How to - MTB: Plug your tubeless MTB tires (1)

in #cycling6 years ago (edited)

Screen Shot 2018-05-28 at 08.23.55.png

Hi guys, assuming you ride with tubeless MTB tires, when you get bigger holes that the sealant is not able to stop, you might need to plug your tires. What do you need for this?

There are a few plugging kits on the market, some fancier than others, some are really expensive, some come with glue, a small knife, some can fit in your handlebars, etcetera.

Let me just explain what works for me, then you can decide for yourself what would work for you and which kit is best for your situation. This is what I carry in my back pocket:

IMG_8633.JPG

That’s all. It’s a small knife to be able to cut the plug after installation, an insertion tool with the plug ready installed, wrapped in cling foil, so it’s all ready to go and as little time as possible is wasted. For longer rides I carry some extra plugs, perhaps some bigger plugs as well.

Screen Shot 2018-05-28 at 07.56.59.pngScreen Shot 2018-05-28 at 07.56.45.png

I have never needed any of the other things that some of the kits come with, like glue or cleaning tools.

Basically, find the hole, insert the tool and make sure the plug is more or less halfway, then remove the tool, make sure the plug remains in the tire, and cut off (only some of) the plug sticking out so you have a slightly smoother ride, and that’s it!

Let me know if you have any comments!?



Please check out my other posts on cycling https://steemit.com/@ultrabiker

My bike, Salsa Cutthroat https://steemit.com/cycling/@ultrabiker/my-bicycle-salsa-cutthroat-force-1

My competitors https://steemit.com/cycling/@ultrabiker/my-competitors-are-the-greatest-athletes-on-earth

Fast after 50: book review https://steemit.com/cycling/@ultrabiker/book-review-fast-after-50-how-to-race-strong-for-the-rest-of-your-life

Sort:  

👓👓👓👓👓
Your post is great..
Click This link they are having a promotion going on..
They are giving 20 UPVOTS WORTH 1 SBD AND 10 FOLLOWERS.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63094.38
ETH 3148.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88