Sept 18 - Steemit Ramble - Notes on My Favourite Reads

in #curation8 years ago

Well, I’m just past day 15 of my 30-day challenge. It’s been a blast. I have found some posts I really enjoyed reading. Hopefully, the ones I wrote about received some upvotes and followers.

Markdown Finally

I hadn’t tackled using markdown until yesterday. I use Scrivener to write my posts in. I leave it open as I read and can just go to the post in project to add the links and comments.

Until yesterday, I writing in Scrivener, then copying it to Steemit and doing the formatting there using the limited tools available. I knew I could use markdown in Scrivener. I just hadn’t bothered.

It actually was easier to do than I thought and will greatly speedup my posting time.

Volunteer Duty

I had figured on having a day at home today but that isn’t going to happen. I’ve been called in to do the volunteer shift on the bar today. Oh well, have computer, will travel LOL.

Onward to today’s reading.

Annoncing SteemPower.org : Full Function Realtime WYSIWYG Markdown editor for Steemit.com

@charlieshrem has created a browser based markdown editor that allows you to write your post directly in the editor, add the formatting like you would in a wordprocessor and then copy paste into a post. Should be a great way for those not real comfy with markdown to get on to using it.

CHANGE IS GOOD- and always will be

I don’t know that I agree that change is always good, but it often is. Even when it is painful. @serioustruth writes about the power of change and how it can be frightening. It’s not because change is frightening, it is because change brings about the unknown and that can be frightening.

STEEM Has Real Value - STEEM is the Most Valuable Cryptocurrency, People Just Don't Know it Yet

@krnel writes a rather long but well thought out post on the value of Steem and the platform as a whole. While others, way too many others, complain about the site, the whales, the process and their own lack of success. Others get on with working with the system and building up real value. We all have our choice in the matter.

Why Banning Drugs Doesn't Work (with illustrations by @klye)

@thecryptofiend writes a provocative post on the pros and cons of the legalizing of currently illicit drugs. While I have some empathy for the legalizing of pot/cannabis and in fact Canada is moving towards decriminalization along with it currently being available for medical use, I will reserve my opinion on the other drugs currently banned.

Some of them are used currently for medical purposes and those who can benefit the health of the user should certainly be explored and allowed.

For far too long pot has been banned with virtually no hard studies done to support the ban. Yet it is able to create barriers in people’s lives for simply trying it. Without being ever having been either charged or convicted of pot related charges in Canada, any Canadian who answers honestly that they have tried pot (or any recreational drug) can be banned for life by American border guards. That his just one current example.

The Aftermath of the Wells Fargo Scandal

@cloh76 writes a well laid out piece on the scams perpetrated by Wells Fargo employees starting in 2011. It shows how vulnerable we are when we are too trusting of financial institutions.

Road to Big Buddha

I only occasionally have a look at photography posts and I’m glad I looked at this on. @blinova has done a really nice post here about the Big Bhudda. Very interesting pics.

DIY Magical Unicorn ULTIMATE LAUNDRY SOAPSTUFF

@quantumanomaly writes a detailed tutorial on how to make your own laundry soap. Not only do you have better control over what is in the soap, but you get to save money.

Adventures in peaceful non-compliance Part 2 : Australian Census 2016 [Followup Visit]

Was interesting to see this post from one of our friends downunder,@ausbitbank, about their census. It comes right on the heels of Canada’s Chief Statistician resigning as he believes that the security of our statistical data is impeded by the current IT Sharing Service that the government is using.

Diving Into Photography 04 - Camera Modes & Settings

This is a good post by @condra, a camera 101 for someone wanting to get their feet wet using a camera. While many of us use phones or ipads for pictures, I have to admit, properly used, cameras are really worth the money if you really want to get into photography.

STEEMIT FOR WORDPRESS #1: Display your Steemit blog in your Wordpress website with this free plugin

I am impressed with the work of @wordpress-tips on this plugin for Wordpress. Using it my posts here will show up in a feed on my blog for visitors to be able to view when they visit the blog. Very nice.

Wrap-up of Day 16

So, this wraps up day 16 of my challenge. Some interesting reading today. One of the things I really love about this site is how much I read outside my usual areas of interest. Nothing like broadening the horizons.

Supporting and Upvoting

Let’s not forget folks. I’m sharing these posts not only because I like them. I’d really like to see them get support and upvoting. I know some of the posts have done okay by the time I post my ramble, but some really could use the support and upvoting.

Subscribing to My Posts

In addition to following me on Steemit, which I really appreciate. If you want to be sure to know about every post, you can subscribe at my other blog. I’ll send you an email when I post.

Until Tomorrow — Just Steem on



If you like this, please follow me and upvote the post.

If you’d like to see the other days I’ve posted, [just visit my profile]](https://steemit.com/@shadowspub)

If you’d like to be notified when I post next, join my mailing list here.

Sort:  

Thanks for the mention! I try to put as much humor and information into my DIYs as I can, so that they arent just boring instructional step-by-steps!

you did a good job.. so keep up the great work.

Thanks for sharing and enjoying my post. You have a lot of good writers listed in your article.

lots of talent here on Steemit.. they just need to be seen

Thanks for the shoutout!

my pleasure.. thanks for the read.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87