What makes me happy? #Project positivity

in #positivity8 years ago (edited)

                        

Image credit

Happiness is a mental or emotional state of  well-being defined by positive or pleasant emotions ranging from  contentment to intense joy. Happy mental states may also reflect judgements by a person about their overall well-being. 

When I was a small girl we lived in a small town.  I was born and raised there.  I grew up there.  I was a very happy person and did not even know about all the evil in the world.  I was myself. I had no issues, I was friendly and I had many friends.  I loved to read and I even loved going to school.  I always knew that my destiny was to work with children and to become a teacher.  When I was thirteen years old, my whole life changed.  

We moved.  

My father was promoted and we packed up our happy little happy lives and moved to a big city. From the first day, I was unhappy.  I tried my best not to show my unhappiness, but this move, somehow changed me.  My whole life fell apart.  I became a total introvert.  I did not make friends, and I did not WANT to make friends.  I did not care much about anything anymore.  I started to pick up weight, and blamed my unhappiness on my weight-gain. I no longer cared about myself. 

It is very easy to say that children adapt to their situation.  This is not always true.  I struggled to adapt.

We lived there for three years, and up to today, I have blocked that sad time out of my life.  I can't remember anyone from that time in my life.  Later we moved to a small town again and I started to regain my life back.  I made new friends and felt better about myself that I have in a few years.  Some of my friends I made in the new town, I still have today (including my sister in law who is also my best friend.)     

Later when I became a teacher I started to feel more content.  Teaching is hard work, and not always the best job in the world.  The money is never enough, and we struggle to get through the month sometimes, but I would not do anything else in the world.   To be a teacher made me feel free again.  Teaching makes me happy.  The thirst for knowledge from certain students are never ending.  

There is no better feeling than to know that YOU made a change in someones' life.  

I have taught many students over the years, and I still have contact with many of them on a regular basis.  Most of them are married now, and have their own lives, but I know that there are some students, whose lives changed because of me.....  

I still teach, although in a different scenario these days, but I still have contact with students on a daily basis.  I still have the chance to motivate them, to help and support them and possibly to change someone else's life.  

                                      

Image credit

My greatest motto in life is to do the things that makes you happy.  We all have to do things that we don't like sometimes, but that is just part of life.  I motivate my student's to follow their dreams.  We spent most of our daily lives at work, and to be in the wrong job scenario, can be the most demotivating experience you may ever have. This causes stress, and sometimes even depression. In turn depression causes unhappy lives, and that in turn affects relationships and influence families. 

I will motivate anyone to quit any job that makes them unhappy.  

The world already is a sad enough place, so why would you want to make yourself unhappy? I had many issues earlier in my life and it all started when my life crumbled when I was thirteen years old. Later I went through a terrible divorce but I now believe that everything in life happens for a reason.  

We are where we are, because we're supposed to be at a specific place at a specific time.  

Today I am much older and wiser.  I am content.  My job makes me happy.  My husband makes me happy. (I remarried) I have two wonderful kids that makes me happy.  I am so proud of myself to know that I brought up two very well balanced children.  I now live in a small town down at the coast.  I go down to the beach everyday, and even if I just sit in the car and watch the ocean, I still feel happy.  I am where I'm supposed to be in life.  And I know that I will be happy here for the rest of my life.  

                           

 If you enjoyed reading this, please follow me @giantbear

Sort:  

hello @giantbear, I stopped back to let you know that your post was one of my favourite reads and is included in today's Steemit Ramble. You can read what I said about it here.

Thank you @shadowspub. Appreciate your effort here.

you're welcome

it's a pleasure to support a positive project... no pun intended.

I am where I'm supposed to be in life. And I know that I will be happy here for the rest of my life.

Steem on!

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.4. Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise.

Built by @ontofractal

Nailed it dude. Absolutely nailed it. We LOVED this.

Thank you @positivity. I appreciate it. You tell me what to write and I will write it. Have a possible idea for next weeks challenge. Will chat to you privately. Thanks for the good work.

That last quote really sticks in my throat - excellent original work worthy of $'s!

Thank you @mindhunter. I hope so. LOL...feel a bit lost here these days.

Stick with it. It took me 2000 posts before I got my first viral post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.17
JST 0.032
BTC 63686.15
ETH 2727.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59