You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Let's Talk About It - Do Women Need Or Want a Hero?

in #debate8 years ago

Is my husband my hero? Hmmmmmm... I guess a hero would rescue you from something... Perhaps he rescued me from an otherwise lonely or miserable life! I think I rescued him from that actually! I do look up to him and greatly admire his qualities, and I think it's important for me to esteem him rather than see him as completely on the same level as me. I always wanted to be looked after and to feel like he could fix things if I need him to. I think yes, he's my hero :-)

Sort:  

You used different words, but your comment captured exactly what I felt when I got over being sensitive and thought it through. Am I rescued... well, yes, but I have also rescued. Maybe we are both heros? Thanks for taking the time to comment.

Referring to my above comment, now I understand a little better but it's just a strange way to frame partnership. I suppose I would use other words, other language to describe a lover, partner than "hero". Thanks for the discussion though, I'm enjoying it :-)

Agreed, I got mad first, and after I thought about it. I wondered if I over reacted.

Maybe love and heroism go hand-in-hand. When we love, we save...?

Omg, I love that you said that.

Oh I love that song, it makes me think of Footloose :-) I'm sure you'll find yours at some point. My best friend moaned all through her 20s about being man-less, but she found hers last year and is getting married next year :-) I think if you are a lovely person you will surely get loved back!

Awww, thanks I am still trying to figure out what I want. Sigh. Nobody can be my hero until I decide what I think is a hero.

Aw, missk, I have a 28 year-old son. I kind of want to introduce him to you.

Or you'll meet someone and afterwards think to yourself "ah he's my hero"... I don't think you need it all figured out! Most of the time we find love when we aren't looking... Or it's been there all along and we haven't noticed yet... Or we're looking but we're still surprised by what we end up with because it's nothing like what we thought we were looking for. Just relax, be yourself, and love will happen for you in the same way as it happens in the natural world around us... organically, unforced, all in good time :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57645.95
ETH 2389.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43