Let's Talk About It - Do Women Need Or Want a Hero?

in #debate8 years ago (edited)

Many forms of social media include discussion and debate.   I am focusing now on creating some interesting conversations.  This post is all about the comments not the votes.

I was on SteemSpeak.com the other day, and I got frustrated really quickly because someone said, "Women are looking for a Hero".   I immediately became angry at that statement.  When I thought about it further, I realized I have been married for 25 years, and I definitely consider my husband (my) a hero.  However, I hope he feels the same about me.

So what are your thoughts regarding what men and women need/want from each other.

Let's talk about it.

Sort:  

I particularly didn't want my daughter growing up with the "Cinderella Syndrome". Hence if I did have to read those type of stories to her, I always changed the ending to one of the heroine displaying independence :-)

Cg

That is awesome. I know I am asking for a lot, but if you could provide an example of the alternative ending... I would love that.

OK, so for instance, I would change the end of Sleeping Beauty from; she wakes from the kiss and they get married and live happily ever, blah, blah, to:

She wakes from the kiss, the Prince asks for her hand in marriage and she says "hang on a sec, I'm grateful that you got me out of this pickle. However, we've just met, and whilst you seem nice, I have studies and ambitions to pursue."

The Prince then says "Cool, I'll wait for you."

The end :-D

Cg

Oh my, you need to rewrite the "Fairy tales" with cool new endings.

Oh, and post them on SteemIT.

I may be off topic but, there are many people using this site that live in countries that don't like women having rights, or freedom, and may express their opinion on steemit or steemspeak putting women down.
Women don't need to be saved by a man. Men don't need to be saved as well (ok maybe some do lol). But once you find that person, the person you want to be with and marry, it's called love not a hero.

Agreed! I love my partner, and there have been times he was a "hero" to me. But, I don't know I would use that word

Is my husband my hero? Hmmmmmm... I guess a hero would rescue you from something... Perhaps he rescued me from an otherwise lonely or miserable life! I think I rescued him from that actually! I do look up to him and greatly admire his qualities, and I think it's important for me to esteem him rather than see him as completely on the same level as me. I always wanted to be looked after and to feel like he could fix things if I need him to. I think yes, he's my hero :-)

You used different words, but your comment captured exactly what I felt when I got over being sensitive and thought it through. Am I rescued... well, yes, but I have also rescued. Maybe we are both heros? Thanks for taking the time to comment.

Referring to my above comment, now I understand a little better but it's just a strange way to frame partnership. I suppose I would use other words, other language to describe a lover, partner than "hero". Thanks for the discussion though, I'm enjoying it :-)

Agreed, I got mad first, and after I thought about it. I wondered if I over reacted.

Maybe love and heroism go hand-in-hand. When we love, we save...?

Omg, I love that you said that.

Oh I love that song, it makes me think of Footloose :-) I'm sure you'll find yours at some point. My best friend moaned all through her 20s about being man-less, but she found hers last year and is getting married next year :-) I think if you are a lovely person you will surely get loved back!

Awww, thanks I am still trying to figure out what I want. Sigh. Nobody can be my hero until I decide what I think is a hero.

Aw, missk, I have a 28 year-old son. I kind of want to introduce him to you.

Or you'll meet someone and afterwards think to yourself "ah he's my hero"... I don't think you need it all figured out! Most of the time we find love when we aren't looking... Or it's been there all along and we haven't noticed yet... Or we're looking but we're still surprised by what we end up with because it's nothing like what we thought we were looking for. Just relax, be yourself, and love will happen for you in the same way as it happens in the natural world around us... organically, unforced, all in good time :-)

Can you be my hero? SteemIt, the new dating site.

Damn, that is kind of hot.

@whatsup - I am still trying to figure out what I want in a man. I know when I picture my life with another person, I picture a Partner vs. a Hero.

I want someone who will bring me soup when I am sick, but I also want to bring him soup when he is sick.

I want us both to contribute financially, I want us to both take care of each other.

I can't even imagine 25 years with someone. How has that worked out for you

Like all couples, we have had highs and lows. I am not really sure what having a "hero" means. However, I love the idea of a partner. Through-out 25-years we had times that I was the primary earner, and times that he has "out-earned" me. We both have administered soup. We have lifted each other up when we were down. During less "happy" times, we have torn each other down. Nothing in life is perfect, but I am still really happy I have "him" on my side. I hope you figure out what you want in a man, and find it. :) Thanks for commenting.

I just want soup. I need to find someone who will bring me soup! Hell yes!

I just looked up the definition of hero, and it says someone who is admired for their courage, outstanding achievement or noble qualities. So perhaps women DO look for heros in terms of someone they can admire, not necessarily because they are needy in some way? This certainly would be true for me, as I was always drawn to creative people who impressed me with their talents, or who were courageous and able to stand up for their beliefs. Then I ended up married to a free-thinking writer from Northern Ireland! Says it all...

True, but my husband is very physical. He didn't hit me as amazing at first.. But I love that he is so physical! Whoot. (Read between the lines)

Define your idea of hero, and please share why it makes you angry.

I'd like to have this discussion

I guess when I heard "Hero". It sounded like I needed to be saved by someone. I think that is why I got angry. After I thought about it. If I subtract 25 years from my life. (I would lose my hero) I guess we did save each other.

:) We are saved from romantic loneliness, nothing wrong with that most people want a partner. there are also completely independent women and men who dont.

I want to hear from men... What do you want to see in a woman?

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.4. Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise.

Built by @ontofractal

I prefer men who have suffered and overcome struggles. So hero sure. It's also nice to feel taken care of in the ways I'm not the best at myself. It's always reciprocal in some way, in a good relationship. Men have goddess archetypes they pursue in women, instead, which may or may not be a heroine. just think of why the drug is called heroin (from term heroine). It takes away all pain.

Women like to feel treasured, no?

edit: What i'm sayin is 'hero' is an archetype which appeals to the feminine. Depends how feminine a woman is in regards to love if she wants a 'hero'. I'd also argue that these are legitimate needs, ad reasons we prefer one romantic partner over another. Sometime people put these natural gravitations in condescending terms it is just from their frustration or other negativity, probably.

The word definitely has an emotional reaction.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63748.21
ETH 3314.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90