SteemIt fork coming, changes for the good, and hey, I'm at the 'hero' level

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

While I'm still recovering from the worst cold I had in years, I am looking back a bit at my time at SteemIt. Inbetween reading some posts, valueing and resteeming here and there. Looking through some figures at SteemD, noticed that I had reached the level 'hero' already at 10 million vests, a while back. But the step from 10 to 100, for the 'super hero' level is very far away. Not even thinking about getting to 'legend', starting at 1.000 million, or a billion, vests and up.

It would take about 4300 US Dollar for me to buy me enough Steem Power to get to 'super hero' level. Or about 10 posts in trending, but that would have to make me over 430 US $ in value. Or invest in a computer system that could run as a full Witness. The numbers are almost mind boggling, can not think straight enough yet, so I think I leave it here for now. And I reside myself in having reached the 'hero' level. Made that mostly through posting and curating, since the 26th of may 2016.

Of course it grew also thanks to the rewards I get for holding Steem Power. That got to about 1 Steem Power per hour, but that is going to change after the hardfork. It is getting much lower, but, on the other hand the inflation of Steem will drop a lot.

But economics is almost like predicting the weather. So it cannot be said for sure that this will result in a rise in asking price for Steem on the market. No every 3,5 year resetting needed anymore though, making it far less complex to understand. Far less Steem created every round, we'll have to see how this works out in every day practise. This would make Steem become relatively more scarse, but that does not guarantee anything. Tuesday the 8th of november 2016 hard fork version 0.15 will go live.

The numbers, what do they mean

As far as I know the inflation was at about 800 Steem per minute, this can be seen as 100%. Now according to a recent post of Daniel Larimer. SteemIt CEO and developer, about the economical changes, this will drop to 9.5% for the total reward pools. This would be 76 Steem per minute. Of this 75% is going into the reward pool, or 57 Steem per minute. The 19 Steem left will be going in 7,6 Steem for the Witnesses and 11.4 Steem will be divided amongst the Steem Power holders. At least that is how I came to understand it. But remember I'm occupied in my head by phlegm. So if you think that overtook my clear thought then feel free to clearify in a reply.

Going from a 100% inflation to 9,5 percent per year is quite a drop. And when you look at it relatively this percentage of the complete marketcapacity of Steem will drop every year. Inflation will become more of a fraction of the total amount of Steem available on the market, every following year. And it could leave room to rise it some, when needed. But for now it could, logically reasoned, result in a significant rise in the market price for Steem. Or in other words, you might see a rise in the value of your account again.

Also, if I remember correctly the ChainBase technology will become implemented. Which could mean a large step forward, as a part of Graphene 2.0, also for Bitshares and others that use that Blockchain motor. With ChainBase not all data needs to be stored in RAM memory any more at once, but it can be loaded in pages, meaning parts. Hope I did not over simplefy things here too much... If I did, please feel free to reply.

This developement will be another big step forward, for SteemIt and all the other Graphene based blockchain apps.

Exciting changes, close to SteemFest

Once again changes are coming that are going to make a big difference in the overall SteemIt experience. And some that could have an immidiate effect on the price developement of Steem. And remember you'll get the best price on the internal market, when you trade Steem for Steem Backed Dollar and vica versa. Would be nice if at 11-12-13 november there would be some extra reason to cheer for. But I think it is going to be awesome anyway...

Well, so far this post, hard to focus, so time for me to step away from the screen again.

Stay healthy, and have a good one!


Image cc-by-sa @oaldamster

  • 50/50 payout post

♨ Hard fork 0.15.0 coming tuesday 8/11/2016!

Sort:  


Hi @oaldamster, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads today and I included it in my Steemit Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

Congratulations @oaldamster for reaching hero level.
Thank you for the information. Always appreciate it.

Glad to hear you are recovering. Abientot.

Merci bien @bleujay, glad I can be of service.

Abientot!

Congratulations on reaching hero level. I hope you feel better soon

Thank you very much! And I feeling better every day.

@oaldamster ha ha!
that guy's face - hahah - I have to hold my fingers from typing out what I think about it.
I saw that hard fork notice and wonder what on earth is that about
thanks for writing about it!

How nice of you to hold back to spare my feelings @englishtchrivy, hahaha.

Hope the text was clear enough, my head is still a little fuzzy.

That was a really clear explanation! I'm glad I came here from the Steemit Ramble.

Congratulations, quite the milestone!!

Thanks! Yes, it is, glad I made it so far.

Good job! I've also hit 10 MVests few days ago and joined the hero rank.

Thanks! Congratulations to you also.
Next level, here we come! ;-)

Congratulations. Thanks for sharing. Great post and happy to upvote and share this on Twitter✔ for my followers to read. Now following and looking forward to reading more of your stuff. Cheers. Stephen
https://twitter.com/StephenPKendal/status/795683899808563200

StephenPKendal Stephen P Kendal tweeted @ 07 Nov 2016 - 17:46 UTC

SteemIt fork coming, changes for the good, and hey, I'm at the 'hero' level..!! @Steemit

steemit.com/steemit/@oalda… / https://t.co/lNFulEHD3k

Disclaimer: I am just a bot trying to be helpful.

Thank you.
And thank you for tweeting my post, I do appreciate it very much.

Followed you in return.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56697.29
ETH 2390.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29