You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Suicide Prevention/Awareness Month - Part 1

in #depression6 years ago

I have shared about this issue as well. I know for me, when I'm really struggling with depression, I don't want to talk about it because I feel like I don't have anything new to say, none of my struggles are 'new' and I feel like I'm just repeating myself OR I feel like I don't even have anything to truly complain about, so there is nothing to say other than "I feel like absolute shit for no apparent reason" and part of my depression is just wanting to hide away and not talk... which doesn't help anything.

I've lost two brothers to suicide and I don't think I could ever get to the point of being able to do that after seeing how much it devastated our families. Still, it is an issue that can only be helped by being open about our experiences. When I was younger, I thought that I was the only one who felt that way. It helps to see others share their struggles. Good post. <3

Sort:  

Hi @byn. Honestly when I have my really bad days, I feel exactly the same way. I don't want to be around people. I don't want to talk to anyone. Talking to people ends up being belittle or patronized and I can't stand either so at that point I would rather be alone.

To me the pain you have mentioned seems worse than mine. I haven't lost anyone thankfully. I have had relatives and people I have known commit suicide, they were 'distant' enough it wasn't much emotional turmoil. My kids are honestly why I am still here. When I hit my lowest, I could even rationalize how they would be better off without me so you know you're in a bad way. Sharing stories is probably the best way to help and help take away the stigma.

Hang in there. If you ever need to just chat please feel free to message me on Discord.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60180.20
ETH 2604.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54