My Life in Digital Era

in #diary6 years ago

ki-a4fc35e86226ab8a62b1e49a5ce9728c.jpg

Since elementary school my interest in technology has been very high, starting when I visited my father's office, then lent a computer. When I was still using Windows XP as the operating system, the application I most often opened was paint, because it was very suitable for my drawing hobby. And the results of my work are more interesting, especially after printing, I immediately secured and taken home to be posted on the study desk. Even until the next few years I continued to explore computers, until the time I entered Vocational School, and my choice was also majoring in TKJ (Computer and Network Engineering). Since the focus on studying in this field, my love for technology is getting bigger.

College Time

When I was a student, in 2011 at one of the campuses in DI Yogyakarta, I also changed direction, from the world of networking to the world of programming. It turned out to be more fun, even my habit of playing games was lost, and replaced by coding, even I could code for hours. And I really feel that what I learned at that time was very appropriate, because indeed this is the era of the digital era. Where almost all existing problems can be solved with the help of technology.

When I was a student, I was living alone and far from my parents for the first time. These are times when someone has to keep his expenses in order to survive every day. Sometimes extra income is also needed because there are other needs outside of primary needs or can also be used for hobbies and others.

Until I found a solution, namely by participating in various competitions on the internet. Of the many categories of competition that are there, the ones I most often follow are blog competitions, writing competitions, and hackathon. There are not many sources that I can get at that time, most of them come from Facebook, Twitter, and sometimes searching on Google. Very proud when winning the race, and motivating to fight harder in the next race. The first competition I won through an online competition, was held by my own campus, which is a writing competition with the theme of Android, and uploaded in PDF form, the gift was indeed only hundreds of thousands of rupiah, but very satisfying for a student. I also went on to other online competitions, and I also got a few wins from these competitions.

Apart from in the form of money, there are several prizes in the form of goods. This made my friends ask, "where do you buy? How much money?" . Until I explained this was a prize from the competition. These events often occur, many also ask to share the competition link that I am currently participating in. Until I decided to create a blog containing competition info that I was looking for from the internet. Starting from Blogger, then replace it with the domain https://kompetisiindonesia.com; which I bought from Domainesia. and for the next few years, with the programming skills I have, I built the competition website myself, and bought a new domain at Domainesia to https://kompetisi.id. Domainesia is my first option when I have to buy a domain, because of competitive prices and highly responsive service contacts. The more time goes by, the more visitors, the more features that are presented, and the more suitable the main needs of participating in online competitions through the website, and hopefully the target to enliven the spirit of competition in Indonesia will continue to survive.

Multiple Choice Apps

At present 2018, I have graduated from college and work in one of the startups in DI Yogyakarta. There is a lot of digital age that really helps my life and career. The one I use most often is Google Calendar.

Through this application, we can manage events better, one of the things that feels is when invited by friends, I make sure not to immediately say "yes", first check the agenda in Calendar, and decide whether to attend or not. And the collaboration feature makes it easier for me and my friends when they want to hold an event, can be a meeting, take a walk and so on, just one calendar and invite friends, then everyone will get the event's notification. The other cool thing is from Google Calender, because it can automatically sync with the calendar on the smartphone or on the macbook that I use everyday, quite practical, one input then the other will be updated automatically.

Notes are something important, especially when meeting, now there is no need to bring books. Just keep the smartphone open apps.

There are so many note applications out there, but I recommend the application note that supports sync to the cloud, and can be easily for collaboration or various with friends. I have several application note entries, it can be Google Keep, Evernote or Dropbox paper. These three apps, the UI is quite concise, its features are also suitable as a function for storing notes.

Because working as a software engineer, it made me more aware to give appreciation to the software on the market. No more plowing activities that I did, even when I was in college, I used Google Docs to write my thesis, besides being cheap, the features were also not inferior to Microsoft Office, and had its own advantages, because they were stored in the cloud, so they could save storage space . And Google Drive also supports offline, so if you don't access the internet, there's no need to find a connection. Return to topic. One application that I bought and I recommend, the name is "Money Lover", just Rp. 90,000, - valid for a lifetime, this is an application to record expenses and income. Very suitable for me as an employee this is very important, so it does not happen like the saying "Big Pegs Instead of Poles".

The advantage of this premium version is that users can upload photos in the income / expense record, I often upload menus / receipts here, no ads / advertisements, and allow to transfer Excel or CSV format. I also can easily see statistics on expenditure and income each month, and can be used as a reference for the budget that will be issued next month.

There are still many other applications that I want to share here, even everything can be seen on my smartphone, but let's move to another topic.

Make More Connected with Others

Social media is one of the trends in this digital era, making me able to connect with old friends, and people who share the same interests. The thing that I enjoy the most is being part of an online community that contains people who have the same interests. It's nice to be able to discuss things that we really like. The internet allows unlimited location relationships in this online community, sometimes if I want entertainment I stop by here. Some communities follow like a road bike community, because I am also a road cyclist, then there is an audio community, this community often makes my expenses swollen, and much more. There is one social media that really motivates me to exercise, its name is Endomondo, records its exercise activities, and can make the challenge, with a count of wasted calories will be a point. The more calories you waste, the more points you get.

Incidentally my office held an internal competition, which only my office employees could participate in. Held 6 months, and champions 1 - 2 will get attractive prizes, and the top 20 will get the event t-shirts. The aim is for employees to be more active in doing sports, because it can be said to be almost 8 hours a day, Monday - Friday just sitting and in front of the monitor. Initially I thought there would not be many participants who were interested in taking part in this sport competition. But waw, the timeline is crazy since the first few weeks, there are those who ride for miles, run, walk, swim, relax, and so on.

The timeline was really motivating, at first I only filled out regular sports activities like basketball once a week, walking every time after prayer only. Until the last 2 months before this competition ended I decided to buy a roadbike, actually I had planned it since 1 year ago, but it was always delayed, and this was the right moment. Usually every day at 4:30 a.m. after prayer, I start cycling. My target is at least 10Km / day. But if weekend can be 3-4 times further, and climb to Jalan Kaliurang DIY, along with other bicycle lovers.

Increase in Popularity

The digital world has many ways to gain popularity quickly, it can be through viral posting, achievements, news and so on. I really like taking part in online competitions, or anything that has a ranking system. Because my work is related to the world of software engineering, I join with one of the forums called Stack Overflow, a question and answer forum about programming. I am looking for some questions that if I can answer, and if I get a green check from the questioner or get a good rating, it will bring me a big score. When I made this article, I have pocketed 1557 points, and can be visited at https://stackoverflow.com/users/2780875/yussan.

The score motivates to continue to answer a number of questions on StackOverflow and help other engineer friends who need help. Another advantage for me is, I can use my profile reference to be included as my CV. Actually there are a number of other ranking platforms that still make me enthusiastic to keep following them like Pokemon Go and Kaskus.

Digital Hobby

Going back to hobbies, the digital era will certainly present a number of digital hobbies too. I also combined my abilities in the field of web engineers and writing, to create several blogs that use homemade systems. Currently there are only 2 blogs that I have released, and both of them use 1 system that the blog that I built myself uses Node JS, VueJS and MongoDB as corenya. Both can be visited at https://oopsreview.com and https://academy.idmore.com.

As usual, when I definitely have only 1 option to buy a domain, and it falls into Domainesia. Actually I have bought several other domains in Domainesia, but I have not had the chance to release them. Besides my main work and freelance, I definitely take the time to tweeking and coding some new features for the system to be better and better going forward.

Maybe for those of you who want to focus on writing, here are tips for How to create a blog that does not need to create a platform / blog starting from 0. Domainesia has many features that allow users, both newbie and expert scales to make the web and other similar things more easy and in accordance with expectations.

Clossing

Actually I still have a lot to say about life in this digital era, especially my version. But at least with some of the writings above, it can inspire anyone and can solve various problems that exist.

The main purpose of using digital devices is to facilitate human work, which before entering the digital era a job can be completed for a long time, but since switching to digital, the work has been completed more quickly effectively and efficiently.

The most visible thing now is the use of smartphones, just one of these devices, all activities that were done with lots of things can be done, such as scribbling on the calendar, taking notes, playing music, entertainment media, high-speed browsing, gaming, and still much more.

But usually new things, can only bring new problems, such as people who become smartphone addicts, everywhere brought even to the toilet, even when gathering with friends, more focused on smartphones. Hopefully we will be kept away from such things.

This digital age hopefully will be more successful and have a positive impact on all aspects, as well as the problems of the old or new can be overcome.

Ref : https://kompetisi.id/news/TlRNPQ/Kehidupan-Saya-di-Era-Digital

Sort:  

std::cout << "Hello, Yussan!";

I just checked your post and was wondering whether we share some similar tools. I gotta say, we do! Great work on collecting those Stack points. As you pointed out, you never know when they might come in handy while looking for the job!

I just shared your post in Pay it forward curation league, hopefully you'll get some extra upvotes!
My post

I just shared your post in Pay it forward curation league, hopefully you'll get some extra upvotes!

Done ;-)

Awesome post btw (y)

Very nice and honest blog. Congratulations. I'm a Software Developer as well so I can relate to much of what you write.

I prefer to use Money Tracker as an expenses tracking. I think it's the best app out there for this.

Keep up with the good work.

PS: I have found your post because @matkodurko featured it in the Pay It Forward Contest

Impressive article. Thanks for sharing your digital life with us.

I found this post thanks to @matkodurko who featured you in this week's Pay it Forward Curation Contest. Keep up the great work!

Congratulations @yussan! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 50 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Meet the Steemians Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes
Meet the Steemians Contest - Special attendees revealed
Meet the Steemians Contest - Intermediate results

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @yussan! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @yussan! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61038.71
ETH 3404.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50