Season of Crimson Blossoms - April 1|Day #1 - Diary of The Struggling Writer from Ife

in #diary6 years ago

IMG_20180331_202354_033.jpg

Dear Diary

You do not have to forgive me, for I’ve haven’t sinned against you yet. Rather, I have been busy pursuing money, so busy, so engrossed that I didn’t know I had left my soul behind. I am like a mother that runs to catch the morning bus and leaves her suckling child at the bus-stop. But now, I am back.

It took the falling price of SBD and Steem to wash the scales off my face. Looking back, I look at those times when I wrote, not because I enjoyed it, but because I wanted the money. For that reason, I was less than what I could be. I was like an eagle who, in whose search for daily meals, began to roam just above the ground. The eagle will always find meals. The eagle will never live to its full potential. The eagle will never find fulfilment.

It has been around three months since I became active on Steemit. During that period, almost everything else in my life was on hold. Steemit reigned supreme. I still struggle to hold myself from checking my blog every-time I set my eyes on my phone. It is becoming an addiction. A harmful addiction. It is harmful because it keeps changing me. Now, I am gradually becoming a sycophant, a sucker for money, always in the search for new ways to make more money. In my pursuit for the golden egg, I ignored the goose.

I am a writer. Strangely, I find it hard to defend that statement. But I know I am one. However, Steemit had made me a deformed writer. I am always demanding from my muse, from my mind, from my body. I tackle every writing prompt that comes my way. It is all for the money. I don’t get that much from my payouts (when you subtract the fees I pay for the daily upvotes) and so I turn to contests to meet my needs. I win a lot but I am gradually losing my soul.

I believe that the best-selling authors can mostly be found doing any of these two things: Working on their next best-seller or reading someone else’s. I have not been doing any. In the past three months, I haven’t read any novel or writing workbook. I haven’t attended a single writers’ workshop or exhibition. I have been alienated from my kind. My soul has been staving everyday for the past months.

In spite of the above, I still demand from it. And it delivers. It always delivers. But I am gradually becoming a child that demands milk from a staving and emaciated mother. The mother will always feed, until the child’s constant meals will mean the death of the mother. And then, in this case, death will call for the child too. I don’t want the writer in me to die.

Two days ago, a friend called Lake gave me a book - ’Season of Crimson Blossoms by Abubakar Adam Ibrahim’. Reading this book gives me a lot of insights, one of which I’ve always know but never paid attention to: “It is not the story; it is how you tell it.” Abubakar tells what might seem as an ordinary story with a deft pen. The choice of words, invoked imagery and writer-reader interaction is just superb. Little wonder that the book has gone on to collect several nominations and awards.

Maybe I have an inflated sense of ability but I believe I can become an award-winning writer too. I have all of the raw materials. I have the experiences to draw upon. I have a computer and internet enabled phone. I have a muse that always delivers. I only need to apply myself to the basics of writing. To feed my soul and watch it flourish. To seek the spring of ink within me and use it to paint a new world.

And that is why I took this break. To focus on myself and the things that matter. This month, I’ll reading good books, working on my magazine and removing myself from the cares and hurries of the fast-paced world. I am a writer. Watch out for me.

______________________________________________________

Daily contests

To appreciate those who come around, I am also hosting a daily contest.

@moneyinfant sent in the only valid entry yesterday so he’s automatically the winner.

Here’s how to participate

  1. Upvote and Resteem this post

  2. Write your entry in the comment section based on the prompt for the day

  3. Use the tag #myentry so I can tell entries from normal comments.

The prompt for today is: What book have you read recently and what lesson did you glean from it?

The best two entries (in my opinion) will get one (1) @steembasicincome each

Winners will be announced in the next post

Thanks for reading

Blessings

[Image Source: I took the picture with my phone and edited it]

Sort:  

Well, I'm not really a fan of books, especially motivational books. I consider myself to be the luckiest man alive, for reasons I can't place. And i feel that most motivational books teach what I already have, and with not so interesting stories too. So i tend to read fast paced thrillers, or classics. Recently, i just finished Mario Puzo's The Godfather for about the third time. What i learnt? Same as I did the first time of reading; nothing beats self confidence, nothing at all... #myentry

P. S. I was going to call you a wussy for wussing out of the contests... But... Yeah, you're a wussy... (runs away) (then comes back, whatchyagondo?)...😃😄😋😜😜

Yeah, I'm so not into motivational books. I find half of them boring while the other half just repeating the same things over and over.

I haven't read The Godfather but I have the movies. Done with part one, hoping to find time to finish part two.

Call me what you like, this guy isn't writing another story until he reconnects with his inner self. And I'm taking the entire month of April to achieve that. Plus, my magazine demands my time too

Blessings

PS: is this your entry? If yes, use the #myentry tag. Rules

I came back to re-read this post. I am a writer too. When I first got on Steemit I was amazed and enchanted: I could write and get paid for it! The buzz lasted for several weeks. Because writing has not been my full time career once I started writing here it took a while to become fluent once more. Now I enjoy, most of the time, the wonder of having words flow, sometimes even magically.

I made the decision to post at least one to two really good articles a week interspersed with "less-than" work just to keep my presence "out there". That seems to work. And now I've discovered writing is only part of the process of being successful here. Building relationships, honoring others by reading and commenting, providing what guidance I can to others less experienced all takes time. Frankly, this venture into writing has morphed into a sort of public relations/networking business. Didn't expect that to be sure but it is what it is, and the carrot of writing still dangles in front of me luring me on and sustaining my enthusiasm. Appreciate your post. Thanks. Oh and I got the basicincome too for which I am grateful. Blessings.

I've discovered writing is only part of the process of being successful here. Building relationships, honoring others by reading and commenting, providing what guidance I can to others less experienced all takes time.

Aye

You're right on that point. Steemit seems to be more of a social media site than a blogging site. It's a kinda give and take thing, which is quite natural.

Thanks for coming around once again. I'm glad you like my post.

Blessings

Hello! I find your post valuable for the art community! Thanks for the great post! ARTzone is now following you! ALWAYs follow @artzone and the artzone tag, and support our artists!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

I have to admit that, like you I haven't read much lately at all. In fact, if it isn't on my computer screen I don't think I've read at all in months. I do listen to audiobooks during my workouts though...does this count? Currently I'm listening to The Towers of Sunset by L.E. Modesitt Jr. It's fantasy, but still there are lessons to be learned, and this one, like many in this series focused on the fictional world of Candar, has as its primary lesson to know thyself. Easy to say and think about, not so very easy to do, as I'm sure you realize acutely.
#myentry

Smiles

Thanks for your entry

I think audiobooks count.

its primary lesson to know thyself.

Aye!

That's a tough one

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by IamTheGray from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations! Your post has been upvoted by Reach Out, which is proudly sponsored by @eturnerx. Our goal is to support Nigerian minnows on Steemit. Join our discord group https://discord.gg/NWAkKfn

Benefactor : @bleepcoin

Curator On Duty: @akintunde

Join the @eoscafe community [https://discord.gg/wdUnCdE] Invited By @akintunde

Presently am reading the Millionaire Fastlane written MJ Demaco, this book is awesome and am on page 25 because I read a book per week and tried as much as I can, this book 📖 crack the code of wealth and make you forget books like Rich dad Poor dad and many financial books, believe me if I tell you that just reading this book has opened and change my mind on that get old and enjoy your money but I no think of it this way, as from now henceforth am going to be living in the future, I won't wait for retirement before I start to enjoy, he highlight different ways to absorb wealth and defuse so many myth that is wrong, e.g There's nothing like Be your own boss, it's a big lie, your customer is your boss, because they dictate your cash flow and lot of things.
Many more insight lies there that am yet to uncover.

#myentry

Hi

I must admit, Rich Dad Poor Dad was great for me at some point. Especially the 'I don't work for money, money works for me thing'. But I'm over it now, thankfully

There's nothing like Be your own boss, it's a big lie, your customer is your boss, because they dictate your cash flow and lot of things.

Yeah. This is even more acute when you're a freelance writer. Your clients dictate what you like and how you write it.

Thanks for entering

Blessings

PS: You didn't resteem

Sure, I've done that just now.

I'm sorry

Published today's post already

Care to give it another try today?

I certainly can relate regarding the challenges of being sucked into the whirlpool of Steemit. My experience has been very similar. However, i've decided to give my best to Steemit. This may not mean an out-of-control addiction to it, but a regulated (I hope) commitment. As for a book. Here you are. Warm Regards.

You simply must read Musashi, by Eiji Yoshikawa. This is Japans equivalent of Gone With The Wind in the US. Kind of a national treasure for the Japanese. It is about the quest of a young man who wanted to become Japans best swordsman in the early to mid 1600's. The tale is engrossing by itself, but has as a main theme his spiritual transformation and ascendence into a realm of higher consciousness with his passion for the sword as his vehicle or catalyst. The true-to-life spectacle of Japanese culture of those times and the samurai code is fascinating. However, what I found of particular interest is one mans journey to Oneness with the Cosmos and how he, Musashi, found it in this martial art. To tell the truth the story was so compelling I literally read the last 5 pages over a dozen times, simply because my soul was captivated by the eloquence of this most remarkable book. It is not just a book, it is an epic tale that stirs the soul. #myentry.

Smiles

Steemit is not all bad. And it helps writers too. I just gave it too much at the expense of other things. Now, I'm going back to 'heal' those things. I'll be fully back and devote 'a regulated (I hope) commitment.'

The book sounds like something I'll like. Maybe I queue it after the one I'm reading. Thanks for stopping by.

Blessings

PS: You didn't resteem

Now that the Pope has said there is not hell I can say "Mia Culpa" all day long. Will resteem.

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 0.22$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59273.25
ETH 2758.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28