The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue #12. (1/9/18)

in #curation6 years ago (edited)

~~~~~~~~~~~

Cover_012.png

The Daily Whistle Stops is a curation post brought to you by @thesteemengine! This post features the best posts from our members selected by our master curator @enchantedspirit!

All of these posts were submitted in our Discord server's post-promotion channel, and have been hand picked to receive a nice upvote from our group account! If you'd like to see your post featured here, simply submit it in The STEEM Engine Discord server! Not a member of The STEEM Engine initiative? Check out our intro post for more information about our group!

cws.gif

The Curator's Choices

Ok, remember I said yesterday to bring a snack to the next issue because one of the food posts was going to lead off the line-up? Here it is. The photography is exquisite ... and the food is enough to make me want to move lots closer to this shop.

What a wonderful vicarious stroll through a market -- and one of the best parts of this job is getting a peek at stuff like this a day early so I can remember it all through the night. Go on ... tell me. Is this gorgeous or what?

DQmV4bSD5j9AKQSJY213i1dt7o6mLWbkjDUctzrFtRfcA6Z.jpg

Market Friday
Paluto Po (Please Cook)

@watersnake101

cws.gif

I used to read about fireflies all the time in my books as a kid. I have seen maybe two in my whole life. They are surprising and delightful ... and I loved watching them both times. I wish they were more common. Everybody should have the chance.

DQmb8hY6hawEXZ2NHk6kjJb7G61mPzE5LReoH2dJAtXiqYc_1680x8400.jpg

Firefly femme fatales
The curious case of Photuris

@holothewise

cws.gif

@ethandsmith is back with his second podcast about members of The STEEM Engine Initiative and their posts. (We talked him into it.) He does his usual great job!!

Those of you who do any audio work know it takes a lot longer to do an audio presentation than a written one. It's worth some extra attention, maybe also an upvote and a few words of praise. Those take no time at all compared to what he did to make this piece possible.

U5dqwJtoWGn9jRupCThkfF6xs53opVa_1680x8400.png

The STEEM Engine Express
Episode 2

@ethandsmith

cws.gif

It's another amazing science post that shows us a small bit of the variety available in the universe. There are all kinds of planets. Some are totally different from what we know ... and some are kind of like our own -- or could be.

I watch a lot of astronomy documentaries, and scientists agree ... some day, if the human race is to survive, we will have to leave planet Earth and find our way to another home planet. It won't happen for a long, long time but it is an inevitable fact.

It's fascinating to know what some candidates might look like and some questions these far-in-the-future humans will face as they ponder the next giant leap and the challenge of survival for human civilization.

U5dquTGBTSzPRCURDNWBp86muC1wSyJ_1680x8400.jpg
Image Source

Amazing & Weird Exoplanets #3
@filotasriza3

cws.gif

Most weddings are happy, but marriage can be challenging. It takes two people, both committed to the future and stability of the relationship to make it work. And the fact is ... people change.

The internet brings opportunities for plenty of outside temptations ... and fantasies are powerful things. @apanamamama offers some advice and observations on how to stay engaged in each others' lives and avoid some of the possible problems, even if you think, It could never happen to me.

DQmPzYHwpy9Z3wwEb8U77ZuAP7fMcayjkfo8J4RmWMXzzsH_1680x8400.jpg
Image Source

Guard Your Heart, Do Not Follow It
Protecting Your Marriage on Social Media
Soulful Sunday by A Panama Mama

@apanamamama

cws.gif

Water is life. And while the Earth is 70% water, only 1% is suitable for human consumption at this point. Water sustainability world-wide is an issue. Learn more facts about this ... and what you can do to help.

DQmZG2Wzz94THKnbHtSQrAyQimZqrLEHcTv9CkrTDa1W6X6.jpg
Image Source

Sustainable Development
#4 Water Sustainability

@donfelix

cws.gif

@jasonshick is thinking about Steemit, its future, its users, and what he might do to help it grow. Creative minds can usually find ways to solve big challenges. Maybe you have some ideas of your own. Maybe you can help Jason out with his. Take a minute. Read the post. It's a real source of inspiration.

DQmcPSAXP95Ws4bo1YJGPkcBXEdJK1WD4wQgRvax19wgm5k.jpg

Bringing Publicity to Steem
@jasonshick

cws.gif

You see this picture down below? @redwellies made this. She made it. With her own two hands and artistic genius. I am so jealous I don't think I want to know her any more. She even shows you how to do it. So while she still has friends and time to waste on blog-posting instead of doing beautiful stuff like this the live-long day, get in there and learn something. Someday I could be showing off a piece by you.

DQmSQjMcEimLQWtmpGDWDmcTvCC1nANFYAQqLVuHtA7M1T3.jpg

Red Wellies
Original Artwork #2
"The Ocean" -- Fused Glass Vase

@redwellies

cws.gif

Yeah, go ahead. Laugh out loud. I did when I read this post. But I tell you, @eonwarped's dear, long-suffering wife and I could share some stories.

You're gonna blame brain-farts, are you? Ok. Any neighbors in a radius of three miles from us can confirm I have often questioned the existence of a brain in @catweasel at a volume they didn't have to strain to hear. Those other things, the regular kind, he lets fly often and with great abandon, so there is no doubt that they exist.

If brain-farts require a brain in the first place, maybe I can quit with the questions. I have my answer. Not that it's any comfort. So, to @eonwarped's dear, wonderful wife ... if you're listening, my sister, take my word for this: It doesn't get any better with age. Consider your options. I'll leave it at that, and let my neighbors' poor shattered eardrums have a chance to heal.

DQmddLyvHYkNmg6E2W2rRdFN969oq7i7d7NhgL4xftHDUFj.jpg

The Brain Farts
@eonwarped

cws.gif

The author of this list of curated posts by members of The STEEM Engine is @enchantedspirit whose mostly metaphysical writing can be found on her own blog.

cws.gif

steemengineBanner.png
cws.gif

Sort:  

Great job on your articles everyone! I've only read a couple at this point, but so far so good! Keep up the good work.

The stops is really good

Glad to be part of this community guys. These posts are always worth my time.

Another great Issue, @thesteemengine!

I've upvoted and resteemed this article as one of my daily post promotions on the @mitneb Curation Trail. It will be featured in my daily curation report on 09 JAN 2018.

Cheers!

Yet another collection of great articles! Way to go STEEM Engine members! I'm honored to be a part of the group :)

Great posts again! :) Thanks for including mine. I appreciate it. Love this group and all the writing geniuses who live at The STEEM Engine all day long. ;)

I just love reading this page bc @enchantedspirit cracks me up!! xx

Great work. Especially like the fused glass vase, and the water sustainability article. That's such an important topic these days.

Great work everyone, keep up the solid curation job @enchantedspirit

i am addicted to it, i read almost every post and i don't have time for every post so imagine :P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60385.11
ETH 2889.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65