When Life Gives You Too Much Citrus Make Marmalade!

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

Happy New Year Everyone! I hope the Holidays were good to you. Mine were great! It was an old fashioned Christmas. Each gift was hand made. I must admit I was a little nervous about this. Would everyone like what I made them? My worries were for nothing. Everyone seemed to love their gifts. Crisis avoided. LOL!

A friend of mine stopped by early this year with a FRUIT BASKET! I love fruit but honestly I didn’t think I could eat it before it started to turn. What to do? Hmmmm… Marmalade? YES!

I must warn you, I like my marmalade a little bitter. Must be the Brit in me. My Grandmother hooked me on many British treats, current jam, Early Grey tea, black current Earl Grey tea, marmalade ….. I could go on but I don’t want to bore you.

You can see in the picture that my oranges are varied and far from perfect but what is? I’m using three navel oranges, one tangerine and three clementines. I had a beautiful lime and decided to include it. (I’m glad I did) I’m going to show you that making marmalade isn’t as hard as you think.

The General Rule of Thumb when making marmalade is:
  • one orange
  • one tablespoon water
  • 1/2 cup sugar
How you cut your fruit determines the flavor:
  • cutting up the whole fruit and processing in a food processor will give you a bitter marmalade.
  • cutting the zest thinly from the fruit and discarding the pith will give you a sweeter marmalade.

Many people like to process their fruit in as many different ways. Some will use a mandolin and carefully slice it paper thin. I prefer simple methods. I cut mine into chunks and process it in a food processor. Easy and fast! So it’s entirely up to you how you slice them. I should mention at this point that you should wash your produce well before you start.

It’s important to have everything you need out and ready to use:
  • A large pot (There is a lot of sugar in this so you must make sure it won’t bubble out of the pot and burn you)
  • Large spoon – wooden or otherwise
  • Enough sealing jars to hold your marmalade
  • Candy thermometer
  • A large canning pot to process your jars (a large stock pot will work)
  • Ladle
  • Canning funnel
  • Tongs for handling your very hot jars
And BEGIN:
  1. Wash your fruit and process it however you choose. As I said I cut mine into chunks and use a food processor.
  2. In a large pot combine your fruit, water and sugar.
  3. Put the pot on a medium heat. Keep your eye on it. Once it starts to bubble reduce heat to medium low and stir frequently. Continue to simmer until the temperature reaches 220 degree F.
  4. While your marmalade is simmering bring your water to a boil in the canning pot to sterilize your jars. You don’t have to use mason jars. I keep jars from jams, pickles and pasta sauces because they work well for canning.
  5. Process your jars and lids for at least five minutes. You want them sterilized and hot! Remove from the pot with your tongs. BE CAREFUL! It’s easy to burn yourself. Set them up-side down on a clean tea towel to dry. Do the same with the lids.
  6. Once your marmalade reaches 220 degree F ladle the hot mixture CAREFULLY into your jars leaving about a quarter inch space at the top. With a damp cloth clean the tops of the jars to make sure you’ll have a good seal. Twist the lids on loosely. By this I mean twist them finger tight. Don’t over do it.
  7. Return the jars to the boiling water by setting them in upside-down. Process for 10 minutes.
  8. Carefully remove the jars and set them right side up on a tea towel and allow to cool for several hours. You will hear a POP when they cool enough to pull the center of the lid down to create the seal. I love that sound!

And you have your finished product! See? It wasn’t that hard.

I hope you enjoy the homemade goodness! I know I can’t wait to slather some on my toast tomorrow. Go forth and enjoy!

The post When Life Gives You Too Much Citrus Make Marmalade! appeared first on ArtemisNorth.

Sort:  

Hi @artemisnorth....I followed you here from @shadowspub 's post. Nice to meet a fellow Ontarian....we don't live too far from one another - maybe 2 hours, if that. Thanks for sharing your marmalade recipe. I have had marmalade in years and I also enjoy it a bit bitter....that's the scottish in me I suppose.
All the best on Steemit. I'm following you so I look forward to more posts - no pressure ;)

Indeed it's nice to meet a fellow Ontarian! Thanks for the warm welcome!

It really was. In fact I used antique brown paper from the old General Store we grew up in to wrap the gifts. I think we will do it again next year.

I do enjoy a good Marmelade. Please show more photos of the whole process.

Thanks for the input. I'll have to take more photos next time.

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jan 08. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $5.87 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 08 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Thank you so much for the welcome and compliments!

Ohhh, hey I may be young but I know the value of food and good recipies! Thank you for sharing this and I appreciate the high quality post, you have another follower, and maybe another friend!

Good luck to you and welcome to Steemit!
~@Timbo

Thanks Timbo! I look forward to getting to know you.

Ah, I am sure the pleasure is mine. I hope you post more recipes soon!
Heck post some videos of you making them, you could have your own Steemit Cooking show!

I have always wanted to do this because my buy to many mandarins and we can't ever eat them all!

Right? They draw you in by looking all bright and shiny.... then they start to fade. I'll bet mandarin marmalade is wonderful!

Yeah, what a trap. Yeah it probably is, thanks for the recipe!


Hi @artemisnorth, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads today and I included it in my Steemit Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

that's a sweet image.. your face matching my hair colour lol

Happy new year to you too
Great post lady @artemisnorth is extraordinary his work with mermeldas, congratulations

Thanks!! I appreciate your words.

Thank you for posting @artemisnorth. How very kind of you to bring this recipe to Steemit. Sounds lovely...always nice to have flexibility in a recipe....really appreciated that.

Welcome to Steemit.

Happy New Year.

Cheers.

Your welcome! I hope you make some too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63055.19
ETH 3036.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71