Feb 18 -- Steemit Ramble #73 -- Don't You Hate Missing Good Posts?

in #curation7 years ago

Wow, amazingly mild temperatures out there today for February. This has been another odd winter for the average Ontarian. Very little snow compared to more normal years and even temperatures have been far more moderate.

I have meat draw duty at the branch today and then will be covering the clubroom bar to allow today’s bar steward to setup and do the banquet room as the dart league has a tournament running this evening.

Onward to today’s rambling

Treasures from the Ocean - Aspiring Steemit Whales and Dolphins Showcase - Your Weekend Supplement

Over on Facebook there are several groups devoted to Steemit. The majority of them are groups where you can drop your link in and hope someone notices and comes to Steemit to read and upvote. But, there is one that is different. The group is, Aspiring Steemit Whales and Dolphins, where there is an effort to create discussion and encouragement for Steemit users. @ebryans is one of the leaders of the group. His latest effort is to highlight some of the posts of the previous week in a newsletter format.

Steem Trail Daily - Friday, February 17th, 2017

You need to have a good read of this edition of Steem Trail Daily. I know there are people who believe no one reads posts, that it is just bots running around doing auto-voting. The fact is there are a lot of people who spend a lot of time reading and curating posts. Steemtrail is a good example of a community building around reading and curating.

The SECOND Fiction-Trail Competition

@michelle.gent introduces her second round of fiction writing contest. She provides you with a picture and you come up with a story. Deadline for this one is Saturday Feb. 25th

An explanation of Steemit through Facebook

@playfulfoodie takes an interesting approach to explaining Steemit to someone, she uses Facebook as a comparison point. Most people are on Facebook and get the various aspects of it.

Steemit Hardfork 0.17.0 New Proposed Features to be added in 2017; The Year Steemit becomes a User-friendly Tool for Individuals/Businesses to Access & Interact with Steem's Blockchain

@steemitguide provides an excellent overview of the changes expected to be made in hardfork 17 which has been tentatively scheduled for early March. The changes are the result of the roadmap released to the community in January. There has been a lot of debate and discussion about certain aspects of the changes and some may have lost sight of the overall changes. This post provides that overview.

Steemit: Liquid Democracy for Social Media

@cheah writes about the concept of liquid democracy and in particular how the concepts relate to and are used by the blockchain and Steemit. @cheah has an interesting analysis of some of the pitfalls of trusting curation trails to use your upvotes and the difficulty of finding a system which keeps your upvotes in line with your wishes.

A Reminder to The Steemit Community as We Strive For Consensus

It is rare that I will look at a video on Steemit. Most of the time videos are posted without any commentary. Without commentary, other than the headline, I don’t know, nor am I curious about the content of the video and wont waste my time even looking at it.

@dan-atstarlite didn’t use much commentary but what he did, was just enough to get my curiousity up. When I clicked on the video and found it was just over 2 minutes long, I was then willing to hear him out and well worth doing so. Our opinions are just that, opinions. Too often we get so invested in them, we forget to actually hear others and instead of consensus we get chaos. Give @dan-atstarlite a listen.

How to Gracefully Critique

There is nothing tougher than trying to lovingly critique a friend’s actions or work, even when they ask for you to. If you’re able to respond without any negatives, the person loves you. If you need to throw light on a negative, you enter a mindfield. No one likes to hear a negative, even lovingly delivered. @lydon.sipe offers some suggestions on how to pick your way across the mindfield.

Forget about making money on Steemit. For now.

This is a post that just about every new member of Steemit, and everyone should be reading. Too many of us want the short term return on our investment of time, talent and/or treasure. Steemit is a long term investment @nigelmarkdias lays that out beautifully.

Didn't Know I'd Lost it: Reacquainting Myself with my Social Blogging Voice!

@denmarkguy writes about how he is enjoying returning to social blogging that sites like Facebook and Medium had managed to squeeze out. Blogging can and should be fun while sharing information and ideas with readers.

Mandate for Freedom: Universal Basic Income

@castimir writes an interesting post on the concept of universal basic income. It’s an idea which has been gaining attention and consideration in many countries around the world. As wealth becomes concentrated with fewer and fewer individuals around the world, the middle class becomes smaller and the lower income population becomes larger. The growing lower income population becomes a powder keg that a universal basic income could help to lower the heat on.

6 Reasons I Stay In Steemit Instead of Returning To Facebook

Finally today, @stellabelle, writes a post on why she tends to stay on Steemit rather than going back to Facebook. I think she lays out the reasons really well. I tend to agree with most of them. See what you think.

Wrap-up on Day #73

Well, I missed a few days this week. Damn old real life keeps getting in my way. Guess I will just have to adjust. Some great posts on Steemit today. I filter through a lot of posts to find the ones I select. I look at the content, how well written it is and to some extent the layout. The first two factors carry the most weight with me though.

Supporting and Upvoting

Let’s not forget folks. I’m sharing these posts not only because I like them. I’d really like to see them get support and upvoting. I know some of the posts have done okay by the time I post my ramble, but some really could use the support and upvoting.

Subscribing to My Posts

In addition to following me on Steemit, which I really appreciate. If you want to be sure to know about every post, you can subscribe at my other blog. I’ll send you an email when I post.

Until Tomorrow — Just Steem on



If you like this, please follow me and upvote the post.

If you’d like to see the other days I’ve posted, just visit my profile

If you’d like to be notified when I post next, join my mailing list here.


Sort:  

What a great post! Thanks for sharing such quality and it is so on so many levels too, wow! I'm very glad I stopped by the see the results of your dedication. It surely has been an immense pleasure so far...

All for one and one for all! Namaste :)

thank you @eric-boucher, it's really nice to get feedback and learn it is helpful for others.

Reading through as we speak... ;) Thanks again, namaste :)

Thanks shadowspub, it helps point me to some good posts. Thanks.

glad you're able to find some posts you enjoyed.

Appreciate your support, and what you're doing... it's definitely "working," as I ended up reading several things I wouldn't otherwise have seen!

thank you @denmarkguy, I'm really glad that some attention was brought to some good posts through what I'm doing.

Great post. This series definitely adds value to the community. keep it up!

Thank you .. I intend to keep on going.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64867.61
ETH 3451.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55