Suicide Prevention/Awareness Month - Part 1

in #depression6 years ago (edited)

iliqgffdw9.png
Img Source

Not sure how many may know this Septemeber is Suicide Awareness and Prevention Month.

It is a subject that come very close to home. Believe it or not, I am the one in my family with severe depression, generalized anxiety disorder, social anxiety disorder, PTSD, suicidal tendencies along with a whole list a labels that doctors have put on me. This is actually why I do my Mindfulness Monday posts mainly to keep me talking. As long as I can talk about it, not be ashamed I feel it inspires others. I know there are advertisements everywhere, 'If you are feeling this way call this number.' Sadly, the ones that are truly suicidal, don't talk to anyone. Why? As a society we have taught people that there is a negative stigma to even having a depressed thought. 'OMG what are they going to do if mention I feel like dying?' We constantly tell others that it is selfish, wrong, stupid plus many other negative connotations.

Is there right or wrong. Yes, you say or do the wrong thing your friend or family member will die. The few things I had heard when I was at my lowest, was:
"Do you realize how selfish you are being?' 'How dare you do that to us!' 'That's just plain stupid, it's just dumb to think that way.' 'All you do is think about yourself.' In fact, for someone that is suffering in this darkplace. You might as well pull the trigger. How dare you condemn someone for a feeling or thought they have? How dare you not listen and understand? How can you be so selfish as to telling me how much this is going to affect you? It's not about you, it's about how I am feeling. The worst part is that so many don't understand, is in our minds, we're taking a burden off of you. It doesn't justify anything but that is the thought process. We don't want others to worry. We don't want to be a burden of any sort. We don't want to hurt anymore. We don't want to feel useless. We don't want to feel empty. This is why I say this as much as possible. It is normal to have these thoughts. It is when you dwell, you start to damage your psyche and get locked into a train of thought. 20 % to 30 % of the time no matter what you do you can't get off that train.

I know several of you that know me thorugh Steemit know I am far from selfish. I think and support people more than I worry about myself. I really need to do a better job taking care of me. If it's possible I am a realistic idealist LOL. It's almost an oxymoron. I understand how things work. I see the big picture of the world. I understand we each have our own journeys and it is not up to anyone else to tell you how to live or that you're on the wrong path. That is the wonder of free will. In the same token, I want people to be happy as much as they can. I want people in other countries not to have to suffer due to some foolish leadership or worse. It breaks my heart to see what is going on in Venezuela. To hear from my friends in Indonesia how much a half day of my pay could do for them. Hell, how much $20.00 can help them.

Wanting to help, making others feel better and the like are actually a sign of someone with mental illness. No not everyone that feels this way has mental illness, but it is a sign none the less. If we can help someone suffer less than what we are or no matter how we are feeling. The the goal is accomplished. Yes, sometimes you do get a feeling of accomplishment. When you're in an off cycle or down moment, doing these activites occupy your mind. You don't think. You aren't you. Your mask is on. When you're done, it all comes flooding back and it is usually worse than it started.

yugpunq03s.jpg


International Suicide Hotline Numbers

National Alliance on Mental Health-NAMI



Pay It Forward Contests

Asapers.gif
ASAP'ers


[SB-Marvel-Family.gif] www.steemit.com/@steemitbloggers



3esw6fdctc.jpg
Steemitcentral


Picture_20180513_211411075.jpg
Dustsweeper



banner

CREATE YOUR OWN @REVIEWME PROFILE TO START EARNING CREDIBILITY STARS FROM THE COMMUNITY!
CREATING YOUR PROFILE IS EASY! JUST FOLLOW THE STEPS HERE ☜(ˆ▿ˆc)


Thank you for your continued support, Love

tryskele (1).gif

Sort:  

Congratulations @tryskele! This post was selected by the @steemitbloggers community as today's Rally Upvote Post :) It will also receive a complimentary upvote from @Appreciator throughout the course of the day!

You can find the community announcement on Discord :) and it has also been shared on our Steemit Bloggers FB Page and Twitter feed.

This post is sponsored by @SteemitBloggers in collaboration with @appreciator. Just keep up the good work.



This is such an important issue and needs to be discussed. Having contemplated suicide, myself, and having been diagnosed with depression and treated, I know exactly what you are talking about. What many folk don't realise, and which is also not discussed is that depression becomes a chemical and biological thing - not just for those with bipolar - so that the medication is as necessary as a course of antibiotics, especially if one is not a chronic depressive. It does help and stops the downward spiral. And yes, we do need to talk about depression, especially those of us who don't appear to suffer from it. Thank you for being so frank and all the best with your journey.

HI @fionasfavourites, most definitely.

I feel I should have done all of this last week, but I have 2 more posts along this line. They are going to feature a few groups that are overlooked. After everything, I have been through and living with this for roughly 30 years. Working with bad practitioners, that throw medicine at you rather than try to help.

10 years ago I finally found a therapist and psychiatrist that worked together to come up with my medication routine and proper form of therapy has helped immensely. I'm very glad you found value in this.

I am glad you have found a routine that works for you. I look forward to your next posts.

Hey @tryskele

How's my favourite Broncos fan? Welcome to #steemitbloggers by the way. I think you'll like it here. Lot's of very cool people to hang out with.

Cheers, Gaz

2-0 I guess I can't complain LOL. Thanks, I'm looking for the inspration and little push to be everyday consistent.

Well, you're in the right place. 😁

It takes strength to write it down and publish an article like this . Well done #steemitbloggers

Thanks @blanchy. It took a while to get to this point, thankful that I'm able to.

Indeed, you are not alone @tryskele. Thank you for being brave enough to put yourself out there. You are helping many.

Found you on #steemitbloggers

Thanks @reonlouw :) I hope I am. If someone can learn from my mistakes then it's all worth it.

I believe everyone has some level of depression/anxiety. I have thought of giving up on life once a while, but I just let the thoughts flow and try not to act on it. Some might have done the worse...

Thank you for open up and shared your experiences with us.

We all do at some point and what you did is really what we all need to do and most of us do. For some of us that thought gets started and it buries itself and does not let go. I that's one of the things I try to stress, everyone has a the thoughts come from time to time and it's normal. Those that the thoughts linger and have depression and anxiety issues, beat themselves up because overall we have been taught it is wrong to feel that way. Acceptance of any issue you are having and realizing what your reality, your normal is is what is truly important.

True, I guess we need to share more to let them know they are not alone, that might help some to open up more...

Hi @tryskele!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.671 which ranks you at #13660 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 47 places in the last three days (old rank 13707).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 516 contributions, your post is ranked at #183.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

I'm so sorry to hear about what you're going through!! I would have never thought that YOU have such health problem. But my dear you are STRONG and you'll beat all those demons!! Take care and thank you for sharing your post. I didn't know that September is Suicide Awareness and Prevention Month!

HI @delishtreats. It is in the states I don't know if it's worldwide, but no reason we can't share with everyone. I know quite a few friends are overseas, that's why I wanted to make sure I included the international link.

I have my good days and bad days. The good definitely outweigh the bad for a little while now. I know I am better equipped to cope when those moments happen. I have accepted how my life is and have worked on coping skills and put an honest effort every morning that each day is new and yesterday is yesterday.

To be honest I'm sure it's worldwide. It's just me usually missing awareness months unless they are directly related to my problems and somebody told me about them.

The skill of understanding that each day is new is what I'm absolutely missing. I'm overanalysing and I can be thinking about a discussion that hurt me for many days trying to figure out what should I have said or not. It is sometimes killing me. It can be so bad that I can cause myself a headache. I like to believe that I learned not to care what people think but at some moment this is simply not true.

I'm happy that the good days outweigh the bad days and I hope it will only get better for you!!

I have shared about this issue as well. I know for me, when I'm really struggling with depression, I don't want to talk about it because I feel like I don't have anything new to say, none of my struggles are 'new' and I feel like I'm just repeating myself OR I feel like I don't even have anything to truly complain about, so there is nothing to say other than "I feel like absolute shit for no apparent reason" and part of my depression is just wanting to hide away and not talk... which doesn't help anything.

I've lost two brothers to suicide and I don't think I could ever get to the point of being able to do that after seeing how much it devastated our families. Still, it is an issue that can only be helped by being open about our experiences. When I was younger, I thought that I was the only one who felt that way. It helps to see others share their struggles. Good post. <3

Hi @byn. Honestly when I have my really bad days, I feel exactly the same way. I don't want to be around people. I don't want to talk to anyone. Talking to people ends up being belittle or patronized and I can't stand either so at that point I would rather be alone.

To me the pain you have mentioned seems worse than mine. I haven't lost anyone thankfully. I have had relatives and people I have known commit suicide, they were 'distant' enough it wasn't much emotional turmoil. My kids are honestly why I am still here. When I hit my lowest, I could even rationalize how they would be better off without me so you know you're in a bad way. Sharing stories is probably the best way to help and help take away the stigma.

Hang in there. If you ever need to just chat please feel free to message me on Discord.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67203.60
ETH 3513.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.20