Which tools / spares to carry on your MTB for long rides?

in #cycling6 years ago (edited)

When you are going for a really long MTB ride in a remote location, what do you need to carry?

I will list some of the things that I usually carry, divided in two sections 1) stuff that I always carry, let's say for 3-4 hours, and 2) stuff that I carry when I need to be fully self-sufficient.

Screen Shot 2018-05-29 at 19.30.38.png

what to carry for medium-length rides

1 - Some money / credit card for emergencies (and for coffee!)
2 - your medical insurance details
3 - CO2 cartridge loosely screwed into the inflator
4 - hand pump
5 - multi-tool, preferably with chain tool
6 - spare tube (you could choose tubes with sealant)
7 - tire levers (2)
8 - tire plugs and insertion tool (see this post: https://steemit.com/cycling/@ultrabiker/how-to-mtb-plug-your-tubeless-mtb-tires-1)

That's about it. I might take 1 or 2 items from the second list below, e.g. some lube if it's dusty or if there are many river crossings.

What to carry on extremely looooong rides

Screen Shot 2018-05-29 at 19.31.08.png

For really long rides, in addition to the above list, I would carry the following additional items:

9 - a little botttle with some extra sealant for the tubeless tires
10 - a little bottle with some lube for the chain
11 - 1 or 2 extra CO2 cartridges
12 - a valve tool to remove the core of the tire valve
13 - An extra valve (for tubeless tires)
14 - Some extra plugs to plug the tire
15 - a spare derailleur hanger
16 - some chain links to be able to repair the chain quickly
17 - a bit of duct tape (you could e.g. wrap it around your pump), for repairing just about everything
18 - cable ties for repairing just about everything as well

A tip: cling foil is really good to keep the small items together and make sure they will not be easily lost. You might want to buy one of those bottle-like tool cages, and install a bottle carrier on your saddle pen.

That's it. Note that this is for a MTB with tubeless tires; I ride in South Africa with often very rough trails and lots of thorns. Let me know if you have any questions or let me know what you carry on your bike!


Please check out my other posts on cycling https://steemit.com/@ultrabiker

Plugging your tires: https://steemit.com/cycling/@ultrabiker/how-to-mtb-plug-your-tubeless-mtb-tires-1
My bike, Salsa Cutthroat https://steemit.com/cycling/@ultrabiker/my-bicycle-salsa-cutthroat-force-1
My competitors https://steemit.com/cycling/@ultrabiker/my-competitors-are-the-greatest-athletes-on-earth
Fast after 50: book review https://steemit.com/cycling/@ultrabiker/book-review-fast-after-50-how-to-race-strong-for-the-rest-of-your-life

Sort:  

If your carrying a pump, why carry the Co2? I eliminate as much as I can because where I'm at, there is a lot of climbing and weight matters. We have sharp rocks here too, so I carry a 'boot' or a tire patch that goes on the inside of the sidewall of the tire.

Thanks Gennolua, good point in regard to the tire patch, I used to carry one but I sort of forgot about it (some people have used energy gel packets for that purpose!) I carry both a pump and a CO2 for security, for seating the tubeless tire if that's necessary. If in a race, I use the CO2 to save time. The pump is just as a last resort, and doesn't weigh that much. But I have to say I focus on really long races, like 24 hours, so if you are doing shorter races / rides, of course you will have a different setup.

How about a paperclip to unclog the sealant in the valve stem...

yes, good one! Paperclips are up there with duct tape and cable ties ;-)!

and a paperclip can also be handy to hold the chain in place when you're fitting a chainlink!

and a paperclip can also be handy to hold the chain in place when you're fitting a chainlink!

I also carry a freezer ziplock bag with bandaids/pads and a bit of tape. I put my phone in there so it does not get drenched with sweat in my jersey pocket.

For roadies, I also carry these small one time use super glue. It can be used in emergencies to put a patch on tubular tires. (Out side of the tire just to get you home). But it also can be used for mtb on a stubborn hole on the topside of the tire. The stuff dries really fast and hard.

Your also carrying water and food... a GPS device... (I know this post was more for bike repair)

Good additions!

Sure, the post was more for bike repair, but of course GPS / food / water is a must.

Very useful!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63010.40
ETH 3137.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85