Nov 7 - Steemit Ramble #45 - Don't You Hate it When You Miss Good Posts?

in #curation7 years ago

We heard from @ned and @dantheman on Friday and the price of STEEM shot up. The price has come back down some over the weekend so it will be interesting to see if it settles. There are changes coming and fairly quickly it seems.

The proposed changes to the platform seem to be generally being received with a positive tone. I’ll share the link below in case you’ve not seen their post.

Another week of crazy time for me offline and there will be a slight easing of my time away. I’ll get a break today as my Bar Manager will be training a new volunteer and I wont be covering the Monday shift on the bar

Yesterday was the traditional Church Parade. That means, some of us showed up at our Chaplain’s church for a service of Remembrance. I wrote about it here yesterday.

Next Friday is Remembrance Day, a very big day in the Legion. A lot of time this week will go into meetings and walk thru to make sure the details for the parade and service in the morning are in place as well as the agenda for the dinner in the evening is properly setup.

Onward to today’s rambling

Proposed Changes to Steem Economy

As mentioned above, @dantheman and @ned have issued a post through the @steemitblog account proposing changes to Steemit going forward. I’ll let you read the proposed changes yourself.

You also need to read the comments to get a stronger sense of how the proposals are being received and you may want to post your own. They have asked for people to comment on the post in order for them to get a sense of community feeling on the proposed changes.

Thoughts on Steemit, Various Ways to Earn and Hopes for the Future

@sykochica writes a mostly interesting post about what is going on with Steemit now that can help people make good use of the platform, what some of the upcoming features are expected and her comments on what she’d like to see.

One of her wishlist items is wanting to see gamification of the site. She’s not the only one I’ve seen suggest this. I personally think it is not a positive for the site. This is a blogging platform. If I wanted to be on a gaming platform I’d go to one. I don’t need my blogging turned into gaming.

SteemIt fork coming, changes for the good, and hey, I'm at the 'hero' level

@oaldamster writes about reaching ‘hero’ level with his vests on Steemit. He also gives us his take on how the new changes will make a difference on how STEEM is produced and distributed. One of the clearest reads I’ve come across yet.

3D Drawings that will leave you in AWE!!!

@michaellamden68 shows us some amazing 3-D art by Julian Beever, an English chalk artist. Some really amazing drawings here.

2 STEEMIT RANDOM QUESTIONS: What is your Steemit Resteem Rate? And Why Is Original Content Declining On Steemit?

Resteeming was introduced with a lot of positive response. I haven’t done any resteeming. Mainly because to me, the Ramble is a form of resteeming when I share links to my favourite reads. @mindhunter suggests that maybe some do too much resteeming and there isn’t as much original content being produced. That we’re becoming a bit like Facebook with posts being repeated all over. What do you think?

Writers Discovered After Their Death

@rgeddes writes about writers not appreciated until after they died. If we’ve earned anything on Steemit, we’ve likely earned more in our lives than these people did in theirs. Sometimes, success is about perspective.

How to Track STEEM & Other Cryptocurrencies from your Desktop in Real Time

If you are interested in seeing what the value of bitcoin or other cryptocurrencies like STEEM are at any time then this is a neat little utility. I installed it on Windows 10. It resides in my system tray until I want to have a look at what is going on. I can also select different fiat currencies to view the values in.

When I stumbled upon Steemit

@norman-deplume writes about how he found Steemit and why he likes it better than Facebook. Welcome aboard @norman-deplume, hope you enjoy your time here.

How to Prepare for Meditation?

@meditationtalks describes the basics on how to get started on meditation. In our busy busy world, it seems there is a strong benefit to taking time to focus and quiet the mind even for a few minutes.

Writer's Block? 10 Ideas for Your Next Post on Steemit

@susanne provides some ideas on post topics for Steemit. It’s not always easy to come up with topics to write about.

Wrap-up on Day 45

Was a pleasure to be home today. I wasn’t completely away from doing Legion business but at least I didn’t have to leave to do so.

I’ve purposely stayed away from political posts on my rambles. I suspect most of you will have had a belly full before tomorrow’s finished. Course, that will likely start off a round of dissecting how the vote went and why.

Being a Canadian, I usually give only a cursory amount of interesting when it comes to American elections but I have to admit, this one is drawing more attention and not exactly good attention.

Supporting and Upvoting

Let’s not forget folks. I’m sharing these posts not only because I like them. I’d really like to see them get support and upvoting. I know some of the posts have done okay by the time I post my ramble, but some really could use the support and upvoting.

Subscribing to My Posts

In addition to following me on Steemit, which I really appreciate. If you want to be sure to know about every post, you can subscribe at my other blog. I’ll send you an email when I post.

Until Tomorrow — Just Steem on



If you like this, please follow me and upvote the post.

If you’d like to see the other days I’ve posted, just visit my profile

If you’d like to be notified when I post next, join my mailing list here.


Sort:  

@mindhunter APPROVES this post - thank you for including me :))

LOL thank you @mindhunter, what would we do without approval :)

No problem, I've always got time for quality posts; if I'm in them or not ;)

I was interested in your comment about gamification on Steemit. I understand your perspective that Steemit is not a gaming site. But what about introducing fun goals and rewards within the social aspect of Steemit? For example, what about listing ways that people can earn badges for doing things on Steemit. That's pretty much what your minnow and verification badges represent -- a game where you are meeting goals and collecting badges.

The reason I'm asking is that I would like to do things to encourage people to engage -- post, comment, and try things in real life -- related to the Foraging and Gardening tags. Some challenges, like the photography challenge, seem to do pretty well. But other efforts haven't gone over so well. Anyway, thanks for your Steemit Ramble. I always seem to find something interesting that I've missed.

There is a difference between incentives being introduced by individuals to encourage participation and the gamification system-wide. Right now there is some system-wide to a degree; followers, posts and reputation. It's lowkey and members can either take notice or not.

the minnow badge is something I can take part in or ignore. Nothing wrong with that. As for the verification badge.. that stems from the attitude on the system that one needs to prove they are real. The badge is preferable to the silliness of a picture of myself holding a Steem logo.

Thanks for your perspective, @shadowspub. I'm not much for a selfie of me holding a Steem logo, either, lol. Some folks are pretty creative with it, though. It is interesting to see all the different ways folks try to encourage participation.

yes it is very interesting... i think Steemit is going to go up up up in participation

That's the spirit! Your rambles help people find posts worth staying for, too.

thank you ... I'm just working on one now. Hope to have out later today

@shadowspub Thank you for finding interest in my post to add it. So far, I've been enjoying my experience here at steemit and anticipates that it gets better and better.

It is a great place.. Where else can we earn for posting what we want.

Excellent post my friend @shadowspub congratulations

thank you.. glad you enjoyed it

Hi! Thank you for mentioning me! It's much appreciated.

thank you for your good post to share :)

TY! :)

I would say that the gamification is more in the motivator sense of either the feel of leveling up (like we see with rep) and having things we are proud to show off (like badges) to present things that the user has achieved to others. While I'm also a fan of seeing things from the site integrated into games themselves, that would be something outside the platform, like steemstars (that pulls in a users followers, rep, etc. from steemit into the game for various uses.) But this part is rather distinct than on-site gamification.

We're going to disagree on this for sure @sykochica. As I said on another comment, accounts that offer items like badges or whatever I have no issue with. If Steemit wants to offer them and it remains a choice for each user to decide on, I have no issue. When it happens without there being choice, I object and strongly.

If Steem decides to allow gamification that allows followers pulled into games for various uses then I'll be unfollowing anyone who accesses it.

This happened on Facebook, pulling friends into game notices and promotion etc. I unfriended more than a few who subjected me to this unwanted intrusion. When they finally smartened up and provided an option to block the notices that was somewhat of an improvement.

There are games I play on Facebook, but I feel it should by my choice to ask friends to become involved. When I find out a game is sending my friends notices without my permission, I terminate the game.

This is a writing platform. If I want a game platform, I will go find one. The strength of Steemit is the content it generates.

I'm ok with us agreeing to disagree. I can see your points, even if I differ.

I do see the split between using gamification/psychology on site as a way to keep people engaged and feeling like they are growing..for example earning a Mentor Level 3 badge to show off...and the outside games (which I agree can cause issues if people try to simply maximize game stats vs learn helpful things like how build up organic followers.) But I def don't want to see spammy game invitations any which way.

we have similar now.. with the reputation, steempower, followers etc .. simple and easy to recognize without clutter

True, I just personally see small non-invasive ways to show what 'roles' people have filled or are performing to be a nice addition to that. Examples being mentoring or certain curation guilds/trails they are a part of. But again, I can see how that could be done poorly with it getting overwhelming on the page and/or some people just not really caring for that sort of thing.

I'll admit that I come from a gamer mentality where things like that are the norm for me to see.

will be interesting to see what they end up trying.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94