Working Title (MSP Creative Writing Curation)

in #curation5 years ago (edited)


'Merica, FUCK YA! (Happy 4th ya'll)

hybrid-MEr9r0S2YE8-unsplash.jpg

“You know how you put diamonds on velvet? Well, here's what you get in a little pink baby pool: you get all the tones of pearl from white to beige to pink, and then darker tones of pink and even near-ruby red, crossing over to copper and easing back into tones through pale citrine and softer yellows, that then go to rich golds and bronze and caramel and mahogany, and even black pearl and blue-black pearl – all those little baby gems God keeps making, and that were happy playing and splashing around together at that pool since integration has really come in this town.”

Pink Baby Pool by @deeanndmathews is just a stunning piece of short fiction- I adore the message about diversity, and I love her use of language, the parallels between the main characters name and the ideas. This is such a wonderful piece, and a short read, so you should absolutely check it out.

My grandfather was on the driver's seat and my elder brother sitting next to him, but I never wanted to get inside. I always wanted to sit behind in the cargo bed. And at nights when I got home, my mum would always scold me for getting my hair all messy and full of haystack.

Memories by @ruth-girl is another piece of flash fiction that is based on the show "Westworld", although you don't have to be familiar with the show to enjoy her work. This piece just has so much depth despite the short length.

Alex had done the talking while his colorless wife had stared sharply around Marcella’s yard. She’d stayed outside to talk to them, resisting the guilt she felt for not inviting them in for coffee, as she would have done with any of her other neighbors. Something about their seriousness had unnerved her even more than usual.

Champagne by @sidequest is another piece of flash fiction, a modern retelling of the goose that lays the golden egg story. I particularly like the ending- and I think you will too.

The grass grows tall
 and the car collects grime.
How the mighty fall
 with the passage of time.

Decay by @ianmcg is such a strong piece of poetry- I love how the included image helps build his message, how the rhyme serves to emphasize the language associated with it as well.

wings of vanity
somehow found a way.
mask chronic shame;
break on through the wax

Bruegel's Icarus by @guidry is another piece of poetry that is made based on an image. I love how the idea that life goes on despite a person's personal tragedy is reflected in both the poem and the image. I adore the use of the Icarus myth, the use of rhyme... this is an amazing poem and if you don't read it I will be very disappointed in you.


mspgif.gif



Art and pull-quotes are sourced from their respective posts
Reflections by Sunravelme

Sort:  

Thank you so much -- going now to check out the other posts mentioned by you! And, I will join the Discord as well!

Edit: visited all the posts, but Firefox stopped me cold before I could go to minnowpond.org -- something about a security risk and contact the admin. I will go back and check the link you left on my post for a workaround, but I thought you should know.

That's odd- did you try another browser? minnowpond.org is just supposed to redirect you to the PAL/Minnow Support discord server. Thank you for letting me know- I forwarded it to the admins to see if they had any more knowledge than I did about the whole thing.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Hi @sunravelme!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.293 which ranks you at #2494 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 2 places in the last three days (old rank 2492).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 195 contributions, your post is ranked at #82.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65560.09
ETH 3467.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68