You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Nov 7 - Steemit Ramble #45 - Don't You Hate it When You Miss Good Posts?

in #curation7 years ago

TY! :)

I would say that the gamification is more in the motivator sense of either the feel of leveling up (like we see with rep) and having things we are proud to show off (like badges) to present things that the user has achieved to others. While I'm also a fan of seeing things from the site integrated into games themselves, that would be something outside the platform, like steemstars (that pulls in a users followers, rep, etc. from steemit into the game for various uses.) But this part is rather distinct than on-site gamification.

Sort:  

We're going to disagree on this for sure @sykochica. As I said on another comment, accounts that offer items like badges or whatever I have no issue with. If Steemit wants to offer them and it remains a choice for each user to decide on, I have no issue. When it happens without there being choice, I object and strongly.

If Steem decides to allow gamification that allows followers pulled into games for various uses then I'll be unfollowing anyone who accesses it.

This happened on Facebook, pulling friends into game notices and promotion etc. I unfriended more than a few who subjected me to this unwanted intrusion. When they finally smartened up and provided an option to block the notices that was somewhat of an improvement.

There are games I play on Facebook, but I feel it should by my choice to ask friends to become involved. When I find out a game is sending my friends notices without my permission, I terminate the game.

This is a writing platform. If I want a game platform, I will go find one. The strength of Steemit is the content it generates.

I'm ok with us agreeing to disagree. I can see your points, even if I differ.

I do see the split between using gamification/psychology on site as a way to keep people engaged and feeling like they are growing..for example earning a Mentor Level 3 badge to show off...and the outside games (which I agree can cause issues if people try to simply maximize game stats vs learn helpful things like how build up organic followers.) But I def don't want to see spammy game invitations any which way.

we have similar now.. with the reputation, steempower, followers etc .. simple and easy to recognize without clutter

True, I just personally see small non-invasive ways to show what 'roles' people have filled or are performing to be a nice addition to that. Examples being mentoring or certain curation guilds/trails they are a part of. But again, I can see how that could be done poorly with it getting overwhelming on the page and/or some people just not really caring for that sort of thing.

I'll admit that I come from a gamer mentality where things like that are the norm for me to see.

will be interesting to see what they end up trying.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63701.36
ETH 3076.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81