The Day My Life Changed & Cycling Became History ... #2

in #cycling7 years ago

Just when life's full of glorious rides, scenery and the freedom that only cycling provides - yep - I had a major accident 12 months after taking-up this wonderful hobby!

I was careless trying to ride off the road on to a concrete drive, didn't allow for the lip of the the driveway, and crashed. Fell on my left side, with a few minor abrasions - except for the 5-inch gash to my right shin, caused by the pedal!

Ambulance ride to Fremantle Hospital, where gash was attended to (by a charming young female doctor) and sent home to convalesce. That was the start of a 2-month layoff, but definitely not the end of cycling for me - no way! not yet, anyway!

As much as anything, it was the embarrassment of my fall that hurt the most, as I guess I'd become too cocky and self-assured.

A lesson was learnt, and when I recommenced riding, for some time I was extremely careful and avoided risks.

It was because of this serious fall that my wife began urging me not just to be careful, but quit.

No way! I was sure that I was careful and good-enough to stay in the saddle securely!

Well, if you're following my little story, you'll see how my ego ruled me, in my next post.

This isn't me below, but a pretty-good example of how my crash occurred...

5876cbe2098343a4afa5d7080cd205b8.jpg

Sort:  

@wassie I know the feeling. I have fallen off many a time, almost all as embarrassing as the last. I think I am just as addicted to the sport as you.

Well, accidents happen, don't give up on cycling!

That must have hurt! Hope you're okay now. :)

Sometimes, when we do things we love and are passionate of, there will be instances when we throw caution up in the air. And in one of these few instances accidents as these happen, definitely NOT to make us quit, but to hopefulky learn from it. I say soar high (so to speak) cycling, but always with caution. This little lesson may be the universe's way of preventing a bigger accident in the future.

Am glad all is well with you now. And the wifey of course will always have your best interest at heart, hence the heed for you to quit (which I think you shouldn't do on things you are passionate with)

Congratulations @wassie! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @wassie! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem community has lost an epic member! Farewell @woflhart!
SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Do not miss the coming Rocky Mountain Steem Meetup and get a new community badge!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63850.79
ETH 3415.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46