Memories

in #ruthphotostories5 years ago (edited)


Image from: pixabay.com, under Pixabay License

apostrophe divider 19.png

I'm sure the feeling won't be the same without some music, will it?


apostrophe weekly prompt.png

- I remember I was sinking in a pickup truck full of hay and I was rocking and jolting every time the truck bumped onto a rock. As the warm air was entering my nostrils I enjoyed its gentle touch. The smell of it, so distinguishing. Sometimes I still think I get it back. Every time I see of summer fields...

My grandfather was on the driver's seat and my elder brother sitting next to him, but I never wanted to get inside. I always wanted to sit behind in the cargo bed. And at nights when I got home, my mum would always scold me for getting my hair all messy and full of haystack.

You know, I may had taken a bath, but I could still trace this particular scent on my skin even until the next day.

That's what I miss the most about my grandfather in the summers. This smell. The one that was gone with him.

The feeling of my back laying on the dry hay and the random tips pinching my skin, my fingers rolling them over as the truck was sliding on the farm road, the clouds running above my head until we reached the house... All these are what made my summers on the farm so memorable, so simple, but still so full.

I wish I could just go back there, even if it is for a moment, just a tiny little moment. I wish I could just become that kid on her grandpa's farm again, in her denim dungarees full of dirt and her young soul full of bliss.

- Very nice Q13.
a man's voice stops her.

- Mellow script but I like it. Update her library, fix her melodramatic face expressions at the miss-grandpa-smell part, run a disc check and send her back to the "Prairie" zone. What's her name there?
he asks another man in a doctor's robe.

- Alma*
she replies in a colorless voice.


*Alma in Latin means "soul"
Word Count: 326

apostrophe divider 12.png

This was a task for the Weekly @apostrophe Prompt on Whaleshares. The theme is a Summertime Childhood Memory.

How did you like mine?
Keep in mind this is purely Westworld inspired, if you have seen the series, you will instantly understand what is going on in this scene.

Scribo ergo sum (7).png

Thank you so much for your time!

Until my next post,
Steem on and keep smiling, people!


ruth-girl signature gif banner.gif



Original content by @ruth-girl - 2019 - All rights reserved
Also shared on my Whaleshares blog

Sort:  

Although I have never seen Westworld, I know that I shall never smell white roses as sweet as the ones my grandfather had in his yard when I was a little girl. I get it... thank you for writing this.

This post has been selected for curation by @sunravelme. It has been upvoted and will be featured in this week's Working Title post. It will also be considered for the official @minnowsupport curation post and if selected will be resteemed from the main account. Feel free to join us on Discord!

I do this post each week and choose some of the best under-rewarded content I can find on the blockchain. You might be featured next! Help me give you GREAT rewards, make sure you post with the #palnet tag or use the PALnet.io front end. If you do, you'll earn PALcoin AND Steem from @msp-curation, and will probably hit trending on PALnet.io. What are you waiting for? Get creating!

I feel betrayed. Isn't that the point? You really pulled me in, the way they do on Westworld. It's illusion, but in order to work we have to believe it. I was imagining myself on the back of a flatbed truck...think of that!! A relatable experience. And so we are caught in the illusion.

I loved Westworld, and found it really creepy. Is it coming back for another season? Don't remember how it left off.

(By the way, I found the music distracting...your words were powerful enough.)

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @sunravelme.

Sweet!

Hi @ruth-girl!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.095 which ranks you at #965 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 2 places in the last three days (old rank 963).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 164 contributions, your post is ranked at #130.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hello @ruth-girl, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thank you so much and sorry for the so late reply! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 61940.19
ETH 2433.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50