December 18th -- Steemit Ramble #134 -- Curating Great Posts for You

in #curation7 years ago

Just a week before Christmas and two weeks until 2018 gets underway. A new year brings with it a sense of opportunity and new beginnings. I’m thinking that 2018 is going to be more about opportunity than new beginnings.

My new beginning was the day I stumbled across Steemit and was introduced to the STEEM platform. As we near the end of the year and I’m watching the value of STEEM and for that matter SBDs rising along with so many of the crypto markets, I get a sense of optimism that this platform that I joined so cautiously some sixteen months ago has been and will continue to be worth my time and energy.

Onward to today’s rambling

Simple Networking Skills To Unlock Success

This is one of a series of well written posts on how to effectively network on STEEM. @jrswab demonstrates beautifully that soliciting people for votes, follows and resteems is not the way to grow on STEEM.

Frens! I'm Murphydog... an Off-Chain Pupper, New on the Chain

What is a community without our pets? A new Steemizen, @murphydog, introduces himself and talks about life with his hooman, an unnamed Steemizen. Welcome to the community @murphydog.

Economic crisis in Venezuela Our only Reality (Collecting Funds for the Venezolana Community)

Many of you are aware of the economic crisis taking place in Venezuela in the last year. Things are getting pretty desperate in that country as @bigdude lays out in this post about the crisis and the challenges it brings to Venezuelans just trying to get by from day to day.

English clearly isn’t @bigdude’s first language and there are some challenges in reading this post but, I felt the message is very important.

I gave shoes and clothes to people on the street in need in Venezuela Thanks to the support of Steemit and YouAreHope!

Having just read about the situation in Venezuela, it’s heartwarming to read this post in which @malos10 details the work he has been doing there as one of @youarehope’s Agents of Hope. Great work @malos10.

Saturday Afternoon Expedition

@enginewitty shares with us the sights, delights and lights of Christmas his daughters enjoyed on their outing with dad this past Saturday. That reminds me of the fun I had with one of my nieces when I took her out around the same age as @enginewitty’s girls.

[Measure Twice but Cut only Once] (https://steemit.com/speakyourmind/@battleaxe/measure-twice-but-cut-only-once-some-navigation-techniques-for-steemians)

@battleaxe has an interesting take on life and life on Steemit. This post warns about the folly of forgetting who helped you get up the ladder and the importance of maintaining an ethical presence no matter what reputation level. Treating others as though they are inferior to yourself is way too common. It comes from a very poor outlook, intentionally or not, on life. Karma’s real and she’s a bitch.

🎄You Are H.O.P.E. Holiday Fundraiser #3🎅

@thealliance posts for the third week in a series of December fundraisers for @youarehope. By upvoting the post, sending a tip, giving a donation directly or even gifting a bot vote to the post, you will help raise funds which will go directly to helping people in impoverished areas of the world. To see some of the great work @youarehope has already done, visit their profile.

Steemit's Got Issues! Community Discussion - Whales Cannot Decide Everything - Take 1

@michaeldavid undertakes an interesting series that everyone should weigh in on. His aim is to form a discussion, not a battle of wills, a discussion about the issues on the platform toward arriving at some sense of consensus on how to proceed forward as a community. The idea is that all on the platform may take part and the outcome doesn’t have to be determined by those with the greatest stake and ability to impose their will.

The Writers’ Block Sci-Fi Challenge--UPDATE 12/17

Are you a Sci-Fi writer and either didn’t know about the latest challenge from The Writers’ Block or wanted to participate but were just too busy due to the holidays? Well, @rhondak announces the deadline for the latest challenge has been extended until December 31st. Finish the year out on a high by taking part.

SteemRadio - schedule of all the steemit radio shows - week beginning 18 December 2017

@pennsif provides us with this week’s radio schedule for the platform. If you want to listen and take part in the audience, join the appropriate Discord. If you just want to listen, go to the stations webpage to find out what your listening options are. Some great content is being presented on the STEEM radio shows.

#14 Humans Of Steemit : @rodeo670 (A Deep Conscious Human With A Joy For Life)

@humansofsteemit releases another comprehensive interview with one of the people on Steemit. This time we meet @rodeo670 also known as SaipanDamashii on Discord. This is a long read but you’ll know a lot more about @rodeo670 by the time you finish it. Well done.

drawing 12312

This post was nominated by @lmir1965

@sawcraz.art guides us through his drawing of a couple and the various stages to develop the drawing. Nice work and the final result is fantastic.

15 Top Tips to Start Living Rather than Existing

This post was nominated by @worldfinances.

@beautifulbullies explores fifteen things you can do to break out of the rut and into living as fully as you could. If you’re happy with where you are in life, don’t bother reading it. I’m betting you’re not really as happy as you might like to think.

TW: Talking about my Trauma and Broken Boundaries.

This post was nominated by @kubbyelizabeth

@staceyjean takes the courageous step of sharing her journey toward healing from trauma. A journey that included the need to break up with her boyfriend who, by all accounts, was tone deaf to what she was going through and what he had put her through. It’s a tough journey but not impossible.

Really shows up what a trauma survivor goes through when it comes to being understood and supported when I see a comment on the post like this.. “outbursts of negativity and aggression can be caused by a variety of difrend reasons such as for example hormones, genetics, psychological trauma, etc.

Sure, couldn’t be the bad behaviour of others.

The Steemian Spotlight, Volume 1: Discovering Ruby with @inertia

Just as I was getting ready to finish this Ramble off, I received this link. @ethandsmith has started a series highlighting some of those on the platform making a difference. Today’s Steemian is @inertia.

Wrap-up on Day 134

Always an adventure exploring around Steemit for good posts. I hate when there is several days between me being able to get a Ramble out, it means I come across posts which I like but are out of voting range.

One of my 2018 is to publish the Ramble on a more regular basis.

Supporting and Upvoting

Let’s not forget folks. I’m sharing these posts not only because I like them. I’d really like to see them get support and upvoting.

Nominate Your Favourite Post

With all the chaff that I end up trying to sift through each time I sit down to do the Steemit Ramble, I think it is time to give you dear reader an opportunity to nominate your favourite reads.

Just visit the Steemit Ramble Discord and post the link in the Nominate-A-Post Channel.

steemit ramble

As much as you may love your own post, I am really looking for someone else to say, “Hey, I like this post, have a look”. When I post a Steemit Ramble, that is what I’m telling my readers.

Once you’ve shared someone else’s post, you’ll be given access to a channel where you can share your own posts for me to consider them. It’s only fair for you to have the chance.

Pimp Your Post Thursday

Don’t forget, Pimp Your Post Thursday takes place every Thursday at 11am and 7:00pm EST. Come and join the fun.

Pimp Your Post Thursday

Until Next Time — Just Steem on



If you like this, please follow me and upvote the post.

If you’d like to see the other days I’ve posted, just visit my profile


Sort:  

Woohoo, my nomination made it on!! Congratulations to all the post selected I’ll be checking them out later :)

Thaanks you for this sir , it is awesome what you do for the community <3

You're come @malos10 ... I'm not a sir though :) not that it's easy to tell by looking at a scroll and quill

Sorry haha:(

Thanks for the mention and to be first on the list :o
It's an honor <3

your post is also linked in the #posts-that-rock channel on the Ramble

:o
<3

well, heck, fren. I said a big thank you on my post, but gotta sniff out where else to do an appreciate. I hope I will find more good boys on here, and places where hoomans do nice things for doggos and cattos and all animal frens!

nice to see you here @murphydog .... Good idea to find the places where hoomans are nice to doggos and cattos as well as our other animal frens. Typed as I reach over catto who is resting on my lap.

Looks like a lot of good reads there, will make sure to check them out :)

I'm sure they will appreciate the visit and the support.

Nice mention, thank you :)

NOM NOM NOM

A quick 'memo' to say this post has been featured in the latest issue of 'Notes', do stop in and see what else #thealliance has been up to. Some really good content out there!

Thank you for including me @theallance... some really good work done in the "notes" and some in need of attention

Most definitely Shadow. And you are welcome :)

Hello, thank you very much for your support, greetings! @shadowspub

my pleasure... keep up the good posts :)

Thank you, @shadowspub!!! (I still like shadowpup, but I digress. . . .)

You and @murphydog need to meet @rhondak ... he's looking for hoomans who like doggos and cattos

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59385.33
ETH 2590.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48