Ulog No. 16 "Bike Night at the Minneapolis Institute of Arts"steemCreated with Sketch.

in #cyclefeed6 years ago (edited)

She's taking a selfie! Quick! Wave, give two thumbs up, smile and say CHEESE!

mia2.cropped.jpg

Every summer I look forward to the Minneapolis Institute of Art's annual "Bike Night." When I saw the invitation, I marked my calendar and hoped for great weather... And then waited... The event was postponed due to thunderstorms... I waited some more and lined up a few friends to join me when it was rescheduled.

mia17.png

The new event date fell on a day with ideal weather, chilly enough to keep the crowd low without being too cold. To me, it was a glorious reprieve from high heat and humidity. This summer has been the hottest and most humid I remember in the Midwest. 80-90+ degrees Fahrenheit with over 70% humidity is not my kind of biking weather. I'm riding, because it's what I do, and my main form of transportation. But it's an excessively sweaty experience lately.

mia1.jpg

Approximately 75 cyclists met at Surly Brewing and rolled out on the OFFICIAL pre-ride. If other pre-rides are competing for this official title, I didn't hear about them... The group was large enough that we got separated at red lights, yet slow enough that we melded back together shortly after each stop. It was fun to experience a wide range of ages and variety of bicycle styles riding together for common causes: beer and art!

mia3.cropped.jpg

A couple friends joined the pre-ride and one met us later at the museum. Rolling through the entrance at Mia is not allowed, or at least frowned upon, most days. For bike night they advertise the privilege of riding on through to the main event space in the courtyard.

mia4.jpg

Rows of additional bike racks are added to the ones that are there year-round. It's so much more interesting to me than parking lots full of cars and trucks. Walking along the rows of bicycles, there are so many I want to test ride!

bikes.jpg

One of the activities involved adding string to bicycle art. The screws around each wheel were labeled with one word each. Participants could start by wrapping a string around the middle and then looping around chosen "pegs" to create a phrase or poem with words, and wheel spokes with string. The event was a few weeks ago and I'm not remembering the message I created. I appreciated the creative activity :)

collage.stringart.png

The flock (What is a group of butterflies called? I googled it: "A collective name for a group of butterflies is called a 'Kaleidoscope'. However others have called it a 'Swarm' or 'Rabble'") Ok, let me begin again: A kaleidoscope of monarch butterfly bikes made their second appearance in my life this year. During winter, they were part of the Art Shanty Project and I rode one on a frozen lake. A fun, novel ride with a bit of danger. The wings reduced visibility and I was riding through a crowd on snow covered ice. I have a video somewhere...

mia8.jpg

As I wrote earlier, the weather was unusually cool compared to the previous few weeks. That seemed to keep the heat-lovers at home and out of my way ;) Perhaps the event being rescheduled caused a lot of people to miss out too. Whatever the case, I was happy not to be jostled around by a large crowd.

mia9.jpg

One of the information booths that piqued my interest shared a proposal for a new cycling center that will include a velodrome. Currently, there is a velodrome in a northern suburb and it will be closing soon (permanently). Opponents of a new space argue that if the suburban one couldn't stay open, there is no good reason to build another. However, the proposed plan would be built in the heart of the city, much more accessible by bicycle and public transportation. I'm intrigued and would like to follow the progress of this initiative.

mia13.jpg

Running (cycling) later than expected, I left home without dinner. A perfect opportunity to support this food truck that has a local brick-and-mortar restaurant with a unique meal offering. Once monthly, the owner offers a no-questions-asked, no-qualifications-needed, no-judgement FREE lunch to anyone who shows up. Donations can be accepted. Good people, good food :)
mia14.jpg

After enjoying the outdoor festivities my friends and I wandered around inside the museum for a bit. This exhibit is fun to view during various seasons. I remember gazing out the window during winter when huge, fluffy snowflakes were falling down. It was a very peaceful scene. The idea is that the Minneapolis downtown skyline is a work of art included in the museum's collection and an accompanying sign labels the significant buildings.

mia15.jpg

It was another enjoyable cycling-centric evening. I appreciated a casual post-ride with a friend to wrap up our night.
mia16.jpg

Bonus shot! Pre-ride group at the main museum entrance:

Where's Waldo? One of these days, I want to dress up in red and white stripes for a group cycling photo... I'm in here somewhere! Can you find me?
mia18.jpg
Photo credit: Joyful Riders Club social media page

More cycling stories!

Read my recent Ulogs, a three part series about the twenty-four hour bicycle event in Minneapolis, Powderhorn 24! We pedaled, we camped, we hammocked under a bridge...

Powderhorn 24: Part One

Powderhorn 24: Part Two

Powderhorn 24: Part Three


cyclefeed.jpg

What is cyclefeed?

I'm excited to share with cycling enthusiasts!
This post tells you what's up: How to Participate: Use #cyclefeed in your Posts!

Gratitude to @robmolecule and @mrprofessor for creating and curating #cyclefeed.

steemit.helmet.jpg
Thanks to @surpassinggoogle for initiating #ulog
All photos are my own unless otherwise noted.


This post was made from https://ulogs.org

Sort:  

Congratulations! Your high quality cycling content caught our attention and earned you a reward, in the form of an upvote and resteem. Keep the pedals spinning, fellow cyclist. Your article now has a chance to get curated and featured under the weekly round-up of our Cyclefeed blog. Thank you for using #cyclefeed



Learn more about our cycling project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord.

I finally set up an account with steemauto and started following your curation trail. It's one of only two I'm following with my first experience doing this, the other being @curie. Although my voting power isn't currently strong, I hope that over time it will add value to quality cycling content. Thanks again for your time and curation efforts. When I make it big, your project is the first I want to delegate SP to :)

Thanks so much! It's great to see more people joining the trail!

Hi mininthecity,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Wow, I'm honored and humbled to be recognized by the curie community. Much gratitude! I joined the @curie curation trail this week :)

Wow so informative content. Keep it uo boss always with you

Posted using Partiko Android

God bless you...

Posted using Partiko Android

Personally, I love MIA. It's got some phenomenal exhibits of ancient art, and their impressionist gallery is to die for!

Yes! Each time I'm there, I want to spend more time and tell myself I'll go more often.

What a great write-up, my friend! Looks like it was an amazing event. And wow I learned something new from your post. I didn’t know a group of butterflies was called a kaleidoscope! (Oh and congrats on your Curie upvote! Well-deserved!)

Thank you @jayna! I'm glad we both learned about kaleidoscopes :) I was surprised by the curie vote. Now I want to learn more about it. There are so many projects I haven't studied in-depth. Hope you're enjoying the summer. Maybe you like the high heat and humidity more than I do...

I believe you had fun cycling as much as I did gong through your post (or maybe more)...

I love the butterfly bike, it looks so fun and playful. Wouldn't mind riding one of those...

I love the butterfly bike, it looks so fun and playful.

I agree and I love being playful. Maybe one day you'll ride a butterfly :)

Hopefully, I will!!

Hello bike night looks pretty nice:) the butterfly bike looks very pretty:)it looks like a fun time.

Thanks for reading and commenting! The butterfly bikes are always fun to see and ride. I think they're very creative :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63209.62
ETH 2570.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76