Jan 7 -- Steemit Ramble #54 -- Don't You Hate Missing Good Posts?

in #curation8 years ago

One thing I’m really loving about doing the ramble is the seeking out posts of all types, I am constantly reminded that while some aspects of Steemit may be in turmoil, lots of people are quietly carrying on producing and posting content in the true spirit of the community.

Like a lot of people around me right now, I’ve been fighting a bad cold for the last week. Drains the energy out of you real quick. I’ve been managing to keep up with my offline activity but online has been paying the price. Starting to feel better so, time to steem on.

Onward to today’s rambling

Are lawyers actually a good choice when electing people to political offices?

@dwinblood writes an interesting opinion piece exploring if lawyers make the best choice for politicians. We often drop into a mindset that lawyers make good lawmakers because of their knowledge of the law. @dwinblood looks at them from the perspective of their training and how they are trained to argue a position regardless of the truth of that position. Is there any wonder we can’t see politicians as honest?

I'll Just Flag This Post Myself, Thanks! (Original Note and Artwork)

@therealpaul considers committing a post suicide by flagging his own post. It would be a way to test out the flag. He doesn’t understand how it works but by flagging himself, he’ll test it without harming others. In the end, despite his ingestion of liquid courage, he didn’t flag himself but he did share some nice sketches of his.

Attention Canadians! A Steemit Logo For Us

@darkflame played around a bit and came up with his suggestion for a Canadian centred logo. That sparked a few others to show off their suggestions. I threw one in that picks up on Canada’s 150th. Course it would only be good for 2017, but hey, it’s our year to celebrate.

Social inequality spawns the African-American civil rights revolution

@elumni writes an interesting post about the civil rights revolution of the 1950s and 60s. I became aware of what was going on in the broader world during the late 60s. I think in many ways learning and watching the struggle of the blacks in the US and the dismantling of apartheid in South Africa later instilled a strong sense of the need for social justice in me.

I would credit the book “Black Like Me” written in 1961 by John Howard Griffin as being a true eye-opener for me. Griffin was a white reporter who was able to disguise himself as a black person in the southern US and then document the day to day discrimination he experienced.

Canada isn’t much better. We just need to look to the history of the residential school system to see our own discrimination against first nations people.

The photograph of the day Beautiful fantasy images

From the darkness of social inequality let’s change direction to the bright and vivid fantasy imagery that @jlufer shares with us in his post. The artistry of fantasy graphics always fascinates me.

The Importance of Comment Voting

@kevinwong posts about the importance of upvoting comments on posts. Not to mention actually commenting when the posts speaks to you in some way. I am guilty of not commenting a lot but I most certainly read through the comments and will upvote the ones I like. I’ve been surprised recently to notice curation rewards showing up on my account for comments I have upvoted.

So, yes, over time, those little gestures make a difference for the writers and the curators. Wouldn’t be the first time where I’ve liked a post but been unsure if I wanted to included it in the Ramble and found myself swayed by the discussion the post generated.

BTC, the sky falling, and what is going on in the market with STEEM and Alt Coins.

@timbo has written a great post that even the most new of newbies to bitcoin can understand about the fluctuations going on in the value of it right now. I know, cause I’m one of those newbie bitcoin types. I have a bit of it that I bought from what I earned here on Steemit. I haven’t tried doing any trading with it, I just am holding it to see what the value does.

When Life Gives You Too Much Citrus Make Marmalade!

I have been waiting a while to be able to do this. @artemisnorth is my sister and this is her first post. I will admit my bias but I’m pretty proud of my sis, she’s a pretty smart lady and very talented.

my life story part.1

@remingtonreadey is new to Steemit as well, he’s twelve. I’m impressed with the detail and awareness he’s writing with on a very personal and difficult subject. Let’s give @remingtonreadey some support as he develops.

Wrap-up on Day 54

Another interesting day on Steemit. Lots of variety of posts that I read every day when I’m doing the Ramble. There is something new to learn every day.

Supporting and Upvoting

Let’s not forget folks. I’m sharing these posts not only because I like them. I’d really like to see them get support and upvoting. I know some of the posts have done okay by the time I post my ramble, but some really could use the support and upvoting.

Subscribing to My Posts

In addition to following me on Steemit, which I really appreciate. If you want to be sure to know about every post, you can subscribe at my other blog. I’ll send you an email when I post.

Until Tomorrow — Just Steem on



If you like this, please follow me and upvote the post.

If you’d like to see the other days I’ve posted, just visit my profile

If you’d like to be notified when I post next, join my mailing list here.


Sort:  

I enjoy reading this ramble post of yours.....thanks! I introduced myself to your sister as well.

Thank you .. and I noticed your intro to @artemisnorth. Nice to see you don't live far away from her. I'm about 4 hours from her.

Thank you for including me! I hope you enjoy my future stories.

I've seen a few of your stories.. you are definitely one to follow :)

Thank you for enjoying my work and including it in your Ramble for today.

You're welcome ... keep up the great work.

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jan 08. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $5.82 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 08 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Excellent post dear friend @shadowspub, congratulations to those mentioned of the day
Thank you very much for including my work
reesteemit el post

thank you jlufer .. you're very kind

Very nice post an thank you for includeing me in it

thank you @remingtonreadey... keep up the good work, you're going to be a great writer.

You have a new follower my new friend!

Thank you for the mention and I am so glad to have insight on why you liked my post. I Hope you feel better as I also caught a cold and I hope your fades fast!

Steem on and have an awesome day!
~Timbo

Thank you @timbo I started following you the other day and glad I did. As long as the cold doesn't go to bronchitis.. I'm ahead of the game. Hope you feel better soon as well.

OH man it would be horrible if your cold changed.

Wish you the best man! Glad to know I have another person that likes my posts!

it would be but like us all, I'd deal with it. I suspect more than a few like your posts @timbo. :) Steem ON

Haha, well thank you very much for the kind words!

Steeming on!

Thank you for doing these Rambles, and I'm feeling honored to be included on this list. I know there are lots of good posts to choose from here!

there are some very good posts and I also sift through some really bad ones so it makes me really happy to share the good ones.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65017.48
ETH 3454.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50