Experiences with New dApps #dappthoughts

in #dappthoughts6 years ago

dApps.png

I am new on steemit, also new to Blockchain technology. This is my second post (first post was introduction post). I am neither blogger or writer. I was thinking about what to write next. Then in "Trending" section I found this amazing post Weekly Challenge [Share Your Deep Thoughts on dApps] by @sndbox. I show some old post of @sndbox & they are really working for blockchain (I mean adding value to this platform).

Honestly at first I didn't know what exactly dApps are. Then I searched on Google and find out I have used dApps but I was not aware about the term "dApps". With Steemit I also made accounts on DTube, steepshot, busy, DSound, DTube & DLive. These all are steemit dApps (dlive moved to another platform now). As this post needed to read about dApps (made on other platforms ), so I started to search more about this.

What are dApps ?

Decentralized applications (dApps) are applications that run on a P2P network of computers rather than a single computer. dApps, have existed since the advent of P2P networks. They are a type of software program designed to exist on the Internet in a way that is not controlled by any single entity.

  • Decentralized applications don’t necessarily need to run on top of a blockchain network. BitTorrent, Popcorn Time, BitMessage, Tor, are all traditional dApps that run on a P2P network, but not on a Blockchain (which is a specific kind of P2P network).
  • As opposed to simple smart contracts, in the classic sense of Bitcoin, that sends money from A to B, dApps have an unlimited number of participants on all sides of the market.

If an app doesn’t meet all of these criteria, then it is not a DApp:

  • Open Source – Source code of app is available to all.
  • Decentralized – Uses a blockchain-like cryptographic technology.
  • Incentive – App has crypto-tokens/digital assets for fueling itself.
  • Algorithm/Protocol – Generates tokens and has an inbuilt consensus mechanism.

I am going to discuss about CryptoKitties.

CryptoKitties-Collect and breed digital cats




Capture.PNG


What is CryptoKitties?


1111111111.PNG

CryptoKitties is blockchain based game - according to what I read this was the first game on the blockchain. This was released on th November 2017. CryptoKitties is built on the Ethereum network.This is amazing, as I never heard before that people have build games on blockchain. I think this is the great way, with games we can see blockchain growing and by games people will know about blockchain.

CryptoKitties are kind of cryptocurrencies, like cryptocurrencies are mine on blockchain same way CryptoKitties born on Blockchain network. We can buy them, sell them and HOLD them like cryptocurrency. Each CryptoKittie is unique in style, look and all. CryptoKitties are like cryptocurrency and it work like the same - it's 100% owned by you -no one replicate the same kitties and no one destroy it.

One more amazing thing is you can combine 2 kitties and create new kitties - it's like we upgrading it with combination of 2 kitties.

new.PNG


line2-jpg.jpg

You can read main article regarding this contest here Share Your Deep Thoughts on dApps by @sndbox. Thank you for stopping by and reading my article.

line2-jpg.jpg

Sort:  
Nice write up my friend @imthinker. Good to see that you started writing here. I am tagging some of my friends (I met here on steemit) - they are very supportive and great bloggers.

I am speechless with this comment and your support my friend @flash07. Thank you for mentioning this great bloggers, I will follow them all closely so I can learn new things from them too...

Posted using Partiko Android

Don't mention it my friend @imthinker. When I started steemit I also got support from other great users. I am doing the same. Also one more thing you have same style of making feature image like I done in my most of blogs. I use Canva for image creation.

I use Canva too my friend @flash07

Posted using Partiko Android

Nice article for a start @imthinker dapps are certainly the future in crypto!

Thank you @conceptskip for your kind support.

Posted using Partiko Android

@imthinker I think this is great article. You mentioned this is your second article after introduction post, but I think you have started very well. Good to know about CryptoKitties. I didn't know about this project - looks interesting. To support you upvoted and resteemed.

Hope you are enjoying steemit platform.

Thank you @techbuzz07 for your kind support. I am happy that you liked the article.

what's Cryptokitties?
Are they even around now?
I thought they collapsed and disappeared

According to my research it's usage become low after March 2018 when 20,000 cats being sold one after another. But it's alive on blckchain and their team announced last time that they are working on something new for this platform. Also read some articles here and there so I think they are still alive. I liked the concept of it - they made some different thing on block chain to attract users they used kitties which was smart surely.

Thank you for stopping by and sharing your views. It's values a lot.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for the info
you are welcome !

Congratulations @imthinker! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Be ready for the next contest!
Trick or Treat - Publish your scariest halloween story and win a new badge
SteemitBoard notifications improved

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @imthinker! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 500 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 1000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Be ready for the next contest!
Trick or Treat - Publish your scariest halloween story and win a new badge
SteemitBoard notifications improved

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Thanks for sharing :)

Thank you for supporting @alvin0617. Also I checked your post too - you wrote great post for sure.

Posted using Partiko Android

Welcome to steemit @imthinker hope you enjoy the platform.

My question is, if you combine two kitties to make one, does the value of the new breed increase or decrease, as it would be pointless combining if there is no increase in value.

Great review

Thank you @ogt for stopping by and reading my article.

About cryptpkitties I didn't had the enough eth to play the game. But I done research before writing this article. You are right if it will not increase in value then what is advantage of combining 2 kitties. Based in what I read it will increase or decrease the value. Why ? It based on how you are combining it. There are too many types like normal one, based on generations, fancy one, rare one and many more. The fancier and faster will attract the byers more and the uglier and slower will no one bye. Sometimes wrong combination makes new kitty slower and uglier then it will lose for sure. But some good kitties sold in $$$$ too. So I think it's all about how you are combining it (according to me)....

Thanks again for your kind support @ogt. I have checked your profile already and following as we both have common friend @flasj07. He already recommended you as great blogger and supporter.. I agree with him.. thanks

Posted using Partiko Android

This is really nice, you did a thorough research about dapps and then cryptokitties.

Honestly, I understood before now that DApps meant Decentralized Applications but I never knew that it didn't have to be on a blockchain network. Guess I just learnt that now😀..Thanks really enlightening!

Thank you @ced000 for stopping by and reading my article. Main point of dApp is it's decentralised app..

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67364.55
ETH 3256.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64