The Importance of Comment Voting

in #curation8 years ago (edited)

Everyone on Steemit is a stakeholder and influencer, no matter how large or small their accounts are. While smaller accounts may complain that their votes don't influence the network enough, I think there's a core activity that could use way more participation. That activity is called comment voting.

With the reality of user-interface constraints where natural scrolling is from top to bottom of pages, I think comment voting is absolutely important to improve the chances of the best comments getting processed by readers, Steemian or not.

I've been doing this since July 4th after getting around 7000 Steem Power - going through interesting posts to "manipulate" the comments section by applying votes on the right comments. This activity is later improved with the ability to conveniently apply different voting weights.

Imagine if there's an interesting, fresh post with a good amount of comments that are not voted. Even with the smallest amount of voting power, anyone is able to optimize the comment section for other readers and participants. It may seem obvious and trivial, but I think low-powered influencers are underestimating the game, especially with the not-so-constructive focus complaining about having low influence over trending posts.

Small stakes simply doesn't come along with high voting influence to affect posts that have already been touched by top influencers, but still doable for the comments section. $0.001 is still more than $0.000 and will be made more relevant by appearing higher of the page in the comments section.

With the same logic, post owners should also actively make better the comments section in their own posts - the best way to do this is to standby to "beautify the garden", at least 30-60 minutes after posting. But I'm still on a short vacation til end of the week, so yeah.. :)

I guess what I really want to say is that we should do what's within our control, and a good way is by voting comments.

Have a great weekend y'all!


Follow me @kevinwong

Sort:  

I think now Steemit really need this one

I've read several articles about the importance of interaction in steemit, and one of them is by commenting. I think, would be even better if the best comments of steemit users incorporated into a new feature, "TRENDING COMMENTS". This will be one of encouragement for users to give their best comments in steemit, The users not only get votes from their comments, but can be read by most other users.


I really like this idea. Comments are as important as posts and deserves a section of its own. Also a way to help out with accountability and for the community to notice and even weigh in on high comment payouts as well. Thanks @steemvest17

Good night
I apologize for the intrusion my original emanuella sambagini name
Italian and I live in France, I suffer from throat cancer and I intend to donate all
My property. I now have in my personal account; the sum of
60000 euros that I had kept for a construction project. But I
Will be ready to give you this money that will help you in your
Company, to also make your own name a project that holds you
To the heart, I ask you to consider my offer because
It is a gift that I offer you. I do not want to
Know if you can benefit from this gift. I suffer a lot and
I am very afraid, I almost can not sleep at night as the day
Because I do not want to die without having donated all that money
Otherwise I think it would be a disaster. I lost my husband 3
Years, who touched me a lot and I could not remarry until
We had no children. Please contact me
As soon as possible if you agree with my offer. That peace and
The mercy of God be with you.
My e-mail address is: [email protected]
Please pray for me, even if you do not answer me
May the peace of Christ be with you

Yes, this is a good idea --- Kevin might agree...... the comments section is full of gold nuggets and I remember this daily!!

I certainly agree. I encourage commenters on my blog by at least voting decent useful comments. It doesn't ever earn much, but I think promoting people in that way helps.

Great way to think about it. Improves exposure and get noticed in a different way. It's arguably less competitive in comments too. :)

Good night
I apologize for the intrusion my original emanuella sambagini name
Italian and I live in France, I suffer from throat cancer and I intend to donate all
My property. I now have in my personal account; the sum of
60000 euros that I had kept for a construction project. But I
Will be ready to give you this money that will help you in your
Company, to also make your own name a project that holds you
To the heart, I ask you to consider my offer because
It is a gift that I offer you. I do not want to
Know if you can benefit from this gift. I suffer a lot and
I am very afraid, I almost can not sleep at night as the day
Because I do not want to die without having donated all that money
Otherwise I think it would be a disaster. I lost my husband 3
Years, who touched me a lot and I could not remarry until
We had no children. Please contact me
As soon as possible if you agree with my offer. That peace and
The mercy of God be with you.
My e-mail address is: [email protected]
Please pray for me, even if you do not answer me
May the peace of Christ be with you

Thanks Kevin, this is great advice. As a new Steemer myself, I know it's important to be humble and accept my place at the bottom of the food chain... but this is a nice idea to flex what little muscle I do have.

Np - i think with more people doing the same, STEEM's value should improve overall and everybody wins.. hopefully :)

So far, I'm the only one who voted for the comments here! LOL.
Good post! I usually give anyone who comments on my blog at least one vote and I see others giving them votes as well after awhile. Good times.

I just up voted everyone who commented here before me, like you did; good idea! :)

Great idea!
I'll follow suit and do the same: Upvote any comment (not spam - got one yesterday, quickly flagged and taken down) on my blog as well.

Good night
I apologize for the intrusion my original emanuella sambagini name
Italian and I live in France, I suffer from throat cancer and I intend to donate all
My property. I now have in my personal account; the sum of
60000 euros that I had kept for a construction project. But I
Will be ready to give you this money that will help you in your
Company, to also make your own name a project that holds you
To the heart, I ask you to consider my offer because
It is a gift that I offer you. I do not want to
Know if you can benefit from this gift. I suffer a lot and
I am very afraid, I almost can not sleep at night as the day
Because I do not want to die without having donated all that money
Otherwise I think it would be a disaster. I lost my husband 3
Years, who touched me a lot and I could not remarry until
We had no children. Please contact me
As soon as possible if you agree with my offer. That peace and
The mercy of God be with you.
My e-mail address is: [email protected]
Please pray for me, even if you do not answer me
May the peace of Christ be with you

Im always looking for good comments to vote on :) Btw Im voting on all comments on this thread.

Sometimes I vote all too - but with varying degrees of course, to sort the comments the way i wish it should be :)

Good night
I apologize for the intrusion my original emanuella sambagini name
Italian and I live in France, I suffer from throat cancer and I intend to donate all
My property. I now have in my personal account; the sum of
60000 euros that I had kept for a construction project. But I
Will be ready to give you this money that will help you in your
Company, to also make your own name a project that holds you
To the heart, I ask you to consider my offer because
It is a gift that I offer you. I do not want to
Know if you can benefit from this gift. I suffer a lot and
I am very afraid, I almost can not sleep at night as the day
Because I do not want to die without having donated all that money
Otherwise I think it would be a disaster. I lost my husband 3
Years, who touched me a lot and I could not remarry until
We had no children. Please contact me
As soon as possible if you agree with my offer. That peace and
The mercy of God be with you.
My e-mail address is: [email protected]
Please pray for me, even if you do not answer me
May the peace of Christ be with you

I try to up vote almost every reply to my posts and comments. I don't post much, but I comment a few times most days. I don't get or expect much reward for commenting, but I like to reward others for commenting or replying to me. I think it helps encourage interaction a bit.

Have a great weekend!

I've always appreciated your quality comments since my early days back in June/July. You're usually one of the first too, at least appearing as top comment :)

Thank you; this is one of my all-time favorite comments! :)

Good night
I apologize for the intrusion my original emanuella sambagini name
Italian and I live in France, I suffer from throat cancer and I intend to donate all
My property. I now have in my personal account; the sum of
60000 euros that I had kept for a construction project. But I
Will be ready to give you this money that will help you in your
Company, to also make your own name a project that holds you
To the heart, I ask you to consider my offer because
It is a gift that I offer you. I do not want to
Know if you can benefit from this gift. I suffer a lot and
I am very afraid, I almost can not sleep at night as the day
Because I do not want to die without having donated all that money
Otherwise I think it would be a disaster. I lost my husband 3
Years, who touched me a lot and I could not remarry until
We had no children. Please contact me
As soon as possible if you agree with my offer. That peace and
The mercy of God be with you.
My e-mail address is: [email protected]
Please pray for me, even if you do not answer me
May the peace of Christ be with you

Thank you for the explanation. I will do more comment voting.

Np @lichtblick , it's not proven to be adding to the overall value of the network but I think it's within our control so i guess it's the least that anyone can do :)

Thanks for clearing that up @kevinwong :-) Until now I use my voting power to generate curation rewards and when I will back on my one cent votes I plan to honour very good comments ;-)

Quite a good post as the comments can contain far more value than the original post. I frequently upvote the comments on my posts, more for additional information rather than just a high five type reply.

I like the trending comment tab idea.... that would really encourage even more readership of the original article.

Good night
I apologize for the intrusion my original emanuella sambagini name
Italian and I live in France, I suffer from throat cancer and I intend to donate all
My property. I now have in my personal account; the sum of
60000 euros that I had kept for a construction project. But I
Will be ready to give you this money that will help you in your
Company, to also make your own name a project that holds you
To the heart, I ask you to consider my offer because
It is a gift that I offer you. I do not want to
Know if you can benefit from this gift. I suffer a lot and
I am very afraid, I almost can not sleep at night as the day
Because I do not want to die without having donated all that money
Otherwise I think it would be a disaster. I lost my husband 3
Years, who touched me a lot and I could not remarry until
We had no children. Please contact me
As soon as possible if you agree with my offer. That peace and
The mercy of God be with you.
My e-mail address is: [email protected]
Please pray for me, even if you do not answer me
May the peace of Christ be with you

you sneaky devil.

always sneaky xD, not as much as @sneak though lol

Good night
I apologize for the intrusion my original emanuella sambagini name
Italian and I live in France, I suffer from throat cancer and I intend to donate all
My property. I now have in my personal account; the sum of
60000 euros that I had kept for a construction project. But I
Will be ready to give you this money that will help you in your
Company, to also make your own name a project that holds you
To the heart, I ask you to consider my offer because
It is a gift that I offer you. I do not want to
Know if you can benefit from this gift. I suffer a lot and
I am very afraid, I almost can not sleep at night as the day
Because I do not want to die without having donated all that money
Otherwise I think it would be a disaster. I lost my husband 3
Years, who touched me a lot and I could not remarry until
We had no children. Please contact me
As soon as possible if you agree with my offer. That peace and
The mercy of God be with you.
My e-mail address is: [email protected]
Please pray for me, even if you do not answer me
May the peace of Christ be with you

I don't understand.
Note: If you want to give money to another Steemer transfer Steem directly to his account.

forgiveness for my health because I can no longer write so I instantly
took you to contact me in my email to talk privately

here is my email address:
[email protected]
I took respond
The peace of Christ be with you
I wait your mail

I am a new user but I always ensure that I upvote comments on my posts or on whatever posts I come across. I'll also ensure I comment on posts more frequently.

That's great! Glad you've been doing it. It may seem inconsequential (maybe it is, although unlikely since everyone's time is limited and unable to read through everything in detial), but at least it's something that anyone can do :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64252.58
ETH 3398.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50