 cents and I can't choose % because I don't have yet 500 steem power. Why I have to give someone more if he gave me less.

the other thing sometimes I have till 20 upvotes or more and they all together worth 0 or cents, or even if they worth something I can't upvote all of them, and we don't have so much time to do that all the day, are we investors or running after cents ?

So that brings into question of do you only UPvote those that are of lesser reputation or voting power or do you give what your power allows hoping another member with higher power will UPvote you?

of course I help others, check this post and you will understand : Supporting people with low reputation is much better than support whales

I also have a group where I upvote a lot of people just for sharing there their posts, I do enough for the community with my funny 260 steme power !

I'm the same way. I comment, resteem and UPvote more than I actually post. Group as in discord?

no a group in facebook, people there post if they resteem someone, I am moderating it a few months, not a lot of people know about it but I am stcrict I let people post there just if they resteem someone, this is the main rule and I think resteem is important , here is the link to the group : ↕ Resteem to steemit

A lot of people don't like to follow the rules but this is my idea, I check if that person resteemed someone from the group or not and then I approve his post, it's also take a time to do, when there are a lot of people want to post there I spend sometimes about an hour cheching that, you see I spend time for steemit and I need to be rewarded for that.

Upvoting yourself? What a bizarre concept. I thought I'd seen a few people do it and wondered why they'd done it.

It sounds like pure vanity to upvote yourself. So, it pays off in the long term or not (ideally)? I don't want to have to go round upvoting everything I've posted. :-/

what if you invested let's say $10,000 buying steem power, will you upvote yourself to recieve that dollar everyday or a few dollars per day if you write a few posts ? what is the motivation to invest here so ? but people who invested they upvote themselfs believe me !

I invested my own money here.. I UV my own posts

@davedickeyyall I respect your choice !

my upvote worth about $0.03, it's nothing comparing it with people that have upvotes of $10 and $100 and even more, your upvote now is 0 or 0.01 and it grow when you will have more steem power, so you just have to know how steemit really works to understand upvote your self or not. I am on steemit more than 6 months and I know what I am talking about.

i didnt come to steemit to make money. i came for the fun and meeting new people like @goldendawne :) any profit ive made thus far gets immediately returned as steem for up voting others.

the reason is different, some people came here to make money not to waste time, if talking about social networks there are a lot of them on the web there much better and much popular, I am sure that most people here are for money !

im just here for fun. i dont believe any real money can be made here or by adsense programs like google has. besides im already financially set anyway.

we can made real money here and you have to believe in it, steem dollar now costs more than $7 and imagine you recieve just 10 steem dollar from your post, that's mean $70 !

$70 is not money from one post ? or some people can earn it even from one comment !

some of my posts make over $100 but i just buy steem with it and use to upvote others. im not here for money. i have plenty.

you see, 100 dollars from post, but I make cents always, can you tell me the secret, I upvote also others and I helped a lot of people on steemit show the how to start, and I am advertising steemit everywhere this why I have almost 2000 followers, but most of them are new people, I also have this group and I upvote everyone there who follow the rules : ↕ Resteem to steemit.

I am moderating the group a few months, removing from there spammers and checking new posts if the authors resteemed others from the group because the main rule to post in the group is to resteem someone from the group.

I really work hard and I deserve some respect I think !

all i do is explain things in detail and use pictures to go with each detail. ive found videos are not the best thing here. keep sentences short with a relevant picture. find the balance point between words and visuals.... then it is all about tagging it right which is still hit or miss with me.

I, too, UPvoted myself for awhile and recently stopped. I prefer commenting on others posts and having interaction, plus I make new contacts that I may have never known before.

A difference in my comments rewards? Maybe a slight lower amount. But that's really ok. I'd rather forego the sbd or pay out now while I'm still building my platform then later when I'm more established.

so let's suppose that you will have a lot of steem power, let's say about $10,000 and your upvote will be $1 or more, will you upvote your self then ?

No, I wouldn't.
I honestly don't have a legitimate reason as to why, but I'm on steemit long term; so I guess why self UPvote when I can continue writing and blogging, gaining more followers and increasing my reputation.

Up until last week I did UPvote. I stopped and need to see how I can succeed and advance without the self UPvote.

I have no problem with people who do UPvote. I'm indifferent in the "battle of self UPvoting ".

but people are different, maybe some of them can afford to be in the long term game and they have enough money in life to do it and don't care about steemit, but some people when they earn that dollar for them it's like heaven it made their day, some people here don't have that big money to invest and they are making their best to earn something right now and transform that to real money to eat !

if you need money to eat you may need to rethink your choices for income...

I like cryptocurrency and I am sure that is going to be huge, I am talking about people that live in very poor countries like in Africa where 1 dollar is a lot of money, I am living in Russia, I can buy 2 bread with one dollar here, it's nothing.

I am working as a tutor, I teach Arabic online to Russian people and I have 3 youtube channels, steemit is not my only encome, + I trade bitcoin and other currencies, of course I am not eating from steemit, I want to make good money from steemit !

well wish you luck. if you can make good money then awesome. i hope my upvotes have helped you out some.

i prefer to upvote people like you :) @goldendawne

Thank you! You are an awesome person to have in our group and community- full of knowledge wealth and you have that go-get-em mentality!

I upvote myself after 4 days..

it's good, can I know why you choosed exactly 4 days ?

Because I don't figure I'll be getting any more UV after that... I feel self UV from the start rips off everyone else's chance to curate.. 4 days because that gives me time to vote before payout... I'm a stoner... sometimes I forget.. plus I only UV my own stiff of I feel it is worth it..

That's how I use it. If I post, then find typos and edit, proofread, edit again, and after a few days I feel proud of it, I give myself a thumbs up. If you don't like your own work, then why should others?

very good point of view.

I find it strange that self upvoting is so controversial when there is a self upvote button built into the post platform. It's a tragedy of the commons type situation. If you don't upvote yourself, you lower your chances of getting recognized in the sea of spam.

exactly, if something exist we have to use it, finally one of ten is agree with me, I am glad that I am not the only one fighting for this. ☺

i don't really care if people up vote their own blogs but when they up vote their own comment it bothers me UNLESS they do it because they received an unwarranted down vote on it. for example @thediyworld automatically down votes my comments irregardless of where he finds them or what the comment is about. so when he does that to me i counter it by up voting my comment he down voted.

on the other hand what i feel is not how things should be is when someone creates several FREE accounts and uses them to only up vote their own multiple accounts. again for example @thediyworld he has 4+ free accounts so far and uses them to up vote each other and then down vote everyone else.

there is definitely a real abuse of voting and flagging going on.

I tend to up vote as many comments from other people that i can who reply to my blogs and comments.

I am not talking about people that upvote themselfs from other accounts that they own, I meant the same account, but I still don't understand why people don't like when someone upvote himself, it's his account, it's his steem power, it's his choice to do what he want, especially if steemit team made that option so why we can't use it !

upvote your own blog is fine with me. its abuse of downvotes i dont like.

Yeah, I have seen that from him towards you. Never understood his thinking; just a personal vendetta I suppose.

he has tried for years to destroy my youtube channels and profit off the drama he builds because of it.

ahh, got it. I steer clear of drama.. and him for quite some time. I don't have time nor patience for things of that nature in my hectic life

lol nobody does ;)

I think it's fine to upvote your own posts, but there is a lot of people who hates people that upvotes their own comments. There are even a few bots that flags comments with selfvotes, so be careful about doing this, even if your comment is really good!

Anyway, I don't think you will earn any more money by not upvoting your own posts. I don't really see how that can affect your posts in any positive manner at all to be honest.

about bots you make me afraid to upvote my comments, by about posts as soon I earn cents from every posts I will upvote my posts to help my self, but when i will recieve dollars I will stop doing that, it's hard to be here more than 6 months posting almost everyday and recieving those cents

Yeah, that's why many people have mixed feelings about those bots. I think the biggest one had a limit before it started flagging. I think it was selfvoters with 500+SP that got flagged, but I'm not 100 % sure.

I'm sorry I made you afraid, but I think it's better to be aware of these things than to make mistakes here :) I'm not even sure if the bot is operating anymore, so you're going to have to check that out yourself.

Unless you join in on the stinc cj you got pennies coming, only those willing to sell their souls need apply, imo.

what is the stinc cj ?

Steemit circle jerk.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 55255.10
ETH 2314.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33