Oct 4 - Steemit Ramble - Notes on My Favourite Reads

in #curation8 years ago (edited)

Well, seems like my internet connection is stable and I will be able to work on today’s Ramble. I have a shift on the bar at the branch to do today so I will be over there for about 6 hours or so. I have a meeting tomorrow morning and should have the rest of the day to myself. Least I hope so.

Onward to today’s rambling

How to receive a mail every time one of your favorite Steemit authors sends a post – do not miss out on curation rewards with a mail alert

Interesting post from @puffin providing guidance on how to get an email everytime a favourite author posts or other action occurs you want to know about. I personally prefer to just see what turns up in my feed or in the new feed but, I can see where the benefits are when you have a favourite author especially.

How to transfer your Steem Backed Dollar to Bitcoin using BlockTrades dot US

@oaldamster does a very detailed tutorial on how to convert your SBD or STEEM to Bitcoin and move it to a wallet. This is likely the biggest stumbling block for new users who are not cryptocurrency and technially aware to get over when it comes to embracing Steemit. Seems we can’t have too many tutorials on the subject as long as they are helpful.

Project Positivity - Daily Announcement, Last Weeks Winners and Challenge 2.

Released last night is Positivity Challenge #2. If you took part last week, time to give it another go and if not, time to get involved. I’ve linked to a few of the posts on last weeks challenge. All of them are listed in this week’s challenge if you want to catch them all up. Don’t forget, there is a 30 day payout period so it is not too late to upvote the posts.

The first real Steemit Halloween Pumpkin with Logo

I’ll be upfront. I do not like Halloween. Having said that, I can appreciate some of the artistry that goes into the theme and this post has some nice ones

Do You Eat Food When You Travel? Me Too!

@supergoodliving didn’t waste anytime. This is an entry into the Positivity Challenge # 2 listed above. A well written piece on eating international cuisines because for some reason when @supergoodliving travels… it involves eating.

What is the origin of life and how did it first begin?

@kevinwong is not actually going to answer the question that has befuddled scientists from the beginning of ‘time?’. He is going to share his musings on the topic and you may find them interesting.

5 secret codes hidden in famous paintings.

I don’t normally bother with video posts but the enduring mystic of Leonardo Da Vinci caught my eye with @so-guitarist’s post. It’s six minutes of food for thought. No real proof of anything.

Comparing Facebook history with Steemit

@acidyo posts a comparison of the early development of Facebook and in particular their IPO and Steemit. Interesting read.

Wild Apple Blossom

I live in a major apple producing area of Ontario so it doesn’t take much to grab my attention about apples during apple season. I love freshly harvested apples.

What makes me happy? #Project positivity

A well written post by @giantbear about how she came through an unhappy time in her childhood and found what makes her happy in adulthood.

Should We Have The Basic Right To End Our Lives?

In June Canada passed medically assisted dying legislation allowing those who are approaching death and meets the eligibility criteria to have medical assistance to die. The legislation is more restrictive than many would like but it is a start. I have always believed that when death due to an illness is inevitable, the person should be able to choose to die with dignity.

Wrap-up on Day 27

Some interesting posts today on a variety of subjects. My hope to have part of the day tomorrow to just work on writing went out the window. I have to fill in on the bar to cover for another staff member. Another volunteer day. The joys of leadership :)

Supporting and Upvoting

Let’s not forget folks. I’m sharing these posts not only because I like them. I’d really like to see them get support and upvoting. I know some of the posts have done okay by the time I post my ramble, but some really could use the support and upvoting.

Subscribing to My Posts

In addition to following me on Steemit, which I really appreciate. If you want to be sure to know about every post, you can subscribe at my other blog. I’ll send you an email when I post.

Until Tomorrow — Just Steem on



If you like this, please follow me and upvote the post.

If you’d like to see the other days I’ve posted, just visit my profile

If you’d like to be notified when I post next, join my mailing list here.


Sort:  

Thank you for featuring my post!

Thanks for the feature. Taking a look at some of the selection :)

you're welcome. Hope you found some good reads :)

I will start an RSS feed, thank you for the additional great reads from fellow members! Nature gives and takes without bias, thank you for mentioning my apple blossom post! My family owned apple orchards in Odell Oregon since 1873!

it was a good post and very well presented. Personal connection to writing often helps.

Thank you, I am on a steep learning curve here, (cryptocurrency, buying, selling, trading), trying to present my work in a professional manner, learning a little bit of html and markdown. I want to set up a little store and sell stuff too.

Thank you for feature my Post

@shadowpub - same here - many thanks for mentioning my post! Looks like a good selection offering a great overview. Well done!

A very good and diversified collection of posts.

thank you .. sort of like my mind. Diversified :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62613.64
ETH 2438.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67